Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Tileset Maker for animated sprites

Author
Message
driftman
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere Outside of Sanity
Posted: 15th Jul 2006 14:13
Here's another tool I made for 2D games, it creates a tileset for animating sprites. Basically it does all the leg work for you, no more loading images in a paint program, just load them up in this, set the number of rows, and columns, and click start.
(Warning: large tilesets will take a while to create, the one I posted here took about 30 mins, on a stock Dell 2400, although your's may run it faster.)

One problem I've noticed is that you have to, when loading the images, click on the last one first, then hold shift and click on the first one. I'm working on it, it's just the way BlueGUI handles the load dialog.

anyway, here's the screenies and tilest I made with it, along with the program.







I have a lil' white jacket that lets me hug myself forever.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
UFO
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 15th Jul 2006 14:34 Edited at: 15th Jul 2006 14:39
Pretty nice I like how simple it is

Suggestions:
*There has to be a way to make it go faster than this. Its way too slow.
*When asking for the width and height in tiles of the tileset, please make it tell how many images there are. It would make it loads easier.

Good job, and keep up the good work


Edit: oh and:

110%

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Chris Franklin
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 15th Jul 2006 18:31
Sweet just like exgen does ti fx

have a

Platformer Compo!
WHITEKNUCKLE IS BACK! Check the wip boards for more info
driftman
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere Outside of Sanity
Posted: 15th Jul 2006 22:43
Yeah, it is a bit slow, trying to find ways to increase the speed.
I'll put in a label for to display the number of images, and i'm also working on an auto-calculate button, which will give you the most squared image it can.

Thx for the input, it is much appreciated.

I have a lil' white jacket that lets me hug myself forever.
driftman
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere Outside of Sanity
Posted: 16th Jul 2006 04:49
Added in a label to display the number of images selected and added an Auto-Calculate Rows and Columns button, which will set rows and columns to the squarest image it can, while filling all spots. If the number cannot be divided, it will set rows and columns to 0.

Still working on optimizing the speed, it's gonna be tough. The reason it's so slow is the syncing when it changes images.

@UFO
Still don't know why it displayed 110%, gotta figure out how that happened. How many images were you using?

The updated version is attached.

I have a lil' white jacket that lets me hug myself forever.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
UFO
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 16th Jul 2006 17:17
I was using 64 images.

Sven B
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posted: 16th Jul 2006 22:13 Edited at: 16th Jul 2006 22:13
It's just a finishing touch thing, but the progress bar is a bit long to fit in the window.

Maybe use something like:
if the xpos = 5, then the xsize = getGadgetClientWidth(Window) - 10
(in BlueGUI ofcourse)

The example looks nice

It's the programmer's life:
Have a problem, solve the problem, and have a new problem to solve.
driftman
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere Outside of Sanity
Posted: 17th Jul 2006 02:52 Edited at: 17th Jul 2006 03:11
@UFO I'll check that out with the 64x64 images.

@Sven B Yeah, I meant to fix that last time, but forgot to. It's Fixed now, or should be.

Still working on the performance issue, I'm trying to work it with memblocks, but they are proving to be more difficult, because of the way that image memblocks are stored.

<edit>
@UFO as far as the 110% goes, try it again, I changed something around. Let me know if it works

I have a lil' white jacket that lets me hug myself forever.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
driftman
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere Outside of Sanity
Posted: 19th Jul 2006 10:59
Sorry guys, it might be a little bit before I can work on it, in the process of moving. I will continue to work on it as much as possible, but it might be a few months until I can get any real progress done on it.

I have a lil' white jacket that lets me hug myself forever.
driftman
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere Outside of Sanity
Posted: 23rd Jul 2006 00:25
Well, I had found time to work on this project a little more, put a couple of hours into it.
Had a nice update for you, then it happened...
I tried to build the exe, and it wouldn't build, so I save all, and closed it out. I reopened it, and opened the source only to find that it didn't save anything I had done.

I had cut the time it took to make a tileset by about 300%, and changed a few things on the interface. Hopefully I can remember what all I did, and have an update before I have to pack up my comp.

I have a lil' white jacket that lets me hug myself forever.
driftman
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere Outside of Sanity
Posted: 23rd Jul 2006 01:43 Edited at: 23rd Jul 2006 01:44
By the grace of God I was able to remember most of what I did.

So, here's the update:
I had to remove the progress bar, it was slowing it down drastically, and I added two radio buttons, Unrestrict and Restrict.
Unrestrict is the old slow method, but can create any size of tilesets you want, Restrict is the new, and faster way, to create tilesets, the only downfall is that you are restricted to a maximum size of 1024 x 1536.

With the Restrict I was able to make a tileset from 96, 128 x 128, images in about 1 min. 48 sec., whereas it would've take up to 10 times that for the old method.

Restrict may still be kinda buggy, but it is quite faster.

Since I had to remove the progress bar, I added a message box that will let you know when it's done.

Also, because it would create blank slots if there is an odd number of images, it will load the first image up, get the upper-left most pixel color, and use that to clear the screen, so use an image that will not jepordize that, make sure that the first pixel is not part of the image.

Let me know how it works.

<edit>
Forgot to say that when you use the Restrict function, just click the auto-calc button, it still needs to have rows and columns in order to work.

I have a lil' white jacket that lets me hug myself forever.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
driftman
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere Outside of Sanity
Posted: 26th Jul 2006 02:09
<bump>
Just wanting some feedback on it, any problems you might be having.

I have a lil' white jacket that lets me hug myself forever.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-17 08:36:21
Your offset time is: 2024-11-17 08:36:21