Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / I can freaking code on "my" calculator!

Author
Message
Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 02:35 Edited at: 21st Nov 2007 03:13
"My" calculator is a calculator (obviously) that I found in college, it's one of those big fancy ones that only people with IQs over 130 and who laugh about the proceedings of a chess game are permitted to own.
It can draw graphs and all kinds of statistical crap, but what I was really interested in is that you can program it!
Problem is I don't have the instruction manual.
Last night I decided to try and figure out how to use it; it's pretty similar to BASIC and I managed to print "NOOB" a jillion times and take two inputs and display their product.

Does anyone here know how to code on a Casio calculator?
I'm stuck on using FOR loops: syntax problems
Any helpful links would be great too
thanks

"You must be someone's friend to make comments about them." - MySpace lied.
Keo C
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere between here and there.
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 02:53
Venge
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2006
Location: Iowa
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 02:54
Um....These aren't exactly new. I've been programming on school calculators since 8th grade I made a program that printed "erasing memory....please wait." then entered an endless loop and you couldn't do anything except turn it off...Really freaked out my math teacher one day, he was some young guy though, didn't know how to run it.


As for the FOR loops, I haven't really tried that. The only problem I've run across is the fact that IF-THEN statements can only be one line, so you pretty much have to use GOTO as a sort of function to get more than one line of stuff done. Maybe your math teacher has an instruction manual?
Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 03:02 Edited at: 21st Nov 2007 03:05
@venge
I know they aren't new (this one looks about 10 years old )
They have strange syntax though and "?" is an input that you have to assign to a variable (which you probably already know), it was awesome to when I worked that one out *chuffed*

@keo
thanks for the link, I'll check it out


It's a Casio fx-7400G

"You must be someone's friend to make comments about them." - MySpace lied.
Grandma
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2005
Location: Norway, Guiding the New World Order
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 03:02
Quote: "It can draw graphs and all kinds of statistical crap, but what I was really interested in is that you can program it!"


Welcome to the amazing world of expensive calculators. They have been around for a while now and they are obligatory to have in high school and above (atleast over here).

You can find various webpages that show how you can program in games on the things. I had very much fun playing games on my calculator when i were supposed to do other things.

This message was brought to you by Grandma industries.

Making yesterdays games, today!
Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 03:08 Edited at: 21st Nov 2007 03:13
@Grandma
haha sounds cool

I am excited to use this because the way I see it, programming in DB on a PC is "easy" for one person, you can spew out whatever you want and the PC will handle it because it's so powerful.
I like the fact that the calculator isn't so powerful and I have to be clever for a change

Found a pic of it


"You must be someone's friend to make comments about them." - MySpace lied.
Megaton Cat
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 03:16
Preston used to do a lot of programming on those calculators.

Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 03:54 Edited at: 21st Nov 2007 03:55
can someone tell me what the double arrow symbol means?
It's on this page a few times
http://www.brianhetrick.com/casio/hidetake/rsp.html
I think it only runs the code after if the statement before is true, is that right?
I copied the Janken game (rock, paper, scissors), it's pretty cool

"You must be someone's friend to make comments about them." - MySpace lied.
Osiris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 04:11 Edited at: 21st Nov 2007 04:12
Grrr, double.

RIP Max-Tuesday, November 2 2007
You will be dearly missed.
Osiris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 04:12
I think it's like double assigning something to a variable for some reason.

Or I guess it could be a really weird IF

A=1=>"ROCK"

or it could also be saying this I think:

A equals one and also rock

This could like get rid of those errors like "cannot explicitly convert string to 32b int" or something, who knows haha.

RIP Max-Tuesday, November 2 2007
You will be dearly missed.
gamebird
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 04:33
Quote: "Um....These aren't exactly new. I've been programming on school calculators since 8th grade"


HA! I've been programming them since 7th! If you have a texas instruments (TI) calc then go to ticalc.org. The ultimate geek website!
tha_rami
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 04:53
Hah, I once programmed an indepth spacesim for my Casio.


