Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Newb question!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Ok, I am new to DarkBasic and ive got PRO trial ( well havent installed it yet until im ready cause i dont want to waste my 30 days ), k.

Well ive had alot of experience from Macromedia Flash and i'm not sure if in dark basic if you can go:

bullet.x=5 .....and etc.

basicly ill be wanting to move lots of bullets so i got:

for Count=1 to BulletCount step 1
Count.x=Count.x+2
Count.y=Count.y+2
sprite Count, Count.x , Count.y , 1
next Count

OK, now ive really confused myself... basicly i'll be having lots of objects and rather than 100 bullets each using a different variable eg. Bullet1x, bullet2x, bullet3x etc. and making it all messy. They all have their nice and tidy '.x' and '.y' inside them.

And lastly is there a way to give sprites 'Instances' like 'Bullet1' rather than confusing numbers.

phew! I'm really confused.. Flash is so easy cause everything is visible, with this you have to sort everything out in your mind!

thanx in advance!
drum
Kentaree
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Apr 2003 16:09
Uhm, if I understand this right, then yeah.
Use arrays:

This will make a 2d array that can contain 999x2 Values, 999 being each of the bullets, and 2 being the x and y coordinates.

Whatever I did I didn't do it!
Drum
Years of Service
User Offline
Hmmm thanx for the reply!

1) And when i write :
Sprite 1,x,y,1
Does this put the picture on the screen at x and y, saying ive loaded a bmp and called it 1? or do i have to paste!!!??

Thanx for your patience with me
Drum

p.s Can i write Sprite bullet1,x,y,1 ???? would this work?

Drum
Years of Service
User Offline
??

Megaman Zero
Years of Service
User Offline