Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Going inside of a 3D Model, need help!

Author
Message
Zeus
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Atop Mount Olympus
Posted: 10th Jul 2006 14:26
How can I make to where there are mutiple people in a enviroment to look good, for my game, how can people be able to go inside of my 3D model, help, so confused!

UFO
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 10th Jul 2006 16:50 Edited at: 10th Jul 2006 16:51
Quote: "so confused!"

Me too . What did you say? You want to know how to make people walk into the Bowling alley building? I'm not giving the code, because I can't, but here is basically how to do it:

*Get an animated person object (Attached is good for the moment (taken from the DarkBasic media folder))

*Load it into the program and start the animation

*Position them a little far from the building outside of the screen.

*Point them towards the door of the building (with the point object command)

*Move them in the direction that they are facing (with the move object command)

*When they collide with the building, destroy them.

That should work pretty good. If you don't know how to do theese things, then you are going too far beyond your current abilities. You should start smaller, like pong, space invaders, simple shoot-em-up.

Oh and btw, the code to display your sig is:


Zeus
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Atop Mount Olympus
Posted: 11th Jul 2006 00:40
I meant the player going into the building, and there be different graphics and stuff. Sorry for not being specific!

DVader
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 19th Jul 2006 21:22
You need to model another object that you can view as the inside view, or change the one you are using to have an inside view. It really depends on how you plan on doing it: First person? Isometric overhead? Multiple camera views? Which type of game will dictate the best method.
Cash Curtis II
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 20th Jul 2006 05:31
Quote: "I meant the player going into the building, and there be different graphics and stuff. Sorry for not being specific!"


Do you already have your building, and you're asking how to correctly implement collision? Or do you have no building at all, and you're asking the question wrong?

I suspect the latter. You need to model yourself a building, then decide how to position the camera. Your questions are too vague to be useful.


Come see the WIP!
Zeus
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Atop Mount Olympus
Posted: 20th Jul 2006 21:18
LOL. I agree with Cash Curtis II. I need overhead view of inside the building.

Pincho Paxton
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 20th Jul 2006 22:43 Edited at: 20th Jul 2006 22:44
Just take the roof off a model with an interior. Don't put the interior in until someone walks inside.

Opposing force
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2005
Location: England
Posted: 20th Jul 2006 22:47
Simple. Set a collision flag.

If Object collision(door,player)=1
position object player,X
endif

Now, X is the position of the interior scene. Say 10000,0,10000 so basically its very far away from the rest of the game. So using the command above your player object will be positioned at that location when it collides with the door model of the building.

visit http://www.freewebs.com/teammegabasic for FPSC models, media and games.
Pricey
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2003
Location:
Posted: 21st Jul 2006 20:23
you should start much smaller.
everyone says it, but PONG will teach you practically every basic skill for programming.

:: 3Ghz Pentium 4 / Hyper Threading, 1024mb RAM, 250GB HDD, 256mb Radeon 9600XT Graphics ::


The Wilderbeast
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 22nd Jul 2006 13:28 Edited at: 22nd Jul 2006 13:29
first, sometimes when you go inside an object it disapears. you can use this command to stop it doing that:


also, why don't you try reading the dbc help file before and instead of creating a new topic every time you have a question that could probably be sorted out by looking at the help file for 5 minutes.

on the first page of the forums alone you have 7 topics.

OMG It's the Wilderbeast
Canadian Bush Air | Bush flying at its best! |http://www.canadian-bush-air.tk
TopGunSF
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jul 2006
Location: No idea.
Posted: 24th Jul 2006 03:45
Maybe I am not understanding you, but it sounds like what you want to do is hollow out the 3D objective you are attempting to enter. Once hollowed you should be able to apply textures/object/etc. to the inside and make your object look very much like a building or whatever else you are shooting for. You could also just make the entry to the object a portal which sends you to another map representing the inside of the object.

Computers are like air conditioners, they stop working when you open windows.
Zeus
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Atop Mount Olympus
Posted: 30th Jul 2006 16:11
Yes! You are right!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-25 08:14:38
Your offset time is: 2025-05-25 08:14:38