A mod has been erased by your signature because it was larger than 600x120
Guyra
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2005
Location: Norway
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 11:48
Hmm, I remember some years ago, when I was just starting out programming, a good friend(Who was a genius) had a TI which he coded stuff on, for example a 3D cube you could rotate. :p
The Nerd
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2004
Location: Denmark
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 16:06 Edited at: 21st Nov 2007 16:13
I use a Texas TI-89 on my subject of study(Math/Physic). One of these:


It costed around USD300.. haven't tried programming on it yet, although I have found a basic language for it, hehe.

Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 23:08
Quote: "or it could also be saying this I think:
A equals one and also rock"

That's what I thought but it's like typing in DB:
If A=1 then print "ROCK"
but you can use IF statements, so I don't know how this thing works
Another confusing thing is that it's under the menu JUMP, which has things like GOTO and LABEL

"You must be someone's friend to make comments about them." - MySpace lied.
Osiris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 22nd Nov 2007 01:29
Oh label and goto means this

this is the TI-89 Plus language anyways.

LBL A //for label
DISP "Hello World" //to display "Hello World"
GOTO A //to make it go back to a, it's like a really easy loop.

RIP Max-Tuesday, November 2 2007
You will be dearly missed.
Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 23rd Nov 2007 02:36
@Osiris
think you misread that, I know what GOTO and Lbl do it was the double arrow thing "=>" that I'm not sure about.

I'm working on a gangster game
I'm doing pretty well but I've run into a syntax problem and I can't see why. I'll post the code in a minute, if any of you can help that'd be awesome

"You must be someone's friend to make comments about them." - MySpace lied.
Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 23rd Nov 2007 03:14 Edited at: 23rd Nov 2007 03:16
Here's my game so far (nearly finished)


Here's the part I'm having problems with; the cars section of the heist mode.
I think this line is causing the problems
A=2~"HELLO"
It was originally the code for selling a car but I deleted it to try and find the problem. The program worked fine without it but when I added back in this simple line it crashed again with a syntax error


Can anyone help?

"You must be someone's friend to make comments about them." - MySpace lied.
bitJericho
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 23rd Nov 2007 07:11 Edited at: 23rd Nov 2007 07:14
A=1~If M>=200

Perhaps it doesn't like that structure? If that isn't it, then I've no idea; I'm too unfamiliar with this language.


The greatest multiplayer text adventure ever...
Twisted Steel Software
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st May 2007
Location: Teh Interwebs
Posted: 23rd Nov 2007 10:55
Quick correction... TI-89 Titanium is 150 USD BASIC and Assembly programs can be written and run on it.

Intel Pentium 4 3.40 Ghz HT, 1.5 GB RAM, Nvidia Geforce 6800, 19" Dell CRT Monitor ... I need to upgrade ^-^
The Nerd
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2004
Location: Denmark
Posted: 23rd Nov 2007 16:23
Quote: "Quick correction... TI-89 Titanium is 150 USD"


Might be in USA... but surely not in Denmark

Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 23rd Nov 2007 17:14
Quote: "A=1~If M>=200"

I tried that part on it's own and it worked fine.
It seems to not like the A=2 part. Is there some syntax rule about using ~ (=> and Ifs together?

"You must be someone's friend to make comments about them." - MySpace lied.
tha_rami
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 23rd Nov 2007 23:06 Edited at: 23rd Nov 2007 23:15
The => mean Then. It requires no If.

So:

Quote: "If A = 2 Then Print "WOOT""


equals:

Quote: "A = 2 => Print "WOOT""


If / Then, however, supports multiple lines, while => doesn't.

I noticed a wait symbol after one of the IfEnds, that could cause some problems. It could also be the ':' symbol. I'm not sure. Finally, do check if all ' " 's are correctly opened and closed.

I'll run your code when I get back home.

