Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / 2D Backrounds

Author
Message
Tone Eternal
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Apr 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 26th Apr 2003 22:44
I am designing a space shooter, but I'm stuck with this blue backround.. I attempted to use the statement "COLOR BACKDROP 0" but it does not work... It worked when I was playing around in 3D Mode. But I can't seem to get it to work in 2D mode.. Any Ideas?
PiratSS
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2002
Location:
Posted: 26th Apr 2003 23:06
Hello Tone Eternal,

try this:

`This will turn on the background
backdrop on
`This will give you black bacground
color backdrop rgb(0,0,0)

or you could put a texture:
`This will turn on the background
backdrop on
'This will texture the backdrop
texture backdrop imgNumber
`Where imgNumber is the texture for the background

Cheers.

There are two types of people in the world: The ones who summon and the ones that create. There is a big difference...
Chiwawa
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 26th Apr 2003 23:11
im not sure..but..instead of using backdrop..paste an image before..the rest...it will be..faster....and you wont be abligated to redraw ..the entire screen each "sync" cause with backdrop on..it erase your screen each sync..
NETMAN007
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2003
Location: Malta
Posted: 26th Apr 2003 23:19
What you can do Tone Eternal is that
You put a sprite to fill the whole screen.
Make the image of the sprite, the size of the whole screen.
That is if the screen resolution is going to be 640 x 480
make the image this size etc etc.

PiratSS
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2002
Location:
Posted: 26th Apr 2003 23:41
erm...

Anyway, the backdrop is the fasted way to have a 2D Background.

Cheers.

There are two types of people in the world: The ones who summon and the ones that create. There is a big difference...
IanM
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 26th Apr 2003 23:46
The point is that there are many ways to do what you want:
sky box/sphere
texture backdrop
sprite
paste image
copy bitmap

The only thing I would like to add is that if you are going to use one of these methods, don't forget to include 'BACKDROP OFF'.

By default, DBPro will clear the screen every frame, but if you are going to ensure that it is entirely redrawn each time this is wasted effort that will slow down your game.
Tone Eternal
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Apr 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 27th Apr 2003 01:57
Thanks everyone! I pasted a "backround" image! all fixed..

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-20 05:37:22
Your offset time is: 2024-09-20 05:37:22