Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / TAC(Text Adventure Creator)-Scripting language

Author
Message
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 17:33 Edited at: 6th Aug 2006 23:34
VERSION 0.3 BETA RELEASED:
im bringing the source of the engine WITH the editor.you know why?well.people can then add they own engine features as they desire and add new parts they might need.as for now you will be redirected to part 2 or part 3.

the Download link of the latest Editor is:
http://www.freewebs.com/edromeproductions/TC/TAC.zip

in the newschannel you can download the needed files.




i see you all thinking:

"There we got that idiot of the MMlevel and Game Master Engine again,with a new project that will fail."

Well for those.Bad luck i am on my way for a big part!

=Done
=WIP
=Planned

Simple Editor
Online linked newschannel
Text(Line) Command
PlrInput command
Error Message boxes.
End Game command
Wait command
CLS command
Load Sound 1,2 and 3 commands
Play Sound 1,2 and 3 Commands
Stop Sound 1,2 and 3 Commands

2nd part of game
3rd part of game

Syntax highlighting
Non case sensitive codes
Line numbers next to the text
Fully Working engine for those who dont own DBP.

Code list:


Current Possibility in lines:
30 per part

Screeny's from Editor(VB.Net)
Newschannel:

Editor in the Test Project:


From the engine i will not show anything till i got all 3 parts working and all 3 commands fully functional.

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Airslide
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2004
Location: California
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 18:09 Edited at: 5th Aug 2006 18:11
Looks pretty nice, though I suggest changing the code syntax a little bit. For example, you have:


When you could have this:


If your using DarkBasic Pro (not sure if it works for DBC) for the engine, here is some code that will read the above suggestion:


So, if your lines of code were in an array named 'codeline$(999)' for example, you would use this:



If you want to use it all you have to do is give credit

Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 18:25 Edited at: 5th Aug 2006 18:44
Quote: "Looks pretty nice, though I suggest changing the code syntax a little bit. For example, you have:
+ Code Snippet
Text(Line)
Hello World


When you could have this:
+ Code Snippet
Text=Hello World


If your using DarkBasic Pro (not sure if it works for DBC) for the engine, here is some code that will read the above suggestion:
+ Code Snippet
linebase$="Text=Hello World" `Change the value to be the line of code.

line$=lower$(linebase$) `This makes sure that it is translated in lower case so it isn't
`case sensitive.

cmdtextsyntax$="text=" `Syntax should be lower case. Does not matter what it was typed as.
cmdtext=5 `The number of characters this command takes up (should include the '=').

if left$(line$,cmdtext)=cmdtextsyntax$
printvalue=right$(line$,len(line$)-cmdtext)
Print printvalue `Change this to call your command or whatever
endif


So, if your lines of code were in an array named 'codeline$(999)' for example, you would use this:
+ Code Snippet
for n=0 to 999 `Cycles through each line of code

linebase$=codeline$(n) `Change the value to be the line of code.

line$=lower$(linebase$) `This makes sure that it is translated in lower case so it isn't
`case sensitive.

cmdtextsyntax$="text=" `Syntax should be lower case. Does not matter what it was typed as.
cmdtext=5 `The number of characters this command takes up (should include the '=').

if left$(line$,cmdtext)=cmdtextsyntax$
printvalue=right$(line$,len(line$)-cmdtext)
Print printvalue `Change this to call your command or whatever
wait key `Just an example so it doesn't continue to the next line of code yet
endif

next n


If you want to use it all you have to do is give credit"


actualy,im bringing the source of the engine WITH the editor.you know why?well.people can then add they own engine features as they desire and add new parts they might need.as for now you will be redirected to part 2 or part 3.

Anyway.ill be editing this post soon with the Download link of the latest Editor.in the newschannel you can download the needed files.

[href]www.freewebs.com/edromeproductions/tc/TAC.zip[/href]

B-DA FIRE!
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 18:43
RELEASED:

look in top post.

B-DA FIRE!
Profit
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 19:57
...and what's the advantage of using this?

common people are walking in line.
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 20:25
as for now,not alot.

as soon as im getting the Engine into a good game myself ill make an example game and make that the Engine itself.as i gave the engine source code everyone can use this open source engine as base for theyr own engine.

But the reason i make this is to make developping a text adventure game easyer.

No new updates now.i had dinner and some other stuff.

B-DA FIRE!
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 21:45
V0.2 is on its way.

V0.2 has these bug fixes:
Editor:
-Help fixed

Runtime:
<None>

V0.2 new features:
-Wait Command
-CLS command
-Online Link tp help.

Wait command ussage:
***CODE***
Wait
***CODE***

then the program waits 3 seconds

CLS commands function:
***CODE***
CLS
***CODE***
Clears the screen.

B-DA FIRE!
Gil Galvanti
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Dec 2004
Location: Texas, United States
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 21:49
looks pretty good

Pirates of Port Royale
Live the life of a pirate.
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 21:52
Thanks,

im going to continue this project until someone actualy used it and until it Has a use for NON-DBP owners too.

