Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / SPARK 3D Particle Engine wrapper 1.2 for DBPro

Author
Message
Hotline
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 4th May 2013 15:32
Quote: "Also I can say this: including globstruct.h is not required for this program."


Yes thats required only when i build SPARK for DBpro.

Quote: "Now program works, but the flame is behind the camera, so it is visible only when I press "Down" key"


Thats normal behavior.As the camera and the particles are both at the same position (0,0,0) so you must move backward to see the particles...

Quote: "And when I press "Esc" (or click red "X"-button on the top of the game window), the program does not end correctly -- I see message box (picture attached) "Unhandled exception in... Access Violation reading...""


That must be some win7 64 bit incompatibility.. I saw that problem in other apps too , i'll see what can i do

[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=191567&b=5]Spark Particle engine[/href]
[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=199163&b=5]Transform gizmo plugin[/href]
Hotline
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2013 14:38
Hi all ! i tried to investigate what causes the crash when you closing the GDK app , i tried everything with no luck.Probably this is one of those bugs that is impossible to find , because it is caused by operating system (32 bit vs 64 bit) .I tried to modify the whole wrapper , tried directly build the SPARK source in the GDK app (no dynamic linking) and the app still crashed at close... Then i triedto run the exe in XP SP2 compatibility mode... and VOILA the exe worked perfectly !!! No crash at the end!

The strange thing is that i'm using the exact same version of SPARK dll in my dx9 based game and it's not crashing at all , works perfectly both on Xp and Win7 64 bit ...
So this means that the bug is probably somewhere in DarkGDK... not sure though...

So the final conclusion :
If you using SPARK wrapper in your GDK game , you need to run the exe in XP SP2 compatibility mode ! (this applies only to win7 64 bit users !)

[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=191567&b=5]Spark Particle engine[/href]
[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=199163&b=5]Transform gizmo plugin[/href]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 14th May 2013 18:29
@Hotline

you said you tried
and it worked in xp sp2 but what about xp sp3 ?

was the windows 7 you tried it on the home premium or pro version ?

too bad the super compatibility addition for windows 7 64 bit
is only for pro version not the home version

composedly it's suppose to solve a lot of problem with compatibility

if GDK as not so out of my understanding I would go with it
since there is a lot more option with it as being closer to
c++ and a like

yours is the first I have read that has had a problem with it

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Hotline
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 14th May 2013 18:50 Edited at: 14th May 2013 18:51
SPARK is fully compatible with all MS operating systems starting from XP. They were all tested and worked flawlessly.
The ONLY issue is if you runing GDK exes on a 64 bit platform.
DBPro apps using SPARK , runing fine on 64 bit systems.

Quote: "was the windows 7 you tried it on the home premium or pro version ?"


I don't know... i tested it in my friend's PC shop i picked the first Computer that was turned on and have had Win7 64 bit installed , but i didn't checked the version... i think it was a Pro not sure though...

[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=191567&b=5]Spark Particle engine[/href]
[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=199163&b=5]Transform gizmo plugin[/href]
s_i
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd May 2009
Location: Russia
Posted: 15th May 2013 21:37 Edited at: 17th May 2013 18:53
@ Hotline
1)
Quote: "i tried everything with no luck"

Can you build a dll (and all needed files) in computer with Windows 7 x64 installed (native x64 environment)? In not Express (32bit) version of Visual Studio with x64 libraries -- maybe it helps???
EDIT: Hm... No, this is bad idea.
2) I have Windows7 Professional x64, and I tested example project (see older posts) with SPARK dll in many compatibility modes (see attached picture):
Windows XP SP2, Windows XP SP3, Windows Vista SP2, Windows 7 [x86 ???].
All works well. But without the compatibility mode (in the native environment Win7 Pro x64), the program crashes when closing. I think Windows in compatibility mode uses a different set of drivers.
3) Please, open this statistics:
http://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey/?platform=pc
Click the first line ("Windows Version") and you can see, that Windows 7 x64 is the most used OS by gamers in the world. So the work of SPARK plugin in the x64 environment is very-very-very important for us.
4) Compatibility mode -- is a very-very-very bad decision for us. Because we can not explain ALL the players of the need to enable compatibility mode. Because it's not convenient. Because some of us do commercial games. Because some players -- small children. Because not all (maybe) versions of Windows have a compatibility mode. Because 1000 "because ". So we need working SPARK plugin in Win7 x64.
5)
Quote: "SPARK is fully compatible with all MS operating systems starting from XP. They were all tested and worked flawlessly."

