Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Your World

Author
AGK Tool Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Sep 2006 20:31
Would it be possible to make a game like GTA and Driver, if you had all the models you need? And if you can is there any limitations? And can you make it that you can go into buildings?

As you can see by this i am a real beginner but I would just like to know can it be done?

www.keep-me-laughing.com ROCKS!!!!!!
Terrorist Zero
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Sep 2006 23:10
Hi Wizzkid,

Darkbasic might not be as customizable and flexable as some of the mid-level languages like C++, but you can still make high quality games with it.

To be honest, Darkbasic is that good, that if you put hours and days and weeks and months of time into a game, you could end up with something as good as GTA, and I mean just like GTA or even better.

However, you've still got to learn the basics of programming, learn the basics of Darkbasic, and learn a lot more. Then you can start making really good games. If you learnt as much as you possibly could, meaning a few hours or more every day, you could be starting to program 3D worlds in less than a month.

It just requires will power, patience, determination and enthusiasm. Grand Theft Auto and Driver weren't made overnight, it took a year or two to make them.

Your only limitation is your own imagination!

Have fun with Darkbasic, I know I am, and I've only started to seriously program for under a month now! I hope it goes well!

www.tornupgaming.com
The home of free games and game projects.
Trowbee
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Sep 2006 23:12
Short answer: Yes