Since examples teach you best: http://casioprogramavenue.tripod.com/


A mod has been erased by your signature because it was larger than 600x120
Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 02:32
Wow thanks rami

I'm quite pleased with the game, it's pretty fun for what would be a very small DB program

What do you think of the crimes? It seems to get easier the more you do.
The idea is that you start off with Muggings, then you move up to Robbing Shops and Stealing cars. Once you have enough money to hire a gang (1 to 4 gangsters) and you have a car, you can do a bank job for serious money.

Then if the heist is a success you wont need to do petty crimes before being able to hire a gang, buy a car and commit another heist. Which has me slightly worried as that's kind of the end of the game.

Any suggestions for how to use the extra money or what higher levels of crime there should be?

"You must be someone's friend to make comments about them." - MySpace lied.
Roxas
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 02:50 Edited at: 24th Nov 2007 02:51
Quote: "what higher levels of crime there should be?"


Take over the world! Murder! lol

or the worst of everything!

Starting diet coke factory!!!!!111oneoneo


Click For Details!

RUCCUS
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 02:58 Edited at: 24th Nov 2007 02:59
I dont see the need to pay more than 10 dollars on a calculator until you're in post secondary school. Its ridiculous how many kids in my highschool carry around Texas Instruments, 300 dollars down the drain, and they only ever use the trig functions.

Unless you do learn the programming syntax and program in the answers to a geography test or something like that that requires a calculator for a few of the answers.

The Nerd, did you really need that?

Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 03:15 Edited at: 24th Nov 2007 03:34
I'm working on a calculator simulation, it doesn't use actual pixels and wont have any graph functions or calculation functions for that matter, it's just for displaying the games I make on my calculator

All I have so far is a basic display, only started 5 minutes ago


I think I've got the display realistic though am slightly puzzled by it.
I think the calculator will display lines 1 to 5 and when it hits 5 it scrolls all the lines up (useful line 0 ) and prints the new line at line 5.
Inputs will be interesting I think I'll avoid the keyboard buffer and make a subroutine for it, capturing each character as it's pressed.

[edit]
hmm, maybe I should make my own pixels and hard-code the characters, it would be more realistic

[edit]
How can I save data to the calculator?

btw I worked out what I was doing wrong with for loops
I was typing
FOR N=1 TO 5
instead of
FOR 1~N TO 5 (~ = assign)
Which doesn't seem to make logical sense but it works lol

"You must be someone's friend to make comments about them." - MySpace lied.
The Nerd
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2004
Location: Denmark
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 13:05 Edited at: 24th Nov 2007 13:22
Quote: "The Nerd, did you really need that?"


Yes, it's a requirement to the course I'm taking. I'm not quite sure what the kind of school I'm going to is called in England/USA, maybe upper secondary school? It's 3 years and you have to complete it to be able to continue to uni. You start in the upper secondary school as soon as you finish primary. In the upper secondary school the age range from around 16 to 19, depending of course of how old you were when you started.

tha_rami
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 14:34
Quote: "I dont see the need to pay more than 10 dollars on a calculator until you're in post secondary school. Its ridiculous how many kids in my highschool carry around Texas Instruments, 300 dollars down the drain, and they only ever use the trig functions."

You mean like, that it's odd that we must have one and we do get the trig functions as basic math during education in the Netherlands?


A mod has been erased by your signature because it was larger than 600x120
Corky
User Banned
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 16:02
Quote: "we do get the trig functions as basic math during education in the Netherlands?"


you do?

Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 18:41
@Corky
we do in england too; Pythagoras and all that jazz

"You must be someone's friend to make comments about them." - MySpace lied.
tha_rami
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 18:48
Yeah. Some of them. Basic trigonometry and stuff (Sin, Cos, Tan)...


A mod has been erased by your signature because it was larger than 600x120
Corky
User Banned
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 18:50 Edited at: 24th Nov 2007 18:51
Quote: "@Corky
we do in england too; Pythagoras and all that jazz"


Wow, over here in America, or at least where I live, we get taught addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division for basic math. Wow I feel stupid.

bitJericho
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 18:53
LOL. I think by basic education he means middle school for us in the states. We learn it in what? 8th grade in algebra?

