Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Is it possible to convert a string to a label?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Jun 2006 16:13
Hi, I'm a novice programmer at dark basic and I was wondering if you could convert a string to a label for example:

I know this does not work, but it would really help if there is.
So, is there a way to overcome this problem or are you going to have to type:

Thankyou
The InTIMidator

"Press any key ... where's the any key"
AMD Athlon 64 3400, 1 Gb RAM, Radeon 9800 pro, 80GB HDD
MadrMan
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Jun 2006 19:16
The last one will do, but you could put all your subs in big if's. dont know how your code works, but you could try to instead of putting a 'sub:' , a 'if input$="sub"', you wouldnt have to make all the input code.

Dream And Death
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Jun 2006 20:36
I think what you are looking for is SELECT

In this example, you end up with more lines, but you can expand on it as much as you want.

or, using Arrays

There are a variety of ways you can do what you want. If you told us more about what you are doing, we can help more.

P.S. It is good programming practice to utterly avoid 'goto's and 'label's - function based programming is the better way.
E.g.
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Jun 2006 22:20
to answer the question, no, the label name in code cannot be a variable, you would need condition tests like the advice above

The InTIMidator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Jun 2006 13:51
Thanks alot guys,
That SELECT function is just what I need or else I would be having to write alot of labels.
Quote: "