Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit/AppGameKit Studio Showcase / [Released] Double Jump

Author
Message
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 25th Nov 2014 13:48 Edited at: 25th Feb 2015 11:24
Another simple 'pick up and play' game from Funich Productions made with AppGameKit v2...

Simply jump the Blue Blocks over the on-coming Red blocks by tapping the corresponding side of the screen. Sounds simple, but is frustratingly addictive... See if you can top the leaderboard...

Available on Google Play, SlideMe and iOS;

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.funichproductions.doublejump

http://slideme.org/application/double-jump

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/double-jump!/id949605395?ls=1&mt=8









Will 'eventually' be adding animation to the title screen amongst other things. As always, comments/suggestions welcome

Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 25th Nov 2014 13:48 Edited at: 12th Dec 2014 15:05
Second Image...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 25th Nov 2014 19:59 Edited at: 25th Nov 2014 20:01
Hello Funnell

Do you have a video of your game?

you may include a youtube video like this:



[/url]
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 25th Nov 2014 20:22 Edited at: 12th Dec 2014 15:06
I'm sure I'll get around to doing a video at some point. But like all my other apps, creating a video tends to be put on the back burner...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 26th Nov 2014 08:58
I downloaded it and found it extremely difficult but very addictive. Great work! Might have to try to forget it's on my phone though as I lost about half an hour without even realising it...
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 26th Nov 2014 11:42
Lol thanks Baxslash, I noticed your name peppered all over the leaderboard good skills
haliop_New
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Dec 2013
Location: Agk Tier 1 - Only
Posted: 26th Nov 2014 19:34
thats a really cool game man! good work. rated 5+
easter bunny
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2012
Playing: Dota 2
Posted: 26th Nov 2014 22:37
Will download this, I loved your game rocket run, it's was one of the few games I've kept installed for more than a week! Just need to free up some space on my phone


Audacia Games - Latest WIP - AUTOMAYTE 2.1, AppGameKit one click deploy to Android
"When you've finished 90% of your game, you only have 90% left"
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 27th Nov 2014 10:46
Thanks haliop_new, I appreciate it

@easter bunny, lol, thanks! This game was built around Rocket Run, as in, I just changed the graphics and made a few tweaks here and there... I hope you like this one too
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 3rd Dec 2014 13:23 Edited at: 12th Dec 2014 15:05
We have given \'Double Jump\' a complete graphics overhaul. I\'ve also changed the scoring mechanism so that you get 1 point per jumped block as opposed to points based on how long you survived.

This results in a lot lower scores, which psychologically (In my opinion of course) gives it even more replay appeal. When I score say 15, it makes me feel like think I can do better and want to play again. Whereas before, when I was scoring say 15000 it felt like I had accomplished something and didn\'t need to continue...

I still need to add animation to the titlescreen and I want to change the \'Game Over\' screen a little... We are also thinking about adding more obstacles, like steps for example.

Lastly, I\'d love to integrate social media like Facebook post to wall, but not really sure where to start with that

Anyway, comments/suggestions always welcome
Multicoder
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posted: 3rd Dec 2014 13:50
Very nice! Real good work!
It was quite challenging for a short while and I thought I would never get a score beyond 50.

But unfortunately it lost the fun real quick for me when I realized a little "trick" to make high scores.
After that I instantly made it to 260 score before I got bored and let the blue dots crash into the reds.
(I won't write the "trick" in public because I don't want to ruin the fun for the others )

Also I found a little inconvenience in the menu controls: I often closed the game accidentally because I instinctively pressed the back button of my phone to close the highscore table.

Yes, I am aware that I sound like a caveman to native english speakers
Pong Clone 2k14 {Android}
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 3rd Dec 2014 13:55
Trick?? What trick lol!!

Thanks for not sharing it, but can you either PM me or send me an email?
Multicoder
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posted: 3rd Dec 2014 14:11
I've sent you a pm

Yes, I am aware that I sound like a caveman to native english speakers
Pong Clone 2k14 {Android}
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 3rd Dec 2014 14:23
Multicoder... Wow! That's all I can say lol...

When I first read your message I thought 'what is he talking about, that's just being good' lol, and then I tried it, and you are absolutely right! I will be making a change tonight Thanks so much for pointing that out...

Oh, and I will also be deleting your score
Multicoder
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posted: 3rd Dec 2014 14:59
Oh nooooo My score! You sneaky, sneaky game dev xD
But you know what? I ate all your halloween candy!

Yes, I am aware that I sound like a caveman to native english speakers
Pong Clone 2k14 {Android}
easter bunny
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2012
Playing: Dota 2
Posted: 3rd Dec 2014 23:07
Ok, so if you're fixing it, mind posting what it was??


Audacia Games - Latest WIP - AUTOMAYTE 2.1, AppGameKit one click deploy to Android
"When you've finished 90% of your game, you only have 90% left"
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 4th Dec 2014 19:58 Edited at: 4th Dec 2014 20:03
Quote: "Ok, so if you're fixing it, mind posting what it was??"


I wouldn't necessarily call it a fix, but more a change... Multicoder basically found a clever way of making the game a lot easier. I've made the update now and all I have done is restricted the tap area to below the blues blocks (see below)... This should stop cheeky goats like Multicoder

Lets see how good you are now

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Multicoder
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posted: 4th Dec 2014 21:26
Yay, it's fun again

Quote: "Lets see how good you are now "


Obviously good enough to lead the scoreboard

In other news, I managed to break your ad-system somehow
I touched the screen in the middle of the transition when the ad flies in.
The ad stayed for a couple of seconds, then disappeared and was never seen again.
Even restarting the app and freeing the ram via the task manager didn't bring them back.
When the ad is supposed to show up, the music stops for approximately 0.5 seconds and then the game continues with no ad.
Sorry

Yes, I am aware that I sound like a caveman to native english speakers
Pong Clone 2k14 {Android}
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 4th Dec 2014 21:30
Why I aughta!!! My next update will simply be;

Multicoder
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posted: 4th Dec 2014 22:02
I'm sorry... i'm so sorry! I am nothing! I am miserable slime! Forgive me...PLEASE...

Yes, I am aware that I sound like a caveman to native english speakers
Pong Clone 2k14 {Android}
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 6th Dec 2014 22:53 Edited at: 8th Dec 2014 15:41
Pipped you at the post again Multicoder

Fancy doing me a small favour? I've made a change to Double Jump by including 'steps' as an alternative obstacle, not sure what I think of it... Would you mind downloading the attached apk and giving me your opinion?

The same goes for anyone else who has played this... Would appreciate it...

Many thanks

EDIT: APK removed, update on Google Play
Multicoder
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posted: 7th Dec 2014 19:47 Edited at: 7th Dec 2014 19:49
It looks... well... kind of ugly... BUT it's fun and I like it! It adds another "level" of difficulty to the gameplay
(Double Jump is my favorite game on android at the moment )

(I also topped your score again )

Yes, I am aware that I sound like a caveman to native english speakers
Pong Clone 2k14 {Android}
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 8th Dec 2014 15:35 Edited at: 8th Dec 2014 15:43
Quote: "(Double Jump is my favorite game on android at the moment )"


Thanks Multicoder, I appreciate it... (I'm still working on that top score lol)...

I have just released a pretty significant update. I have made the following changes;

- Changed how the blocks were being generated (previously they were generated based on distance, i.e. I would create a new block every x pixels. Now they are generated based on x amount of time). This gives me more control over how and when to generate obstacles.
- Steps! Yes, as if it wasn't hard enough, I have now added steps. Don't crash in to them
- Animated Title Screen
- Changed when ads display and frequency (less frequent)
- Redesigned Game Over screen (see below)
- Score increase after every successful jump (previously it was after each block falls off the screen)
- Rate Me added to Game Over



EDIT: Oh, and lastly, it is now available on SlideMe;

http://slideme.org/application/double-jump

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Multicoder
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posted: 8th Dec 2014 23:28
Ads are showing every 3 deaths now? Damn... they are working again... I need to break them again xD
It's not that I don't think you should earn some money, it's more that it's annoying that the app hangs for a few seconds when the ad shows up and the X to close the ad is so tiny^^
Also I hate fullscreen ads

Do you plan on making a paid version of the app without ads? I would definitely buy it

Regarding the steps: I think the steps should increase the score too, since they are obstacles like the red dots.

Yes, I am aware that I sound like a caveman to native english speakers
Pong Clone 2k14 {Android}
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 9th Dec 2014 11:12 Edited at: 9th Dec 2014 13:25
Quote: "Ads are showing every 3 deaths now?"


Yeah, rather than after every death... That was a bit much lol...

Quote: "it's more that it's annoying that the app hangs for a few seconds when the ad shows up "


I agree, and this is actually making me think about going back to AdMob (I'm using Chartboost at the moment). AdMob tends to be much quicker, I have no idea why Chartboost is so slow. I wish we could pre-load the ads asynchronously or something...

Quote: "Do you plan on making a paid version of the app without ads?"


Haven't really thought about it... I guess I could add In App Purchases to remove the ads, but then that comes with its own set of problems (SlideMe for example won't allow an app with Google's IAP integrated)...

Quote: "Regarding the steps: I think the steps should increase the score too, since they are obstacles like the red dots."


I thought long and hard about this, and went with no score as I saw it as more terrain as opposed to an actual obstacle. But I agree, I'll change it...

Thanks again for all the comments, I truly appreciate it Still havn't beat your score yet, but I'm working on it...

EDIT: Beaten your score BOOM! (Took me long enough lol)...
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 12th Dec 2014 21:40
Finally got around to creating a Video

Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 21st Jan 2015 21:18 Edited at: 21st Jan 2015 21:28
Downloading...Looks fun

Edit: Tested it out...Its going to take some practice
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 22nd Jan 2015 10:16
Quote: "Edit: Tested it out...Its going to take some practice "


Lol its definitely tricky, I am amazed by some of the scores on the leader... Thanks for trying

Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 16th Feb 2015 17:24
I don't own a mac, but have successfully(?) submitted 'Double Jump!' to Apple via a Mac In Cloud service... It is currently awaiting review... Have no idea if this will actually work, but will keep you all posted...

Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 16th Feb 2015 18:37 Edited at: 16th Feb 2015 18:40
Quote: " Apple via a Mac In Cloud service"

How does that work?

Edit: I finally got the hang of the game...Still not very good.

Moves a little to fast for me but the high scores don't lie...

Im just not very good. At first I thought you had to swipe the screen.
Soon found out you just had to tap it. Made it a lot more easy.
Still cant get a good score

Love the game tho!
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 16th Feb 2015 18:57 Edited at: 16th Feb 2015 19:13
Quote: "How does that work?"


Its basically remote access to a Mac... As I don't own a mac I use my Windows machine and access my 'rented' Mac via my web browser... Today was the first time I tried it. It has everything you need pre-installed (specifically Application Loader)...

I am using AppGameKit v2, so I simply downloaded the mac version to my rented mac and export the IPA via the IDE... You then run Application Loader and submit your binary... Was pretty straight forward.

The only slight annoyance is the speed, its quite slow and occasionally unresponsive. But seeing as AppGameKit is so amazing and only requires a few steps to generate an IPA, it isn't too much of a problem...

Having said all that, my app is currently in review, so am not 100% certain this will work... Time will tell I guess

FYI, this is the website;

http://www.macincloud.com/

Quote: "Love the game tho!"


Thanks

Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 16th Feb 2015 21:00
Very nice that's good to know. How long did it take you to get everything setup / built?

$30 for 30 hours seems like you could get a lot done for very cheap.
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 17th Feb 2015 04:29 Edited at: 17th Feb 2015 04:36
Quote: "Very nice that's good to know. How long did it take you to get everything setup / built?

$30 for 30 hours seems like you could get a lot done for very cheap. "

lol
Check out the plan for $20 a month.
It has a one day trial!
How many apps can you submit in a day?

Quote: "Having said all that, my app is currently in review, so am not 100% certain this will work... Time will tell I guess "

Be sure to let us know what happens.
I'll try that MacCloud for a day, with an order of fries and a shake maybe.
lol MacCloud
There can be only one! Conner


Coding things my way since 1981 -- Currently using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 17th Feb 2015 10:50
Quote: "How long did it take you to get everything setup / built?"


In all honesty, it probably took me about 2 hours, all in... But, about an hour and a half of this was trying to sort out my Certificates and Provisioning Profiles (they were a mess!) and I could have done this on my Windows machine before using the Mac...

I'd say from here on in, it will take me approximately 5-10 minutes to submit an app with this cloud service. I will do everything on my Windows machine (project set up in iTunes Connect etc etc), and only use the Mac to export from the IDE and submit... Simples

Quote: "How many apps can you submit in a day?"


Probably quite a few lol...

I went with the 30 hour option as I have a lot of apps to catch up on. The only thing you need to ensure is that you log in occasionally, as if you do not log in for a consecutive 60 days, you lose what hours you have remaining...

Quote: "I'll try that MacCloud for a day, with an order of fries and a shake maybe."


Lol...

Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 18th Feb 2015 15:49 Edited at: 18th Feb 2015 16:48
I must have played this as a PC version when you had it as a wip or something, because I remember playing it, but I don't think I have tried it on a phone, so...downloading now.

Over 500 installs so far at Google Play! Congratulations on that.


Coding things my way since 1981 -- Currently using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 19th Feb 2015 04:26
Quote: "Over 500 installs so far at Google Play! Congratulations on that."


Very nice!

Every time I play this I throw my phone...and cant help myself from picking it up and trying again.
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 19th Feb 2015 15:03
Quote: "Every time I play this I throw my phone..."

A game like that might get a hardware manufacturer as a sponsor.


Coding things my way since 1981 -- Currently using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 25th Feb 2015 11:23 Edited at: 25th Feb 2015 15:26
So... It's been 8 days since I successfully submitted Double Jump! to the Apple App Store using a Mac Cloud Service... And... It worked!! The app has been approved and is now available via the following link:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/double-jump!/id949605395?ls=1&mt=8

This is great news for those that do not own a Mac as IMO this is a viable/cheap alternative... I use the cloud service for approximately 5 minutes, just to export the ipa and submit using Application Loader. All prep work is done on my Windows machine

I've got to say, AGK2 is quite simply amazing!

EDIT: Just downloaded Double Jump! on a friends iPhone, and there doesn't appear to be any sound... Hmmm... Am hoping this is my issue and not anything related to using a Cloud Mac??? Will run some experiments...

Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 25th Feb 2015 16:24
Quote: " The app has been approved and is now available via the following link:"

CONGRATS!

Quote: "not anything related to using a Cloud Mac??? Will run some experiments..."

I would think its your issue using a cloud mac should be the same as using your own computer right in front of you
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 25th Feb 2015 16:34 Edited at: 25th Feb 2015 16:37
Quote: "So... It's been 8 days since I successfully submitted Double Jump! to the Apple App Store using a Mac Cloud Service... And... It worked!! "

YAY!
I was hoping that method would work for everyone!
That was a good idea you had, and thanks for sharing.

Quote: "I've got to say, AGK2 is quite simply amazing!
"

Well said.

What is up with the scoreboard? (Google play version)
When I hit the , it opens a browser and goes back to the download page at Google.
So, if that star is for ratings, then how do I bring up the scoreboard?


Coding things my way since 1981 -- Currently using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 25th Feb 2015 17:21
Quote: "I would think its your issue using a cloud mac should be the same as using your own computer right in front of you"


That's what I was hoping, but I remember seeing (and I cannot find it at the mo) a post from someone else detailing the same issue... I'll keep looking...

Quote: "When I hit the , it opens a browser and goes back to the download page at Google. "


Yeah, thats the 'Rate Me' button... You can access the Leaderboard from the Main Menu, its not on the 'Game Over' screen. But come to think of it, that's pretty daft lol... I'll add it in... Thanks.

Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
SpecTre
Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 25th Feb 2015 18:42
Quote: "doesn't appear to be any sound"


I had a problem that baffled me for a while with no sound on just some of the effects and it was due to loading .wav when the file was .WAV saved!

Programming - AMOS on the AMIGA! / DBPro / Python / A bit of C C++ / now also AGK2! - Graphics - Deluxe Paint on the Amiga / Paintshop Pro / Photoshop / Lightroom / Grafx2
Previously worked for Prisma Software producing childrens educational software on the Amiga - Titles - Pepe's Garden - Paint Pot / Kids Academy range - Paint Pot II / Shopping Basket / Which Where What? / Blobs / Alvin's Puzzles
SpecTre
Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 26th Feb 2015 02:14
Check this post re sound, just noticed it:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=213482&b=41&p=0#m2552207

Programming - AMOS on the AMIGA! / DBPro / Python / A bit of C C++ / now also AGK2! - Graphics - Deluxe Paint on the Amiga / Paintshop Pro / Photoshop / Lightroom / Grafx2
Previously worked for Prisma Software producing childrens educational software on the Amiga - Titles - Pepe's Garden - Paint Pot / Kids Academy range - Paint Pot II / Shopping Basket / Which Where What? / Blobs / Alvin's Puzzles
Funnell7
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 26th Feb 2015 11:08 Edited at: 26th Feb 2015 11:11
Quote: "Check this post re sound, just noticed it:"


That's the one! Thanks spectrepaul...

My missus has an iPhone so will run a few tests... 2 steps forward 1 step back

Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
SpecTre
Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 26th Feb 2015 17:24
Quote: "2 steps forward 1 step back"


Always look on the bright side pal, at least you are moving and it isn't 3 steps back

Have you seen stuff on the net about running MAC OS on a virtual machine using an original OSX disk. I saw something a while back but can't find the link now.

At the time I thought I would have a mess with that but then I saw my AMD chip is not compatible with it and you had to have an Intel processor so left it.
If you can find it on Google it might be worth a look. Not sure if anyone has tried it or whether it creates even more problems?

Cheers.

Programming - AMOS on the AMIGA! / DBPro / Python / A bit of C C++ / now also AGK2! - Graphics - Deluxe Paint on the Amiga / Paintshop Pro / Photoshop / Lightroom / Grafx2
Previously worked for Prisma Software producing childrens educational software on the Amiga - Titles - Pepe's Garden - Paint Pot / Kids Academy range - Paint Pot II / Shopping Basket / Which Where What? / Blobs / Alvin's Puzzles

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-11-13 21:07:12
Your offset time is: 2019-11-13 21:07:12