But native DarkGDK works in x64 flawlessly too. I do not know where the problem is -- in SPARK native, in your wrapper, in DarkGDK, etc. But I advise you to seek help from a TGC Lead Developer Lee Bamber ( lee@thegamecreators.com or http://fpscreloaded.blogspot.co.uk ). SPARK is one of the best plugins, so I think Lee can help us.
Good luck!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 18th May 2013 18:57 Edited at: 18th May 2013 19:28
a post I put up on 21st Apr 2013 17:50 about using Spark 3d Particle Engine has take me a bit longer than expect to build

I had a few thing I did not look at correctly and finely corrected

but now it's just a couple of things that are limiting me


I had the program take a image and store if a tile was active
but it seems it added in a few extra tiles which spoils the look

the text code show how it is



the next problem it is being built upside down
and there seems to be a limit of 400 when I need 1776 points of light

attached is what I have so far

if I can get a bit of help on what I am doing rong

is there limit on the number of units than can be created as this
example is saying it's 400 and I need more than that

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Hotline
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 19th May 2013 08:52
Quote: "is there limit on the number of units than can be created as this
example is saying it's 400 and I need more than that"


Hi i tried you demo and it showing nothing but a black screen and a cylinder object in the center of the screen...

Also i'm not sure pasting an image and iterate trough the pixels is a good idea to create the desired effect , as you have sync turned on and when you paste the image it not visible because you need to call sync to make it visible... a better solution is using bitmaps or reading the imagefile direcly sounds more standard to me...


Yes in you code your groups are limited to 400 particles , thats because you create 2 groups with 200 particles (capacity).
you just need to change the capacity when you create them :

this :




to this :



Regards

[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=191567&b=5]Spark Particle engine[/href]
[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=199163&b=5]Transform gizmo plugin[/href]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 19th May 2013 19:18
@Hotline

the cylinder is pointing out the center area

when I ran the example it dose show the flames being placed

I've got the sync command in quite a few places
so it should be showing up

thanks now I know the tiny mistake I made to the number being created

it closer to what I was after

just one tiny quirk to fix

I should also point out a good cpu and video card helps

my idea was to show case how the billboard can be used

I need to work on it for a bit more but not as much as I have
this is my first example of things I want to be able to do

some one else can use this freely ;o)

I will post a update asap

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 21st May 2013 18:39
I fixed up my mistakes and now any one can put what ever text
into it

I am working on version 2 with more option for displaying the text

for now here is what I have you can test your self

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Hotline
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 21st May 2013 20:12
Quote: "I fixed up my mistakes and now any one can put what ever text
into it

I am working on version 2 with more option for displaying the text

for now here is what I have you can test your self"


I have tested your code , but it crashes right afer i run it. Tried to recompile the code , but the exe still crashing... Also the code you posted is really unreadable , i couldn't understand or follow it (why you create the array ? you call sync rate twice.You set the camera position and call point camera with same parameters multiple times) I will have more time at weekend so i can take a look at your code how to simplify it

Regards

[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=191567&b=5]Spark Particle engine[/href]
[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=199163&b=5]Transform gizmo plugin[/href]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 21st May 2013 20:57
@Hotline

Quote: ""i couldn't understand or follow it (why you create the array ?""


I created the array so the program knows ware to put the active flames and to speed up the process

Quote: ""Also the code you posted is really unreadable""


if your talking about the post Edited: 18th May 2013 12:28
if you sit back a bit there are "1" which represent location
for flames to be placed

I found using sync command at "sync 70" speeds up placing flames
it then is set back to sync 60 so things run at a good speed

my windows is a bit messed up so there could have been quirk or two that was built into the exe

there were only a few lines I added into example 12
get the results

this example was built on windows 7 pre 64bit
using DBP 7.62

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
s_i
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd May 2009
Location: Russia
Posted: 23rd May 2013 21:12
Dear Hotline, did you read my post?
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=191567&b=5&msg=2456482#m2456482

I tried to find a solution in the Internet, but could not. I think that the problem is not in the DarkGDK, but in the wrapper, because exception thrown only after the "return" in the end of the DarkGDK's program. But I do not have the source code of the wrapper, so I can not see the line where the error occurs. Maybe someday you'll be able to do debugging on a computer with Windows x64? Please. Or ask for advice on the DarkGDK forum, or write a letter to Lee Bamber. Without correct this error, we can not use the SPARK in real games...
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 26th May 2013 18:05
umm I was wondering

has any one else tried the example i posted ?

