Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Help with "Pong" game and 2D collision detection. Please

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st May 2003 00:00 Edited at: 1st May 2003 00:01
I am pretty new to progamming and so I thought I would make a simple "Pong" game. I was wondering if anyone can give me some help with it. Can someone please tell me the command that detects the collision between two 2D spites (The ball and slider) and how to use it. Thanks. Also if you have any other tips on how to make a good quality pong game they would be most appreciated. Like how to make the ball bounce back work "realistically" like in the original.

I have attached what I have done so far. If anyone need to take a look to help me. Basically the ball and slider move and thats it.

ReD_eYe
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st May 2003 00:33
the command your looking for is
which checks for collision between sprites 1 and 2
heres my first pong game maybe you could learn something from that, i've tried to explain what each bit does in the code

ARE YOU A 3D MODELER??? IF SO WE NEED YOU!!!
EMAIL mynameisnoneofyourbuisness@hotmail.com to work on the new Star Strike project!!!
Amadeus
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st May 2003 00:37
well, for one, you can base the angle of the ball to move at double the angle of complement would be.

Eg:

|- represents middle of board
|O- the ball
======= - the board