Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / help a newbe

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi,
I'm completely new to this stuff but i'll explain my problem and hope someone can help.

I made a map with 3D World Studio I can export it as whatever so i'm thinking I'll need to export as .dbo however I haven't got a clue what to do next. All I want to do is load the map so i can travel around it, I don't even care if the play can go through walls or anything, I just want to be able to go around the map without enemies or anything like that.....can anyone help me maybe post an example code
TDK
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th May 2007 21:49
Quote: "I'm completely new to this stuff"

Then may I suggest that your first project is a little too ambitious?

You need to learn the language first. Copying and pasting other people's code will not teach you anything and you'll get so frustrated you'll soon get disheartened and give up.

It's like trying to write a novel in a foreign language before you've learned the alphabet.

Learn to walk before you run...

TDK_Man

3nvisi0n
Years of Service
User Offline
yea its ambitious, I'm not interested in learning to create a full game I just want some where to take may map and put it into an exe file or some other way of opening it. I was using the demo of Leadwerks engine to open it but that won't work on my new computer for some reason. So i thought darkBasic would be able to do what I need.
Do you know of any free engines that would be able to support any of the formats from 3D World Studio?
3nvisi0n
Years of Service
User Offline