Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Hi, I'm new and would like some help

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Aug 2006 04:00
Hi.

I've been programming for a few years now but have found it complicated to complete 3d games in DarkBasic, so I'm starting in 2d. I've been reading the forums and learned the 2d commands, but have some questions before I code my tile-engine any more:

How much error checking is needed while reading from a file? Right now I have functions that check if a file is in the right syntax, but the calls make the code less readable, and if I make a map editor, it shouldn't be writing to the file wrong in the first place.

Should I define the image and sprite id numbers using constants or let a function generate them? I have allocated some id numbers to the engine because it makes it much easier to refence them, but that means the rest of my program will have to avoid using those numbers. I don't know if I should use a get_free_sprite() or get_free_image() function to get an unused id number, because that would make refencing those images more complicated and slow, but would simplify and speed up coding the rest of the game.

Any help would be appreciated.
Gil Galvanti
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Aug 2006 05:56
Welcome to the forums!

Although I don't work with 2D, I'll try to help you, because your one of the best noobs I've seen in a while .

Quote: "How much error checking is needed while reading from a file?"