Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / [DBP]Creating objects one ata time -- stuck!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Jan 2007 03:01
First of all, I am new to both DarkBasic and programming in general. Second, I am not begging for the 'teh codez'. Really, I am hoping for someone to point me in the right direction so I can figure it out (mostly) for myself -- else I don't learn a whole lot.

Anyway, I have tried a number of permutations on my problem and none of them seem to work. So I will lay it out and see what you think.

My intent is to create what might be the core to a 3d space shooter. Basically, I am trying to get rotating cubes (stand ins for asteroids) to appear at random places on the screen, one at a time, and have them move "forward" toward the player. (Later, I will worry about destroying them, since I think I got a decent handle on that from Ruccus' FPS tut).

I first tried using a for...next to create the objects, then another for...next to move/rotate them. Unfortunately, it created all the objects, then moved them all in unison. I triedto add a countdown# variable to the creation loop in hopes it would 'move on' to the movement part before creating another cube. no dice.

Here's the code for what I managed to do:

sync
hide mouse
color backdrop rgb(0,40,0)

randomize timer()

countdown#=100

do

dec countdown#,1

if countdown#=0
for n=1 to 10
make object cube n,25
color object n,rgb(rnd(255),rnd(255),rnd(255))
position object n,rnd(640),rnd(480),1000
countdown#=100
next n
endif

for n=1 to 10
if object exist(n)
xrotate object n,object angle x(n)+2
yrotate object n,object angle y(n)-2.5
position object n,object position x(n),object position y(n),object position z(n)-2