BTW:

Did anyone even download it and tryed it?

B-DA FIRE!
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 5th Aug 2006 22:10
V0.2 RELEASED:
See top post


B-DA FIRE!
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 6th Aug 2006 12:58
2 new commands will be added soon in V0.3:

Load sound 1,2,3,4 or 5
Play Sound 1,2,3,4 or 5

They will be used in this way:


Then it tells to look in the Files folder for the music "Main.wav"
and play it.

I'd also like to have some ratings of people who tryed it and well,WHY dont i get reply's of people...107 looks only 2 others then me replying?

Does this suck heavily or something?

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 6th Aug 2006 23:34
Yes ive managed to implent the sound.

Finaly we got control over the games functionality.

Now the next target is to make the runtime COMPLETE.
it will be the hardest part though...

well top post as always.

and look in the newschannel for the updates.

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 8th Aug 2006 11:06 Edited at: 8th Aug 2006 11:06
I see your using multi line commands instead of parsing one line which i think is very complicated unless vs2005 makes it a bit easier

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 8th Aug 2006 11:08 Edited at: 8th Aug 2006 11:08
By the way email me i could help me with vastly limited knowledge of vb6 and vb express 2005

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 8th Aug 2006 17:44
it isnt harder to read multiple lines.its easyer

Check this:


Thats easyer then for 1 line commands.

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 12:02
i mean it's harde parsng 1 line commands i tried it once but i couldn't get spaces in between commands right

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 12:11
I'm looking at your code right now and trying to change it to single line commands

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 12:13
HHmm,yeah.

i tried it too with Airslides code.but it failed....

so i kept this system wich runs clean and fast.

but anyway,i still havent got anyone who tryed it i guess.i dont got anything on what to improve yet...

oh well,sound is implented.but i want some more things.i guess,uhh...errr....i dont know what to add in the runtime now

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 12:33 Edited at: 9th Aug 2006 12:33
try adding changing the color of the text, most text based rpgs use different coloured text to show items and monsters

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 14:01
...

this isnt for RPG games.

more like Adventure.and BTW,there is no way of changing the color for only 1 line of text.

(as far as i know)

i guess ill have to make Save/Load in it.

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 15:59
lol that would be helpful

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 16:12
Yes it would.

well anyway,im gone from the computer for today i think...

i need to get a live...

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 16:27
shame i don't have one

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 16:31
i havent got one either,and i returned on my computer...(MY LEG HURTS)

but my mum tells me to get one...

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 17:13
hahahhahahahahahahaha that's the funniest thing i've heard all day. Right i've almost got the multiline commands working but i've got to work on aother project so it might not get finished this week. Get it to support bitmapped fonts if you can do that.

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 17:21
Quote: "Get it to support bitmapped fonts if you can do that"


i dont use those myself,and i dont know how to implent.thats why i give away sourcecode with every release.

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 19:02 Edited at: 9th Aug 2006 19:02
The zip file is corrupt or damaged. WinRar and winZip couldn't read it so I can't do much but create a different editor for you and wait for you to fix it.

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 19:06 Edited at: 9th Aug 2006 19:07
I've just submitted a join request to your website because I think I can help with your projects BTW who are you listed as on your website? i.e dodic, silvermania

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 19:14
Silvermania,but its a fairly old website.

in a few days i might have a site with 1 GB of space and a new layout.

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Airslide
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2004
Location: California
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 22:40
Oh, I think I know why my code doesn't work - printvalue should be printvalue$

I was using a similar set of code for my text adventure maker project (engine & editor, but the code has changed now) but I rewrote that snippet because mine orignal was messy, so I guess I left that symbol out.

And don't worry about my project too much, as of now it is something private mostly for my mom and step dad, each of which prevoiusly coded text adventure games on a comadore and apple II. I may eventually release it (when it is 100% finish, it's still a little buggy) but I doubt it will have as many features as yours (except for the 1 line commands).

On another note can you include your program in one zip without an installer that requires downloading? It takes forever and I'd like to try it faster

Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 23:29
...

VB.net makes the installer...i cant stop it.

and i couldnt get your code to work,since i dont understand it,and i found that $ or no $ item.

anyway,if someone could edit it into 1 line commands...i dont understand anything of it.

Quote: "And don\'t worry about my project too much, as of now it is something private mostly for my mom and step dad, each of which prevoiusly coded text adventure games on a comadore and apple II. I may eventually release it (when it is 100% finish, it\'s still a little buggy) but I doubt it will have as many features as yours (except for the 1 line commands).
"


im just doing something that i can...

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Aug 2006 23:30
This just pops up in me.

should i be selling the source code?
or any part of this.it took me a while to get the final product.and it isnt finished yet...

But well see.