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 26th May 2013 18:42
@Hotline

umm do you have the latest "SPARK 3D Particle Engine wrapper" 1.2.4 installed ?

that what I used for this example

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 26th May 2013 18:48
@Hotline

you would have the latest ;o) since you built it

any word on the rgba getting to work ?

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 26th May 2013 18:55
@hotline

in example 4

I changed the rgba to rgbaz

that stopped the error

but nothing showed up on the screen


to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Hotline
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 26th May 2013 23:24
Quote: "Dear Hotline, did you read my post?
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=191567&b=5&msg=2456482#m2456482

I tried to find a solution in the Internet, but could not. I think that the problem is not in the DarkGDK, but in the wrapper, because exception thrown only after the "return" in the end of the DarkGDK's program. But I do not have the source code of the wrapper, so I can not see the line where the error occurs. Maybe someday you'll be able to do debugging on a computer with Windows x64? Please. Or ask for advice on the DarkGDK forum, or write a letter to Lee Bamber. Without correct this error, we can not use the SPARK in real games... "


I'm working on it.I will build a 64 bit version of the dll if that helps.BUT In this case you must release your game for both 64 and 32 bit systems... However i don't think there's any bug in the wrapper... like i said i use the exact same version of the dll in my other (non GDK) project and it works perfectly on all operating systems...


Quote: "@hotline

in example 4

I changed the rgba to rgbaz

that stopped the error

but nothing showed up on the screen"


It works perfectly on my system... you just changed a variable named rgba to rgbaz , so it doesn't make any difference... I think there's something wrong with your operating system or DBPro version...

[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=191567&b=5]Spark Particle engine[/href]
[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=199163&b=5]Transform gizmo plugin[/href]
s_i
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd May 2009
Location: Russia
Posted: 27th May 2013 00:26 Edited at: 27th May 2013 18:59
@Hotline
Quote: "I will build a 64 bit version of the dll if that helps.BUT In this case you must release your game for both 64 and 32 bit systems."

This is bad variant.
(Also I do not know: can 32-bit game (made by 32-bit Express version of Visual Studio) use the 64-bit dll? I think no.)
Maybe Lee Bamber can help us?

@Resourceful
I have downloaded your code, maked new project, copy-pasted your code into it without changes, included pictures, then compiled. Result -- in the attached screenshot.
DBPro v7.62, Windows 7 x64, Spark v1.2.4. Good luck!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Rais
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2003
Location:
Posted: 30th May 2013 09:32
Hotline, how you getting on with the editor? The screen shots above look fantastic and I would love to get my hands on it!
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 1st Jun 2013 00:46
just for the sake of things

here is the code I modified



the image I used is attached

example 12 is the one I added too

I set the sync rate at 70 to have it build things quicker
and the array is used to store what spots get displayed
and there is count dun when it reads the image spot locations
so it know how man object are needed to be built

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast

Attachments

Login to view attachments
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 15th Jun 2013 00:28 Edited at: 15th Jun 2013 00:33
here is a video of my example in action

http://youtu.be/gLlHS4g9mmg

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
ActionSaxon
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 27th Jun 2013 18:55
@Hotline:

Quote: "Thanks for the report . the glue bug is fixed . I will upload the new dll next week"


Hi, just wondered if there was an update on that fixed dll?

Cheers.
Hotline
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 17th Jul 2013 10:38
Quote: "Hi, just wondered if there was an update on that fixed dll?"


Hi ! Sorry for the late post... Yes there is ! i've attached the fixed dll.
Cheers

[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=191567&b=5]Spark Particle engine[/href]
[href=forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=199163&b=5]Transform gizmo plugin[/href]

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ActionSaxon
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 17th Jul 2013 11:13
@Hotline

That's brilliant! Thank you very much indeed!
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 18th Jul 2013 01:51
@Hotline

Sory I did not see your post to me

It seem that the dba file that sets the rules need to be set as the second file to load

The first file that tells DBP what to do needs to first file set to load in the dpro file
Or you get the results



When I built a second example that what I leaned

Please go look at the youtube link I posted


Posted: 14th Jun 2013 17:28 Edited: 14th Jun 2013 17:33

My second example can be found there

Too bad there has to be a 32 bit and 64 bit engine

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-10-24 06:19:27
Your offset time is: 2019-10-24 06:19:27