Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Code Snippets / What is your speed ? ? ? - A cute thread

Author
Message
Sedate Solution
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Apr 2003
Location:
Posted: 21st Apr 2003 02:36
I am a little bored so i have written this short piece of code so that I can compare my machine speed to others.

My machine is an Emacine - Celeron 1.3Ghz.

My Cps = 74 Approx.

What does yours report and what machine do you have.


dim count(10) as float

randomize rnd(100): rem not that i have anything against fate.

sync on

tot = 0
t = timer() + 1000
cpscount = 0
cps = 0
repeat
cls
a = rnd(9)

tot# = tot# + 1
count(a) = count(a) + 1
print str$(a)

temp = (count(0) / tot#) * 100
print "0 - " + str$(count(0)) + " - " + str$(temp) + "%"
temp = (count(1) / tot#) * 100
print "1 - " + str$(count(1)) + " - " + str$(temp) + "%"
temp = (count(2) / tot#) * 100
print "2 - " + str$(count(2)) + " - " + str$(temp) + "%"
temp = (count(3) / tot#) * 100
print "3 - " + str$(count(3)) + " - " + str$(temp) + "%"
temp = (count(4) / tot#) * 100
print "4 - " + str$(count(4)) + " - " + str$(temp) + "%"
temp = (count(5) / tot#) * 100
print "5 - " + str$(count(5)) + " - " + str$(temp) + "%"
temp = (count(6) / tot#) * 100
print "6 - " + str$(count(6)) + " - " + str$(temp) + "%"
temp = (count(7) / tot#) * 100
print "7 - " + str$(count(7)) + " - " + str$(temp) + "%"
temp = (count(8) / tot#) * 100
print "8 - " + str$(count(8)) + " - " + str$(temp) + "%"
temp = (count(9) / tot#) * 100
print "9 - " + str$(count(9)) + " - " + str$(temp) + "%"

print "cps = " + str$(cps)


if t
Sedate Solution
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Apr 2003
Location:
Posted: 21st Apr 2003 02:37
damn tag thing don't appear to work for me, click the source button on this message.
GOD
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Apr 2003
Location: right there
Posted: 24th Apr 2003 05:22
mines 69

Armeggadon
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 25th Apr 2003 01:00
mine was 523 im too lazy to look up my comp stats

Current Status: small FPS project for a friend(if it looks good in the end may become a demo)
I consider myself: newb
spooky
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Apr 2003 02:05
P4 2.53G 512MB Radeon M9 Mobility

full screen exclusive mode = 1053
windowed full screen = 388

Gronda, Gronda
The One Ring
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 25th Apr 2003 06:39
Amd Athlon 900
768MB RAM
ATI Rage Pro 16MB
WinXP

Full Screen Exclusive (640x480x16) = 200
Windowed (640x480) = 83

Good, bad... I'm the guy with the gun. - Ash in Army Of Darkness(1993).
http://www.geocities.com/the_one_ring
Phoenix
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2003
Location:
Posted: 4th May 2003 05:01
Mines 61

Sit in reverie and watch the changing color of the waves that break upon the idle seashore of the mind.
AlphaOmega
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Apr 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 4th May 2003 22:22
i've got 22. hahah LOL
pentium 200 MHz MMX [b])

John H
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 5th May 2003 04:52
460 but thats with internet and MSN running

RPGamer

Current Project: Eternal Destiny
Tech Demo - Colan Island: Currently 716 Lines
John H
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 5th May 2003 04:53
O my specs.....

1.0 ghz
512 Ram
Win 98
Geforce2

RPGamer

Current Project: Eternal Destiny
Tech Demo - Colan Island: Currently 716 Lines
Easily Confused
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: U.K. Earth. (turn right at Venus)
Posted: 7th May 2003 06:47
540 in fullscreen exclusive (640x480x16).
300 in windowed mode (640x480x32).
178 in windowed fullscreen (pathetic!).

PC specs are in my profile.

Programming anything is an art, and you can't rush art.
Unless your name is Bob Ross, then you can do it in thirty minutes.
Andy Igoe
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th May 2003 07:19
~1500 in fullscreen mode
~530 in windowed fullscreen

AMD-2Ghz, 512Mb, GeForce2

Pneumatic Dryll
D Man
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posted: 7th May 2003 09:48
~1000 in Full Screen Exclusive (640x480x16)
~500 in windowed fullscreen

Duron 1GHz, 256MB SDRAM, GeForce 4 Ti 4400

God is real, unless declared integer.
Conrad Brown
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Apr 2003
Location:
Posted: 8th May 2003 05:17
830 here, oh and LOL @:
randomize rnd(100): rem not that i have anything against fate.



