Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Artist wanting to code. (DBC)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Oct 2006 21:02 Edited at: 20th Oct 2006 21:04
Okay, I know I'm more of an artist by trade, or a writer, but I've got one simple wish. I want to be able to actually use what I create in a game. This game would be a SP RPG. The story is worked out, I've reserved about 4 months to complete the project. I've already started working on 3D-models and have several ready, altho' the game will be using a more top-down/iso perspective, and I hope to be able to program it in such a way that it resembles Zelda a bit in gaming style (no battle screen).

Before I get flamed: I want to start simple. Really, I do not aspire creating Oblivion 2 or something. I want to start as simple as possible without having no challenge (I KNOW I can do a Pong, but do I want to do a Pong? No, because I know I can do it). I can arrange the music, I've written a storyboard. I've got concept art for staffs and character. I've got experience in several aspects of BASIC and programming. I know how to code organized. I want to make everything from scratch though. I don't want to use a premade engine. But I don't know how. This is practice and learning, for me.