Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Loading in DB

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi,
I'm brand new to DB classic and I come from the C-64, C-128 school of programming. Which means I haven't programmed anything in many, many years except for some simple programs in Visual Basic. I want to become familiar with the way DB works and also with current programming technics as although I think I can create many types of programs I'm sure that the methods I use are not nearly the most efficient as I tend to rely on the same commands and technics I'm familiar with over and over. I noticed DB is very similar in many ways to the Basic that came with the old C-128 and C-64 although back then we obviously we didn't have anything like 3D commands for instance.
For now I have 2 questions. 1st how do you load images and sounds to be used in your DB programs? I tried for example: Load image "C:\winnt\testimage", 1 to load a sprite named "testimage". However I get a 'file not found' error message even though I know that is the right location. Do images, sounds, etc need to be saved in a certain folder in order for DB to be able to load them?