I don't think that will give you a good random seed somehow.
Try:
randomize timer()
instead.

David T
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 16th May 2003 20:48
2477 exclusive.
755 windowed with outlook + 2 IEs running.

Specs:

athlon 2800+
geforce 4ti4800
1 gig ram
xp pro

You are the th person to view this signature.
Programmers don't die, they just Gosub without return....
Dr BOK
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th May 2003 22:15
2055 full screen exclusive
715 Windowed

My specs are
Athlon XP 2200+
512mb DDR pc2700 RAM
Geforce 4 ti4200

Flawless Designs
MrTAToad
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th May 2003 23:01
839 Windowed
719 Exclusive

768Mb RAM
Intel 2Ghz CPU
Geforce4 TI4800

Good news everyone! I really am THAT good...
http://www.nickk.nildram.co.uk/ for great plug-ins - oh my, yes!
Dixan Anips old
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 19th May 2003 00:38
exclusive = 298
windowed = couldn't be bothered

P4 2ghz
512mb DDR
Geforce 2 ti
Rob K
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 19th May 2003 01:44
550 exclusive
280 windowed

P4 1.6Ghz
512 DDR RAM
GeForce 3 Ti200

Do you want Windows menus in your DBP apps? - Get my plugin: http://snow.prohosting.com/~clone99/downloads/tpc_menus_102.zip
Evil Noodle
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Apr 2003
Location:
Posted: 19th May 2003 12:35
Full Screen Exclusive - 2155
windowed 640*480 - 2204
Windowed fullscreen - 1301

Athlon 2.6xp
Radeon 9700 pro
512m pc2700 DDR

T.A.F.K.A.C.M.O.T.D
The Artist Formally Known As Cut_Me_Own_Throat_Dibbler
haXor
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 20th May 2003 03:49
71 :-s

Sup Kids
Rye
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2003
Location: United Kingdom, Blackrod
Posted: 31st May 2003 00:59
106 on a P2 266 with a voodoo banshee

sicjoshsic
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 31st May 2003 02:13
12

64mb Sis graphics... i think you've heard enough lol

i'll post again when ive got my new comp

Ocean Runner
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th May 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 31st May 2003 22:01
it doesn;t work in DBC

flibX0r
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2003
Location: Western Australia
Posted: 1st Jun 2003 09:08
3200

See signature for specs

"But we couldn't do that Mr Flibble," questioned Rimmer. "Who'd clean up the mess?"
--Twin P4 Xeon 2.0 Ghz, GeForce Quadro4 XGL 128MB, 1Gb DDR RAM, 19" Flat Screen--
hexGEAR
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2002
Location: Naytonia
Posted: 1st Jun 2003 18:46 Edited at: 1st Jun 2003 18:47
approx 40 using dark basic classic
approx 100 using dark basic pro

pentium 4 (1.7ghz)
256 Ram
gforce 2 16mb

not bad for a laptop though

change the line "dim count(10) as float" to "dim count(10)" and it should work in dark basic classic thats what i did

to live is to suffer, to survive, well, thats to find meaning in the sufferening.....
BobCat
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jun 2003
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2003 21:20
Mine's 41

Pentium 2 350 mhz
256 meg ram
Nvidia Vanta LT - 16 meg

>^..^< >^..^<
Cpt Caveman
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posted: 2nd Jun 2003 03:15
My cps = 627

I have a Athlon 1.33
384 meg of pc133 ram
Geforce 4 ti 4200
Easily Confused
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: U.K. Earth. (turn right at Venus)
Posted: 10th Jun 2003 07:45
Strange!

Since updating DBPro to Patch 4.1 the speeds are now:

120 in fullscreen exclusive (640x480x16).
300 in windowed mode (640x480x32).
178 in windowed fullscreen.

Fullscreen exclusive is either 4.5 times slower than before or Patch 4 was lying about running at 540 fps in this mode.

Any thoughts?

