Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Before I buy, what does it take?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all,

First a warning: I'm a complete newb, but very interesting in these tools. Apologize for any repeating and/or silly questions.

I have enjoyed making gaming/server worlds with NWN (Neverwinter Night) for a good deal of years, but have longed for something that would allow me a bit more freedom, in choice of rules and content. This site, of course got my attention.

I hope some of you have tried NWN and can answer me the following:

1) What programs/tools do I need from this site, to be able to get close to something as usable as NWN? Is it at all possible?

2) The best thing about NWN was the models and graphic, since my talent lacks completely on those areas. What will it take for me (again, what kind of programs) to be able to create decent areas (both outside and inside) with DB and Gamemaker and have a nice selection of antagonist and NPCs for the players?

3) Is it possible to have a character creation program in the start of a game, where the players can choose the look and apperance? If, how advance can it be, E.G. Face, size, colors, clothes etc. (remember my low skill level )? And if again, what programs/tools would I need?

4) What will it take to run a dedicated server for a game made with these tools (just want to be able to host 25-50 players)? And as always what tools are needed?

5) Can the players fly and again if, what tools are needed?

I know a lot of questions. I would really appreciate anyone taking their time to answer this newb (very interested newb).

Respectfully

Meliora
Gil Galvanti
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Oct 2006 01:32