Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / microsoft visual studio (visual basic)

Author
Message
PAGAN_old
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2006
Location: Capital of the Evil Empire
Posted: 7th Sep 2006 03:13
i heard some people say that this language is capable of 3d others say that it can barely do any 2d graphics.

if it really can do 3d, then how?
or am i just a retard?

dont hate people who rip you off,cheat and get away with it, learn from them
Jeku
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Posted: 7th Sep 2006 03:16
Use Google. There's thousands of references to VB games using DirectX


"I understand creative people. After all, I worked with towel designers." - Ray Kassar, former head of Atari
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 7th Sep 2006 03:29 Edited at: 7th Sep 2006 03:31
vb.net and c# can use dx9 sdk directly.
DGDK.NET (DBP dg sdk) for .net coming soon, as mentioned here in the latest newsletter

Hippie Dude
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Feb 2005
Location: California, United States
Posted: 7th Sep 2006 04:46
You'd need to download the right library
PAGAN_old
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2006
Location: Capital of the Evil Empire
Posted: 7th Sep 2006 05:22
is DX studio what i am looking for?

http://www.dxstudio.com/gallery_3.aspx

this can do VB i belive

dont hate people who rip you off,cheat and get away with it, learn from them
Manic
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: Completely off my face...
Posted: 7th Sep 2006 13:15
revolution3d is a 3d libary for VB (altho, not amazingly good)

I don't have a sig, live with it.
PAGAN_old
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2006
Location: Capital of the Evil Empire
Posted: 8th Sep 2006 04:08
so this library is supposed to give new commands and new functions and 3d capabilities.

am i right? will it drastically change the way you use it?

what should i expect?

i just recently started visual basic in my programming class, so i still dont completely understand vb although its very interesting.

so what should i expect from the 3d library thing?

dont hate people who rip you off,cheat and get away with it, learn from them
PAGAN_old
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2006
Location: Capital of the Evil Empire
Posted: 3rd Oct 2006 18:12
http://www.3dstate.com/

i found this

sorry about my spelling but i never bother to check it.

dont hate people who rip you off,cheat and get away with it, learn from them
PAGAN_old
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2006
Location: Capital of the Evil Empire
Posted: 19th Oct 2006 04:18
Lately i have been looking for the best 3d engine for VB.net

and so far i have been looking forward to "true vision 3d"

http://www.truevision3d.com/home.php

i dont want anything thats too hard or flashy, i just want to make my VB learning more fun. This looks like the best thing so far

dont hate people who rip you off,cheat and get away with it, learn from them
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 19th Oct 2006 15:46 Edited at: 19th Oct 2006 15:47
true vision is COM Interop, unless they have added a .NET library, not sure, it can be used with vb.net but there are better engines out there imho, without the com layer.

Look into Artificial Engine, its a .NET 3d engine for vb.NET, it has forums and decent support.

Apexnow's DGDK.NET is completed, just waiting on TGC to release it. It allows you to code games in VB.NET using DBP's engine, like the dgdk does for c++. What could be better than that?

PAGAN_old
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2006
Location: Capital of the Evil Empire
Posted: 19th Oct 2006 18:26
thats cool, DBpro is kindof weak i think, does vb.net part of it make it better?

dont hate people who rip you off,cheat and get away with it, learn from them
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 20th Oct 2006 14:55
well, if you mean dbp is weak due to its silly programming language I'd say yeah, of course, now you can code in vb.net and c# using the dgdk.net

Jeku
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Posted: 20th Oct 2006 19:30
But it's not that hard just using native Direct3D with C# or vb.net

David R
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2003
Location: 3.14
Posted: 20th Oct 2006 20:07
Not sure how VB fairs with straight D3D stuff, but generally be prepared for alot of 3d maths, and having to feed lots of bizarre data types into DX.

Well, I finally decided to create a website that really reflects what kind of programmer I really are: OneManBand software: http://www.ombsoft.com
Seppuku Arts
Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 20th Oct 2006 20:16
Personally I like the Truevision SDK 3D engine for VB (VB, C++, C#, Delphi) Its similar to Dark Basic in ways, but uses VB and use more Direct X like commands, in some instances, like lighting you access the Direct X commands. The bonus is, most of the examples in the TV3D help file are the visual basic commands.

http://www.truevision3d.com

Install it onto VB and give it a go, this is what I've got from C#, I found it pretty easy to use.

