Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / DBPRO and PHP connectivity

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
hello, I was interested in a solution between the offline of DBPro and online of PHP/MYSQL. I was looking at the multiplayer connectivity of DBPro and it seems limited to:

peer to peer
main server to peer

However if I wanted to do something browser based that has a connection with the game, is this possible?

Are there functions that could bypass PHP and directly run sql queries and get/post data in the database?

I am a noob with DBPro and I currently program in PHP/MYSQL and DBPro is very enticing.

From what i understand, one way I can do this is if I...

have a server client setup with the server program creating a flat file data base, then on the browser side have php read the flat file database..

It seems like a bit much, as well as if I tried to do any time sensitive things, it would take an immense use of system resources.

ya know... client logs on server, server creates file, php reads file, stores in database with cron....

Anybody want to help me out here?
Kentaree
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Sep 2006 16:21
Uhm, I have no idea what exactly you're attempting to do. You want DBP to connect to a website using http, or what? Explain a bit more clearly

Ligh
Years of Service
User Offline
this is a cool idea., one i've been thinking about as well. it would be possible to write a phpscript to mimic the directx routines used in db but i dont know if you can put in a full url in the SET NET CONNECTION command.

the only problem would be the the connectionless connection, http can be kinda slow when your making a lot of requests
Cam
Years of Service
User Offline
Kentaree -