Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / talking script

Author
Message
code65
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 25th Oct 2006 21:38
I am using Benjamin A's talking script and im having a bit of trouble with it, i would post on his threat about it but i cant because its old, anyway im using
;Created by Benjamin Aeilkema

;Header

desc = game conversation

;walk up to an character and he will display three messages in a row.

;Triggers

:state=0:hudreset,hudx=50,hudy=50,hudimagefine= [path to your image with text1] ,hudname=talk1,hudhide=1,hudmake=display
:state=0:hudreset,hudx=50,hudy=50,hudimagefine=[path to your image with text2],hudname=talk2,hudhide=1,hudmake=display
:state=0:hudreset,hudx=50,hudy=50,hudimagefine=[path to your image with text3],hudname=talk3,hudhide=1,hudmake=display,state=10
:state=10,plrdistwithin=160:rotatetoplr
:state=10,plrdistwithin=60:rotatetoplr,sound=[path to a sound] ,timerstart,state=20
:state=20,plrdistwithin=60:rotatetoplr,hudshow=talk1,hudfadeout=talk1
:state=20,timergreater=7500:state=20,rotatetoplr,sound=[path to a sound],timerstart,state=30
:state=30,plrdistwithin=60:rotatetoplr,hudshow=talk2,hudfadeout=talk2
:state=30,timergreater=7500:state=30,rotatetoplr,sound=[path to a sound],timerstart,state=40
:state=40,plrdistwithin=60:rotatetoplr,hudshow=talk3,hudfadeout=talk3
:state=40,timergreater=7500:timerstart,state=2
:state=2,plrdistfurther=60:state=10

;End of Script

and i made the words using paint and i saved it to the type of file he said to on his post and i set it in main script. but when i walk up to the guy nothing happens, anyone know what im doing wrong? thanks, and yes i read the manual. thanks.
The Silent Ayehika
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Apr 2006
Location: My Home
Posted: 25th Oct 2006 21:40
do you even see the [path to your image with text1]

For example you putted talk1 in audiobank then you place there audiobank/talk1.jpg. if im right

Listen up.Im EBIL.
Mess with me and PREPARE TO GO TO EBIL HELL!
xplosys
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 25th Oct 2006 21:58
In other words, this;

Quote: "[path to your image with text1]"


is called a place-holder. When you make your image and place it in the proper folder, (probably "C:\Program Files\The Game Creators\FPS Creator\Files\languagebank\english\gamecore\text") then you replace the place-holder in your script "[path to your image with text1]" with the proper path to your image file.

Best.

The forum provides a means to hide our true identity. Too bad we always screw up and let it be seen.

code65
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 26th Oct 2006 01:20
yes i know i changed that to where i saved my file with the typing i just didnt put it in my post, i will though now...

:state=0:hudreset,hudx=50,hudy=50,hudimagefine=texturebank\user\dont_shoot1,hudname=talk1,hudhide=1,hudmake=display
:state=0:hudreset,hudx=50,hudy=50,hudimagefine=texturebank\user\dont_shoot2,hudname=talk2,hudhide=1,hudmake=display
:state=0:hudreset,hudx=50,hudy=50,hudimagefine=texturebank\user\dont_shoot3,hudname=talk3,hudhide=1,hudmake=display,state=10
:state=10,plrdistwithin=160:rotatetoplr
:state=10,plrdistwithin=60:rotatetoplr,sound=[path to a sound] ,timerstart,state=20
:state=20,plrdistwithin=60:rotatetoplr,hudshow=talk1,hudfadeout=talk1
:state=20,timergreater=7500:state=20,rotatetoplr,sound=[path to a sound],timerstart,state=30
:state=30,plrdistwithin=60:rotatetoplr,hudshow=talk2,hudfadeout=talk2
:state=30,timergreater=7500:state=30,rotatetoplr,sound=[path to a sound],timerstart,state=40
:state=40,plrdistwithin=60:rotatetoplr,hudshow=talk3,hudfadeout=talk3
:state=40,timergreater=7500:timerstart,state=2
:state=2,plrdistfurther=60:state=10
xplosys
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 26th Oct 2006 02:15
I really don't know why you are having this issue and it's impossible to tell the difference between your install and mine, but if it were me I would try this.

Put a story zone in your level and assign it one of your jpg images to show. See if it appears in the proper location and remains until you move out of the zone or press escape. If that works properly, then I would suspect only the script, but if not, then I would think you have a program issue.

At least it's a place to start and narrow down the issue.

Best.

The forum provides a means to hide our true identity. Too bad we always screw up and let it be seen.

rabid rabbit
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 26th Oct 2006 04:32
Quote: ":state=0:hudreset,hudx=50,hudy=50,hudimagefine=texturebank\user\dont_shoot1,hudname=talk1,hudhide=1,hudmake=display
:state=0:hudreset,hudx=50,hudy=50,hudimagefine=texturebank\user\dont_shoot2,hudname=talk2,hudhide=1,hudmake=display
:state=0:hudreset,hudx=50,hudy=50,hudimagefine=texturebank\user\dont_shoot3,hudname=talk3,hudhide=1,hudmake=display,state=10
"


You call your images
Quote: "texturebank\user\dont_shoot1"

Do you have an extension? like dont_shoot1.jpg or dont_shoot1.dds ?

Watch out, this bunny bites...
code65
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 26th Oct 2006 22:29
i will check all of them to see if they work, but my computer has a problem now and dont know when i will be able to but when i can ill try everything you all said, thanks
Robh22
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Hell, NY
Posted: 27th Oct 2006 00:17
Quote: "Put a story zone in your level and assign it one of your jpg images to show. See if it appears in the proper location and remains until you move out of the zone or press escape. "


Okay..I have a question. As everyone under the sun knows, I've been having issues with the storyzone. The vids or pic plays for a few seconds then vanishes without hitting a key or moving. Now, when I asked about this, folks said this is the way it is supposed to work, play then vanish. Is it supposed to wait for you to hit a key or move or not?
xplosys
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 27th Oct 2006 16:46
I couldn't remember so I just tried it. Images remain on the screen until you click the mouse or press escape and movies end (disapear) when they end.

Best

The forum provides a means to hide our true identity. Too bad we always screw up and let it be seen.

Robh22
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Hell, NY
Posted: 27th Oct 2006 17:26
*Thank you!*
code65
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 30th Oct 2006 04:31 Edited at: 30th Oct 2006 04:32
okay im back had to reformat my computer, sorry for the long wait till my reply and wanyway yes it has a extension, i added it didnt help any, i used the story line one, it worked but it covered the whole screne in white and the text was hard to read at the very top left, any tips?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-23 04:07:55
Your offset time is: 2024-11-23 04:07:55