Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / New to DarkBasic Pro

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello all,
I am new to DarkBasic but i'm not totally new to programming.

I am very experienced in NWScripting which is C++ based object oriented for a game called Neverwinter Nights (some of you may have seen the new Neverwinter Nights 2 on pre order about now).

Anyways, the languages are very different so its kinda like learning all over again except this time it should be a whole lot easier, any tips and helpful info would be great, I am looking forward to creating my first project, any suggestions to get me started?

Regards
§çà®Fãçë™
Scarface
Years of Service
User Offline
I have been reading some threads and see that theres a program called "Dark Game SDK" which is C++ based (or so it seems), it seems that would be a better choice for me instead of Dark Basic Pro considering I understand most of C++ already, what do you guys think?

Regards
§çà®Fãçë™
Crazy Ninja
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Oct 2006 07:58
I think to have Dark Game SDK work with Dark Basic pro and C++ you have to have C++ installed on your computer, but you might want to check with someone who knows on that.

Neverwinter Nights is a great game though. I might get the second one or i might not. I'm curios though, how exactly did you use NWscripting? Oh ya, your avatar rocks too.

____ ____ ____ ___ _ _ __ _ _ __ _ _ ____
|___ |--< |--| /__ Y | \| | | \| ___| |--|
Scarface
Years of Service
User Offline
@Crazy Ninja, Thanks for the reply.