Programming anything is an art, and you can't rush art.
Unless your name is Bob Ross, then you can do it in thirty minutes.
aprilfan
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Oct 2002
Location: Hell
Posted: 25th Jun 2003 02:29
23 -windowed mode

2 -windowed fullscreen

6758 -Full screen mode

12 -windowed desktop

odd... very odd...
Geforce 2
64 MB RAM
Pentium 3 700 MHz

The Great Schism.- The Earths reaction to Heavons invasion.
Eddie Gordo
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2003
Location: Ohio - USA
Posted: 25th Jun 2003 17:06
400-windowed

300-fullscreen windowed

800-fullscreen exclusive

mine just got weird b4 it was in the 90s most of the time

P3 650MHZ
128M Ram
64M GForce4

In our hearts and minds we keep the powers of love, hope and the hidden powers of evil in which we can mold a hero or daemon of ourselves-Book of Enoch Chapter III
TheCyborg
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 26th Jun 2003 01:41
P2 300 Mhz
320MB SD RAM PC100
GeForce 2MX 32MB

Windowed 640x480: 540-570
Windowed Fullscreen 1280x960 32b: 140-142
Fullscreen Exclusive 640x480 16b: 67-70


Not up yet --> http://thecyborg.sytes.net/
Eric T
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2003
Location: My location is where I am at this time.
Posted: 29th Jun 2003 15:24
178 on my cheapo (p3 933mhz matrox millenium g450 256 sdram)

4987 on my laptop (p4 2.8ghz raedon 8500 1gb ddr)

a whopper, 15, on my trash (P1 66 mhz trident and a huge 32mb ram!!!)

and finally my good pc 5023 (P4 3.0ghz 128mb geforce 4 and a nice 1gb ddr)

Opinions are like a$$holes, Everybody has one.
pinkvenom
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jun 2003
Location:
Posted: 29th Jun 2003 17:24
cps 618

Windows XP Home 2.53 GHz 512 Meg RAM Darkbasic Pro Patched
Trowbee
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Apr 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 30th Jun 2003 01:04
full screen exclusive (640x480x16) = 61
windowed (640x480) = 1292
windowed (desktop) = 405
windowed (full screen) = 395

AMD Athlon 2.1GHz
1GB DDR RAM
GeForce 4200 Ti
monitor reolution = 1280 x 1024
Tgslee
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2003
Location:
Posted: 8th Jul 2003 02:33 Edited at: 8th Jul 2003 02:48
mine's only 41

celeron 433
192 megs ram

Hmm...when I built it into a final, I only get 10-15, unless I hold down a key on the keyboard;then I get 33. The same sort of thing happens with my programs...I wonder why...

Preston C
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th May 2003
Location: Penn State University Park
Posted: 16th Jul 2003 02:33
I got 33. I got a 1.3 Ghrz Celeron, 512 MB Ram, 4 MB Video Card.
But I had to remove the "as float" from that dim statement to run it in classic, should I have done that?

At first glance, I'm a mediocre mech pilot. Look again and you will see my battlemech's computer code rushing through my eyes. My Mech And I Are One!
Carlitos
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 16th Jul 2003 03:02
I got 33 on a
Gateway Pentium 4
1.80 GHz
256 MB of RAM

Is low good or bad??

--carlitos
Danmatsuma
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Mar 2003
Location: Australia
Posted: 16th Jul 2003 12:15
245

amd athlon 1800xp
256mb pc2100 ddr
geforce fx5200
win98se

ZX Spectrum 48k Issue 3, Radio shack Tape drive, Rank arena 12" T.V. set.
Xeridox
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th May 2003
Playing: Scrap Mechanic
Posted: 17th Jul 2003 20:37
I have 105 CPS

(no brand name, built my own machine)
Pentium II MMX at 266 MHz
160 MB SDRAM
nVidia GeForce 2 MX 32MB
AOpen sound card

Visit my website to see my games! http://www.xeridox.com

IRC Channel: #darkbasic on server irc.uk-net.org Ports 6667 or 6668. Helpers and game serves welcome or just come and chat!
k0shi
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2002
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Jul 2003 06:05
40-41

Intel Pentium 4
640.0mb ram
WinME v4.90.3000

Learn as if youll live forever, and give as if youll die tomorrow.
Lonnie
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2003
Location:
Posted: 20th Aug 2003 00:00
Mine was 1475 in with regular fulscreen. (the defult)

TheGreenCow
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2003
Location:
Posted: 4th Sep 2003 04:10
Mine was 196 in default on dbpro
my specs
about 1.3 ghz
256 mb ram
no clue on the vid card

the only green cow of the Draconum High Council

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-29 15:58:07
Your offset time is: 2024-03-29 15:58:07