Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Newbie's who are new to this program not to programming

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi to everyone out there i am new to this program but not new to programming or writing programes, i am also however new at programming games i wanted to know if it was any different than writting regular programs????
Obear
Years of Service
User Offline
i would say the diffrence is imagination. With most programing you have a problem and have to write a program for the solution, like payroll prograsm etc.

Game designe measn you think up of a story or plot and create around it.

Welcome to DB

BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Apr 2003 01:57
Hi,

I program in various languages for an ERP system, including RPG, VB, Java, and a couple of bespoke languages. I'm using DB Classic.

DB is a lot more "Basic". By that, I mean that one command does a lot for you, which makes it easier. On the other hand, variable scope and the way they are handled is harder to manipulate.

If you've got a good programming head, you'll find the language a doddle. What you may struggle with, however, are certain concepts such as SYNCing and 3D space and positioning.

Thanks in advance.
All the Best,
StevieVee
CorruptionsMyth
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Apr 2003 07:00
i am completely new to programing and i am progressing with darkbasic quickly......since i only have the demo version right now since mine hasnt gotten to me yet i have printed out 60+ pages of tutorials and how commands work and it is helping

Prime_8
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Apr 2003 07:38 Edited at: 17th Apr 2003 07:40
I 'm just getting back into DB via DBP .