Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Need help with IFs, LOOPs and Not Equals signs (I am a complete newbie)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello

I am trying to create a program that will give me random lottery tickets. In the lottery that I play, people have to choose six different numbers from 1 to 49 for each ticket. The code I came up with was:

According to my textbook, "<>" means "is not equal to", but, as it turns out, it did not work in the program - DarkBasic could not understand it. Therefore, I assume, it only works in an IF:

...or whatever.

Therefore, how do I make the random number generator give me 6 random numbers that are all different to each other?

As I am asking how to do this, I may as well find a few more (at least vaguely connected) things out:

1) How do I tell DarkBasic that VariableOne does not equal VariableTwo, if not with the "<>" sign?

2) I tried a different approach, using an IF + DO...LOOP combination (which, again, didn't work). Here is a snippet:

And so on. Again, this didn't work, and I'd like a more elegant way of doing this: from what I have read in my textbook, IFs only work with one condition or another. However, how can I make IFs more complicated: how can I make the program start over if any of the numbers are the same as any of the others, and say all that in one IF? Or, conversely, how can I make the program only print WhicheverNumber if it is not equal to any of the numbers printed before it?

3) What does the RANDOMIZE command do? From what I gathered from my textbook, it's meant to give random integers that are all different to each other (exactly what I want) but when I tried
it didn't work, again.