Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / I Need Some Advice

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am not that new to programming but I am new to all forms of DarkBasic or FPS or all the other programs shown on thegamecreators.com

I started learning to program in a "Beginning Programming for Dummies" book. It has taught me a lot through Liberty Basic.

Now I am looking to start games and I have no clue on where to start. I am willing to spend some money to buy any software or books I need, but I just need to know what to buy and where to start.

If you need any more info on how much I know please feel free to message me or just post back.

- "Nothing is True. Everything is Permitted."
D Ogre
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st May 2006 00:31 Edited at: 31st May 2006 00:33
Well, your in the right place. If you have a reasonably decent grasp of the core language (BASIC), you will be able to apply your knowledge to DarkBASIC or DarkBASIC Professional. If you want more specific information of either, you can search the forums, ask questions here, and optain more books to help you.

I recommend that you start by ordering a copy of DarkBASIC Professional to begin writing games. It can handle the latest hardware. You will later need some paint programs to make 2D pixel art, 3D modelling programs to create 3D objects and characters, and some kind of music or sound effects editor(s).

The tools you use will depend on what your project requires. Start with tools that are simple and inexpensive first. There are some featured here on this site. You can also search the web too. You can also find royalty free media resources already made to use as well.
z3r0CoD3r
Years of Service
User Offline