Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Metal Slug

Author
Message
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 24th May 2006 00:44 Edited at: 24th May 2006 01:05
I've been working on a 2d shooter and I've decided to make a Metal Slug game but not a total remake. I didn't like the controls to the game so I changed them to be more like Contra. I used a lot of the sprites from the game until I make my own. The background scrolls at a different speed then the midground the player appears to walking on. The forground doesn't move at all right now, until I get some better sprites. The red lines around the sprites is the grid I placed them on until I get all the animations for that sprite.

Controls:

Leftkey()= Left
Rightkey()= Right
Upkey()= Look up and/or Climb Ladder
Downkey()= look down and/or Climb Down Ladder
Leftkey() or Rightkey() added with Upkey() or Downkey() will give angle look in its direction.
A key() = Jump
S key() = Shoot

code master
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2003
Location: Illinois
Posted: 24th May 2006 01:14
there's no download...

Weapon Creator EA for sale soon!
http://wc.out-lawz.com
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 24th May 2006 23:00 Edited at: 30th May 2006 23:43
I'm having a little problem with the animation code of the player sprite. Can anyone see whats wrong with it. The sprite does the wrong animation for jump and doesn't perform the shoot animation at all. I'll post everything after I get this problem fixed.



EDIT:I think I figured the problem out with using the 'set sprite frame'
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 30th May 2006 21:09 Edited at: 30th May 2006 23:42
OK... I know there is a few bugs in this version but I'll fix them as I go along. I just wanted to post it to see what you guys/girls think about it so far.


EDIT: As you can see I changed the foreground image.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2006 05:03
No Comments?
ionstream
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2004
Location: Overweb
Posted: 1st Jun 2006 06:49
Runtime Error 118: Array does not exist or array subscript out of bounds at line 345.


Line 345:

aimAng# = atanfull(mousex()-physBox(1).x,mousey()-physBox(1).y)

Sergey K
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2006 21:22
Runtime Error 1507: Display Using 32 Bit is not supported by hardware at line 10.

MyNewSite:http://gogetax.com
Forums(About BLO and more):http://gogetax.com/forum
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2006 22:50
OK.. I'll change the code a bit.
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jun 2006 00:28 Edited at: 3rd Jun 2006 06:04
I added an intro and a menu to the code. You use the down arrow key to scroll between selections. Only the first selection plays the game.

EDIT: Does this version work? I downloaded it on another computer and it worked fine for me.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Dot Merix
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: 5th Jun 2006 10:12
Runtime error.

Turoid
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 5th Jun 2006 12:22
The exe worked but there are a lot of bugs..

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 5th Jun 2006 22:32
Yup.. thats why this is the WIP board.
I'm messing around with the menu and then I'll be working on the offset for the bullets so they line up with the gun position. A couple of the player animations are messed up so I have to fix those also.

Working On:
Menu
Bullet Offset
Grenade Toss
Speed Friction Max
HUD HEALTH CONTROL
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 12th Jun 2006 00:03 Edited at: 12th Jun 2006 00:03


Here's a pic of the menu. The red cursor fades in and out next to you selection. I'm messing around with sprite tile collision to see if it works better. I still can't figuer out why photobucket sizes these pictures so small.
Homey the Clown
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 12th Jun 2006 02:45
display using 16-bit can't be displayed on my computer.

"I don't think so... Homey don't play that."
-Homey D. Clown
Intel Pentium 4 2.4Ghz processor,512MB Ram,GeForce4 MX 4000
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 12th Jun 2006 16:01
I'm going to have it so that the user can choose 16bit or 32bit at the beginning of the program.
Sergey K
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 12th Jun 2006 19:38
Quote: "Runtime Error 1507: Display Using 32 Bit is not supported by hardware at line 10."

yet again, same display error~

MyNewSite:http://gogetax.com
Forums(About BLO and more):http://gogetax.com/forum
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 13th Jun 2006 04:36
What video card does your computer have?
I'm putting together some code that checks your video card and chooses the best selection. I'm getting an error on the graphic card check but I'll get it done after my math final tomorrow.
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 14th Jun 2006 01:53
I'm working with the tile collision for the sprite.
The tile locations are loaded from a .txt file.
The collision is a lot better. The player doesn't fall through the objects.
Sergey K
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 14th Jun 2006 18:12
its not problem with video cards. its problem with the resolution your game using.. my maximum resolution that my monitor can support is 1024x768.
im using ATI Radeon 9550 256MB if you must know.