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 10th Aug 2006 11:07 Edited at: 10th Aug 2006 11:12
i still can't read the zip trying 7zip i'll see if that works

[edit]
doesn't work
plus the link just refresh's the thread
[/edit]

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 10th Aug 2006 12:37 Edited at: 10th Aug 2006 12:38
I found that out too,its weird.

oh,just copy and paste it in your browser.should work.

WHAT DO YOU WANT?
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 10th Aug 2006 13:56 Edited at: 10th Aug 2006 13:56
i've got an idea for your engine, when you compile a program it just writes and encrypted version of the source to a token file (.tk), and names it after the project name. it then copies a version of the runtime engine (DBPro Program) to the directory and all sounds and media. The runtime engine executes and gets the apptitle$ knocks off the .exe and replaces it with .tk opens up the token file decrypts it and there you go it runs.

Hope you got all that I will try to get a demo working

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 10th Aug 2006 14:23


umm...

to do that i think ill need VB6 to save files from a textbox...because i cant get VB.net to get a different exe in the same installer.

e-Drome Productions website,we renewed one with 1GB of webspace and Paypal!w00t!

e-Drome website
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 10th Aug 2006 15:38
i don't think you can get vb6 to generate an exe. I've heard of c# copying itself and bolting the instructions on the back, i'll get the demo finished to show you.

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 10th Aug 2006 15:39
i mean i can CALL an exe from VB6 and include it in an installer,with .net i cant since it makes his own installer.

e-Drome Productions website,we renewed one with 1GB of webspace and Paypal!w00t!

e-Drome website
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 10th Aug 2006 16:55
here's an idea of what I though you could do, you need winRAR to open it

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 10th Aug 2006 17:07
Your idea is more with files...

My original is better i guess.because checking if a file exists for a piece of Text is just,weird.

if the .tk file exist with a special name then print hello,thats what it does actualy...

Ah nice try though.but it sounds weird.

e-Drome Productions website,we renewed one with 1GB of webspace and Paypal!w00t!

e-Drome website
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 10th Aug 2006 17:10
right i need a better demo, wait untill tomorrow and i'll display the final product

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 10th Aug 2006 17:15
you could also just edit my original Source...

e-Drome Productions website,we renewed one with 1GB of webspace and Paypal!w00t!

e-Drome website
Airslide
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2004
Location: California
Posted: 11th Aug 2006 01:31
Can't you compile your program and place it in zip file? My internet is being a pain and the installer's download has to keep restarting

Also, is it okay if I annouce my Text Adventure Development Kit program? I mean, not now, as it's not ready, but I'm asking because I don't want you to feel as if your being copied.

Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 11th Aug 2006 10:34
Is the source code the deploy file? I can only open it with notepad thanks to my messed up PC

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 11th Aug 2006 10:50 Edited at: 11th Aug 2006 10:56
The .deploy program is the .exe with an added extension, I removed the .deploy part and it had an icon and stuff. PLUS, when openning it in notepad you can clearly see the MZ header.

I'm attempting to install it right now, that does kind of suck that it has to download something, i mean, i just downloaded this to have to download another thing?!?! That sucks.

Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 11th Aug 2006 12:55
right nearly finished my version of the editor, it looks like you've got the same idea as me with the runtime engine when exporting a game file. I'll upload the version I made with a better gui and opening and saving.

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 11th Aug 2006 14:07
Quote: "Also, is it okay if I annouce my Text Adventure Development Kit program? I mean, not now, as it's not ready, but I'm asking because I don't want you to feel as if your being copied.
"


its OK.

and i cant DONT use the installer.i hate VB.net for that part...it onloy compiles with installer.

Quote: "Is the source code the deploy file? I can only open it with notepad thanks to my messed up PC"


if the program is installed get the latest source from the newschannel.

Quote: "I'm attempting to install it right now, that does kind of suck that it has to download something, i mean, i just downloaded this to have to download another thing?!?! That sucks."

i know,BUT my knowledge of VB6 isnt enough to code the editor in it.

Quote: "right nearly finished my version of the editor, it looks like you've got the same idea as me with the runtime engine when exporting a game file. I'll upload the version I made with a better gui and opening and saving."


OK.

e-Drome Productions website,we renewed one with 1GB of webspace and Paypal!w00t!

e-Drome website
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 11th Aug 2006 14:28
I'm looking at syntax highlighting right now, i've read about 5 tutorials and i'm currently coding it. I'll post a demo and sthe source asap

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 11th Aug 2006 15:21
PwnAge,i think your my hero

i guess you will be the creator of the editor

e-Drome Productions website,we renewed one with 1GB of webspace and Paypal!w00t!

e-Drome website
Bob da reaper
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location:
Posted: 11th Aug 2006 17:24
Release has got to be delayed for a few days, the syntax highlighting module freezes the computer at what seems random intervals so i've lost of bit of code but not lots.

I pwn n00bs - current project "Darkness Falls"

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-29 16:22:19
Your offset time is: 2024-09-29 16:22:19