The texture is weird, thats because I forgot to flip it after export (because Hexagon uses upside down textures)


Jeku
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Posted: 20th Oct 2006 22:25
Well, believe you me, when I was working on GameBasic I originally used the TV3D engine, but when I went over to using native D3D, it didn't seem harder at all. Who knows.

PAGAN_old
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2006
Location: Capital of the Evil Empire
Posted: 21st Oct 2006 05:21
the reason for this is i want to make my year final progect in VB a game, an my friends make fun of me for using DB (although all they know how to write is algarithms). VB woud be a step further with a fater engine.

i am trying to get artaficial engine to work, right now, but i still undesicive between TV3d and arataficial engine.

dont hate people who rip you off,cheat and get away with it, learn from them
Seppuku Arts
Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 21st Oct 2006 12:35
Do 5 days learning one and 5 days the other and see what you feel to be the better engine, I mean I was indecisive on VB and C#, after seeing a C# book on offer in Cambridge my mind was made up

PAGAN_old
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2006
Location: Capital of the Evil Empire
Posted: 14th Nov 2006 04:18
i finally got artaficial engine to work on .net

Its Harder than i thought. i need 5 commands in different places in the code just so a model can be displayed properly.

dont hate people who rip you off,cheat and get away with it, learn from them
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 14th Nov 2006 13:04
yeah.

I have been using the dgdk.net and its ultra superb imho. It melds the power and ease of db (dx encap) , with the power of your favorite .NET language. Who ever thought you'd see db commands mixed in with .net 2.0 code? its hot!

Fallout
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Sep 2002
Location: Basingstoke, England
Posted: 14th Nov 2006 18:32
Is it more buggy than starship troopers, or is it a case of so far, no bugglins?


CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 14th Nov 2006 22:14
no issues thus far

PAGAN_old
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2006
Location: Capital of the Evil Empire
Posted: 15th Nov 2006 23:34 Edited at: 15th Nov 2006 23:55
The next one i tried is True vision 3d. Thats even longer (but less confusing) you need to declare like 10 things just to show one model.

you need to declare, the engine, parts of the engine, the picture bix, the rendering box, convert the picture box into the rendering box, declare the loop,

even inside the main loop you need to declare the 3d scene the mesh maker, the mesh then the model. Even though its less confusing than artaficial engine, its still a pain in the ass to do all that work just for one model.






how hard is it to display a modelin dgdk? in a rendering window? because, i am thinking of trying this next.

dont hate people who rip you off,cheat and get away with it, learn from them
Jeku
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Posted: 16th Nov 2006 01:20
@PAGAN - That doesn't make sense. It takes work to display one model, sure, but after that you can display more models, etc. easier. In most real languages it takes basework to do the simplest things. But it's not like you have to keep doing the same setup (i.e. picture box, etc.) for every model

PAGAN_old
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2006
Location: Capital of the Evil Empire
Posted: 16th Nov 2006 02:01
Yeah i guess you re right, i only have to do half of all the work to display any more models.

But its not too bad, at least its orgonized very well, and if i dont find anything better, (dgdk?) ill stick with this.

and again, sisnce i am just trying it out and proboly dont really know too much about it.

dont hate people who rip you off,cheat and get away with it, learn from them
David R
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2003
Location: 3.14
Posted: 18th Nov 2006 19:18
The main thing to do, is to create a set of your own functions to wrap this kind of stuff around. Make them reusable, and then you don't need to bother messing with them too much each time you use them.

For instance, I've just coded a resource cache for my current project, which can keep track of (and flush) textures and meshes. The basic code to do this is pretty lengthy (keeping track of it all) but after wrapping it into a bit of OOP magic, I now just do:


and that loads all the files from a list in the "example.cache" file. When the object (rc) is delete'd, or another cache list is loaded, all the other crap is erased, and the cache starts from the ground up again.

Anyway, once a basic framework is up and running, things start to become much easier to work with (and pretty much all of it is reusable if you code it correctly)

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-17 21:46:50
Your offset time is: 2024-11-17 21:46:50