Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Looking after your objects

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Apr 2003 08:05
Heyas ^^ Im kinda new to db (had dbp for a while, just never got around to using it >.>) although not to programming. Been programming for a few years, but only 2d games and apps, so bare with me ^_^

My question is about objects. Whats the best way to keep track of them? When you make your object and you give it an id, its one thing to hardcode alot of it but most of the time you need a dynamic solution. Example, at the moment i'm working on converting one of my old 2d games to 3d style (a simple tank shoot-em up multiplayer, everyone gets a tank and everyone has to shoot each other XD). Now I can happily load say the tank base and the tank turret and manipulate it about - I know they are objects 1 and 2. But it starts getting iffy with the shooting.