Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Start from the beginning....

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Right, I'm new to Dark Basic professional. I've been pretty nifty on QBASIC for the past 10 or so years, so I thought DB would be pretty straightforward, but it isn't.

I understand the syntax and everything, it's just I need a REALLY basic tutorial that goes from the VERY START explaining absolutely everything about what all of the commands do, and how they do it.

The FPS tutorial just gives you blocks of code and tells you what it does, but I wouldn't know how to use the code for my own purposes, if you know what I mean.

My aim for learning DP, is mostly to be able to make First Person Shooters, so if there's a really decent, from the start tutorial for an FPS, if you don't mind linking me to it, that's be great.
indi
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Oct 2006 14:39
the basics to a game broken down many times to a simple form is this.

most games have a main loop where the core of the game is run.
making your game operate efficiently while keeping fps is the holy grail of gamedev.
some games do not require this much efficiency but most good ones do.

without giving you a sample hello world code snippet and rambling on about the basics its really best to do the tutorials in the package and on the web.

one tip, press f1 when you have an unknown command highlighted.

Julius Caesar
Years of Service
User Offline
there is a tut for that on the actual installation!

I came, I saw, I conquered. The die is cast. It is not these well-fed long haired men that I fear, but the pale and the hungry looking. Et tu, Brute?
Who am I quoting?
Gil Galvanti
Years of Service
User Offline