MyNewSite:http://gogetax.com
Forums(About BLO and more):http://gogetax.com/forum
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 16th Jun 2006 06:55
Do you know of a way of checking the monitors max resolution?
Sergey K
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 16th Jun 2006 12:32
i was thinking once that "Get Maximum Texture Width()" and "Get Maximum Texture Height()" commands should do it. but im not sure about it.

MyNewSite:http://gogetax.com
Forums(About BLO and more):http://gogetax.com/forum
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 16th Jun 2006 19:06
Quote: "i was thinking once that "Get Maximum Texture Width()" and "Get Maximum Texture Height()" commands should do it. but im not sure about it."


That's what I was thinking with the graphics card since its the only 3d accelerator on normal computers. I have dual graphics cards so I have to also figure out how to make the code recognize both of them.
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 18th Jun 2006 21:05 Edited at: 19th Jun 2006 05:46
How do you read a tile map from a file? I know how to read a single string. This is what I have so far.


EDIT: I found out how to on my own. It's not working exactly the way I want but it's a start. It doesn't read the whole file for some reason.
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 20th Jun 2006 02:30 Edited at: 20th Jun 2006 02:30
This is a tile map run within DBP. I still need help on how to get it to open a tile map from a txt file.
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 27th Jun 2006 05:31
Phaelax helped me out with loading a map from a .txt file. Now I'll be working on the bullet offset and the grenade toss.
UFO
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 27th Jun 2006 19:22
Use the edit button

Looks awesome! I'm following this thread...

Xo TwOfAcE oX
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 28th Jun 2006 03:40
i got runtime error
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 28th Jun 2006 22:09
I'll be putting up a updated code zip soon. It may not contain the menu because I'm still messing with that.
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 1st Jul 2006 22:46
OK this is what I have done.
Menu
HUD Health
Better Collision
Loaded Map from file "thanks Phaelax"
Player HUD Image

For the Health I have a Heart monitor. I haven't seen anyone use this yet so I thought it would be cool to use.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
NeX the Fairly Fast Ferret
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2005
Location: The Fifth Plane of Oblivion
Posted: 2nd Jul 2006 00:01
Didn't some FPS with hostage situations use that?

<OMG></OMG>
NeX, you cant be serious - CattleRustler.
Sven B
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posted: 2nd Jul 2006 13:40 Edited at: 2nd Jul 2006 13:40
I can jump in the air And with that I mean you can keep jumping...

It's the programmer's life:
Have a problem, solve the problem, and have a new problem to solve.
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jul 2006 16:14
Yea their is still a lot of bugs to take out but I'll get them all. With the heart monitor I ment in a 2d game. Rainbow 6 has it if thats the game your thinking of.
UFO
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jul 2006 17:03
Nice. Here are some suggestions:

*Fix the shooting position. Make the bullets appear at the gun, not the top left corner.

*Fix the jumping animation. Its a little messed up

*Make those platforms solid, so you can stand on them.

*Make it so you can only jump when you are touching the ground. If you keep pressing the jump button, you can keep jumping in the air.


So far, its really good

Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jul 2006 19:34
Yup that's basically what I'm doing right now. The bullet is a simple offset and the jump animation is runtime error. I'll be working on that tonight.
Sergey K
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jul 2006 00:13
hey dude, i got some bad news for ya about the game's name..

well, i was on one games store, and i found the game called "Metal Slug" not sure if it was pc or ps2 or whatever. i just seen the name..

so i guess you will have to change your game name

MyNewSite:http://gogetax.com
Forums(About BLO and more):http://gogetax.com/forum
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jul 2006 02:58
Sergey K it's a remake of the game with a twist of my own.
Sergey K
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jul 2006 03:32
is it?
cuz the game i seen were 1GB+
you think you can make something bigger than that?
cuz if its a remake, it should be better, isnt it?

MyNewSite:http://gogetax.com
Forums(About BLO and more):http://gogetax.com/forum
Psycho Joker
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jul 2006 05:06 Edited at: 4th Jul 2006 16:49
I'm planning on making it a lot better in some respects. Mabe some 2P action going on after I get the single player done. I have the message box almost done with a function that calls text from a txt file. I still have to work on the offset and grenade toss. Press G if you haven't noticed yet. Tomorrow I'm moving to college so it might be a awhile before I'm up and running with the online updates but I'll sure be updateing the game on my laptop. Hopefully I'll get all the basics done by the end of July.

EDIT : I found a wireless access point. The jump animation is fixed. I'm adding in the grenade toss animation of the player. I'm still messing around with the bullet offest.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-29 14:22:59
Your offset time is: 2024-09-29 14:22:59