Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / help with a newb to dbpro....trouble with drawing sprites and back drops...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm new to dark basic, I bought the beginers guide to dark basic only to find that either my editor doesn't work properly or much of the code in the book is wrong. I'm having trouble with sprites and trying to get a moving star background basis for my game. Here is a basic subroutine I wrote to help get 3 sprites pulled in, but they never display.... If I use the debugger and mess with sync and cls I can see them but then they get hidden again somewhow. Do I need some kind of sprite priority or am I just goin about this the wrong way? I've spent hours reading the forums, the book and trying to get the code to run properly. I've written several smaller programs, mostly playing with numbers, with no problems. Any help or links to good help (for dbPro, as texture backdrop is an invalid command)would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for any help.
Lunar Fusion
Years of Service
User Offline
oOo here's the code....

Lunar Fusion
Years of Service
User Offline
eh I look smart keep forgetting to add details....
I always get a blue screen with no sprites. After a few more hours of playing with it I can now get the sprites to appear but I can't animate them or anything.....again I read over about 20 more forums and sitll no soloution.....any help is greatly appreciated....

here's all my code thus far....(as of right now...it changes quit a bit)...

I may just be confussed about all this....I have read that many examples in the beginners guide are wrong....which is causing mayham with me learning to use this language....again thank you so much for any help : )