Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Newcomer Intro and recommended book on DB Pro

Author
FPSC Tool Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Jan 2007 01:28
Hi all! My real name is Terry and I am totally brand new to game programming. However, I was a main frame programmer in both assembler and COBOL/CISM. Eventually I became a PC programmer and ended up using Visual Basic. I became certified with that language with MS. After retirement I joined the WWW crowd and programmed in PHP/HTML and a little Java script. I had done this since 1998. Now, I would like to continue to expand my horizons and join the gamer community of programmers. It didn't take me long to finally choose DB Pro as my programming language of choice.

I was going to order the two Hands On books until I discovered that the postage was going to be around $90.00. That made the cost of both just under $200.00. I just couldn't see that much expenditure. So, I began a search for another alternative. I was not having any luck until I happened to find a book at Target of all places. (This info, of course, is mainly for those in the USA). The following is the info for this book: