Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Work In Progress / Community Game/Dark City

Author
Message
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 6th Jul 2017 23:31
Quote: "The models provided my arrojar (ie the vehicles you used in the junkyard level) are models and textures from the STALKER games. I recommend you change them."


That's not good. That's not good at all.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 7th Jul 2017 00:00 Edited at: 7th Jul 2017 00:28
@ seppgirty Ok, options here... first remodel & texture most of the cars (can do, takes time..think of it as a challenge) or, find a similar pack and buy it
Quick fix is to buy a pack, but where? Will look around tonight.

Ok, after a quick look it seems doable. Need your help. Find me some free to use low poly cars, trucks and other stuff
and I'll quickly throw it together. Being a junkyard it's only a matter of twisting the mesh and a simple re-texture
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mriganka
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 7th Jul 2017 06:05 Edited at: 7th Jul 2017 06:11
Here are the images.

@ncmako Are the NightCityDocs pack vehicles doable for this?

Btw since STALKER is a (very) popular Slavic game. along with FPSC being widely used in the Russian Community, so the models may have been converted into .X files. In fact I saw some post there where they imported various weapons from Counter Strike and STALKER into FPSC as experiments (it was written that they were meant only for showcase) upon further investigation.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 7th Jul 2017 11:09
Mriganka
Quote: " Are the NightCityDocs pack vehicles doable for this"

Yes, of course, just a matter of a good texture.
Ok, the pictures speak for themselves
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 7th Jul 2017 13:40 Edited at: 7th Jul 2017 23:04
i believe rolphy released some cars for non commercial use. i think i posted some on google before. i'll look later. I also have some dark matter cars to use.we can solve this no problem.

EDIT.........................................................
It was jz's car pack and it's in over all models folder. I'll look for more. Also there is sitters models. http://md2.sitters-electronics.nl/
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mriganka
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 7th Jul 2017 16:42 Edited at: 8th Jul 2017 09:25
@seppgirty & @ncmako I would like to introduce a part of reviewing each other's versions of levels where we specifically state two things - how does it's gameplay fare wrt to the previous FPSC games (which I would dub bad for most) and wrt recent indie titles (if you have played any).

And btw we could open our own Discord chat group.
ncmako
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 9th Jul 2017 00:03
@ seppgirty I really dont remember anything like "cars" from Rolfy But I'll check around.
Now the Dark Matter I do remember, it had some good stuff. Yep, already took some of JZ's stuff
and worked on them. Just need to find a license for use to be sure.
Now "Sitters Models" is a great site, thanks for that one. Incredible stuff. Looking for a user license,
is there one? Can't find it.

@ Mriganka
Quote: "reviewing each other's versions of levels "

Absolutely, how would you like to go about this?
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mriganka
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 9th Jul 2017 06:04
I would like to propose a an FAQ questionnaire by the designer and the other players will respond to the FAQ and will traverse through the levels thoroughly to find bugs and glitches and will provide a detailed review of the flow pacing and overall design and environments of the level.
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 9th Jul 2017 14:29
Quote: "@ seppgirty I really dont remember anything like "cars" from Rolfy "


Yeah, i edited the post to say JZ and not rolphy. Remember, there are cars in Dark City model pack also. JZ's cars can be used in non commercial games. A licensees comes with sitters downloads in the folder. I'll get you some DM cars ASAP. attached is sitters license.

If we are going to beta test some levels now we have to set up the player. here is what the player must have and this is writtn in stone.

200 health
3 lives
colt 45 as the starting weapon with 3 clips of ammo. All other weapons will be pick ups.
Speed/hurt fall 100

Quote: "I would like to propose a an FAQ questionnaire by the designer and the other players will respond to the FAQ and will traverse through the levels thoroughly to find bugs and glitches and will provide a detailed review of the flow pacing and overall design and environments of the level."


I will just post the levels. you can give me your input. Then i'll see what i can do.
gamer, lover, filmmaker

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Mriganka
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 9th Jul 2017 14:47 Edited at: 9th Jul 2017 15:06
I think we should put up an IMDB page. And I have a nice picture as a cover (attached).

@seppgirty Holy crap! That is an awesome site! Btw what are the permissions to use the models from that site? And what about other stuff available at the linked sites like risen3D and such?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 9th Jul 2017 15:47
Quote: "I think we should put up an IMDB page. And I have a nice picture as a cover (attached).
"


I think we are still a ways off from promoting the game. Be patient my friend.

Quote: "@seppgirty Holy crap! That is an awesome site! Btw what are the permissions to use the models from that site? And what about other stuff available at the linked sites like risen3D and such?"


I attached the sitters license in the post above yours. I think the official rizen stuff is just for that game.

@ all

This is the progress thread and should only show the progress of the game. All questions and comments should stay in the other thread.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 10th Jul 2017 01:21
@ seppgirty Thank you, got all the stuff.
Yep, understood, will put all of these in place..
Quote: "200 health
*3 lives
*colt 45 as the starting weapon with 3 clips of ammo. All other weapons will be pick ups.
*Speed/hurt fall 100"

No problem

@ Mriganka Yeah, I'll just be happy if we can pull this off

@ everyone, I might have a solution to the "Multi Level" problem. Been slowly working
with ched80's "maptastic" scripts. Just had a break thru, can easily unlock next level
only after completing first one (using a lot of variables) There's one catch (there always is )
Turn Imageblock "off"

The game only needs one game .exe, right? We're all using Bi V10.5, correct? Ok, bear with me,
We each build our level/levels, call the .exe DarkCity. The .exe name stays the same, but in the
Levelbank\testlevel\Level1" you can easily change the "Level1" to "Level2"...ect (what ever your build level is, mine is 4 & 5)

We all pool our "files" into one big one. Don't worry, most of us are using most of the same stuff, right?
The we get our "levelbank\testlevel\ builds together (1 thru 5)
With the first level unlocked, Maptastic's scripts will unlock next level when first is completed.
Sounds big/complicated but it's really not...
https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/187353
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mriganka
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 10th Jul 2017 05:53 Edited at: 10th Jul 2017 06:02
When do we start making the cutscenes? My static level is done. Only thing left is the npc providing the voice acting, cutscenes, custom AI and as overall the UI. I have an experience of making scripts (I used to make them for comics for a cousin of mine). SO should I jot the dialogues down for the game or my level?

@ncmako I think we should make the mapstatic map available from the main menu and pause menu (as it would not be proper if we change location on the fly as the story wouldn't fit properly into the next playthrough). Can you try to make it like a missions menu after the game/level(s) is completed? But the idea for it is great!

@everyone I have this question... in games (generally) the pacing in managed by putting sections of walks (with conversation or atmosphere) or puzzles. Since we are mostly doing a single level each, how do you think we will manage that?
ncmako
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 15th Jul 2017 19:50
@ Mirganke Your kinda right about the "Maptastic" problem (going form one level to another without some control.
Have been working on a "Menu" system from within a built level itself...hard to explain, but it seems to work?
Slowly getting control of each level only when prior level is finished
Quote: " the pacing in managed by putting sections of walks (with conversation or atmosphere) or puzzles"

I don't understand what your getting at, I'm lost
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Reloaded Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 15th Jul 2017 20:18
Quote: "When do we start making the cutscenes? My static level is done. Only thing left is the npc providing the voice acting, cutscenes, custom AI and as overall the UI. I have an experience of making scripts (I used to make them for comics for a cousin of mine). SO should I jot the dialogues down for the game or my level?
"


We'll start on the cut scenes soon enough. We will all have to do voice overs and get other people involved for that. The cut scenes will be a motion comic style. I will write most of the dialog.

PLEASE, keep these conversions in the other thread. This is the show off thread.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 17th Jul 2017 03:56 Edited at: 17th Jul 2017 04:49
@ seppgirty
Quote: "This is the show off thread"

Ok then.... time to show off some stuff Have been very busy working on a menu system we could use if the "other guys"
can't get a working program. Below is attached a very simple build, 4 levels, level one is the menu. Just start the game as
normal. Hit "esc" to bring up menu, hit "load game" a simple menu to the left appears.

You can stay in the main menu (which is level 1) or click on level 1 (which is actually level 2 )
Just walk through the room to other side and you'll hit the "winzone" Level 1 is complete.
It goes back to "Main Menu" and when you hit "loadgame" you will now have "level1 & Level 2" available!
Go through all three levels, at anytime you can hit "esc" to bring up menu again.
Play with it and see what you think???

Edit: Ok, even at only 30megs it wont let me post it here. So I uploaded it to Google Drive
under the "Other" folder Also, I tested the download and figured I can streamline it a bit.
I'm going to try and place the "Levels Finished" on the "Title Page" at the very beginning.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 17th Jul 2017 16:01
@ everyone, in my haste to finish and upload the Menu build I uploaded the wrong one last night
Have now uploaded the correct build "DarkCity Working Menu" on google drive under the "Folder" section.
Please try out and let me know of any bugs ? Just load a Chapter and walk through room to other side until
you hit winzone. Rest is self explanatory.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-07-23 01:39:27
Your offset time is: 2017-07-23 01:39:27