That would put it at... 13 or 14 years old? Maybe taught later depending on the school, usually by 9th grade at the latest.


The greatest multiplayer text adventure ever...
Osiris
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 21:42
No country compares to chinas math standard. They make everyone feel stupid.

RIP Max-Tuesday, November 2 2007
You will be dearly missed.
Bizar Guy
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 22:48
Quote: "t's one of those big fancy ones that only people with IQs over 130 and who laugh about the proceedings of a chess game are permitted to own."

what? I suck at chess.

Quote: "300 dollars down the drain, and they only ever use the trig functions. "

What? Mine cost $80, and has been mandatory since freshman year of HS. Also, I use it for everything. I can't remember when I learned what maths though. I know I did a lot with Trig junior year of HS though. I think I did some in freshman and sophomore year as well, but not much.

And the 89 has a really good interface. very easy to keep track of you equations.


Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
Keo C
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere between here and there.
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 23:20
Quote: "what? I suck at chess."

Ditto, IQ 137.


Bizar Guy
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 24th Nov 2007 23:28 Edited at: 24th Nov 2007 23:28
Ha, I win! 138

Clearly that difference of one puts us Galaxies apart. My Galaxy is toytime, yours is honeybee kingdom.

Quick! Who knows what I just said, and gets at least one of the meanings past the reference? Whoever gets it wins 5 IQ points
If you get two of the meanings behind the reference you win 20 IQ points and one full heart container.


Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
Keo C
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere between here and there.
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 00:22
Quote: "Ha, I win! 138"

Whoa, your wayyyy to smart for me.


tha_rami
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 00:32
Heh, my IQ was estimated to be 120, and I was 36th of my country (younger than 18) in chess...


A mod has been erased by your signature because it was larger than 600x120
Venge
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2006
Location: Iowa
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 00:42
I've never taken an IQ test. Maybe I should get a mouse and call him algernon.
Bizar Guy
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 00:53 Edited at: 25th Nov 2007 00:54
so no one got it? My offer still stands.

Jest a sec...
Quote: "Ha, I win! 138

Clearly that difference of one puts us Galaxies apart. My Galaxy is toytime, yours is honeybee kingdom.

Quick! Who knows what I just said, and gets at least one of the meanings past the reference? Whoever gets it wins 5 IQ points
If you get two of the meanings behind the reference you win 20 IQ points and one full heart container."



Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
aluseus GOD
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Mar 2007
Location: I\'m here. Now I\'m there. I keep moving
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 01:03
my calc can program too, and I would make a cool platform game but for three things.
1. There is no enter key (creates a new line)
2. No Spacekey (It just overwrites)
3. No arrays!

alus.portbb.com go there.
Quote: A book. I hate books. book is stupid. I know that I need codes but I dont know the codes -zenicanin14 the stupidest user in the world
bitJericho
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 01:37
Aluseus, in order to take direct control of the keys, I believe you must use ASM instead of BASIC.


The greatest multiplayer text adventure ever...
Libervurto
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2006
Location: On Toast
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 02:05 Edited at: 25th Nov 2007 02:25
Quote: "what? I suck at chess."

OK I'll change that too "obsessed with Chuck Norris"

I finished my game!
and I haven't finished anything in DB for ages!!
I like having limitations

The ":" didn't cause any problems as long as they were inside quotation marks I only dared use them outside quotation marks for resetting variables.

I'll post up the code in a second...
I've changed the key a bit


Now I just have to find a way to turn this into an MMORPG
haha

"You must be someone's friend to make comments about them." - MySpace lied.
Bizar Guy
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 02:34 Edited at: 25th Nov 2007 02:34
What? I'm not obsessed with Chuck Norris either.


Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
Keo C
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere between here and there.
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 04:23
Quote: "What? I'm not obsessed with Chuck Norris either.
"

Oh I am, so now I can have one of those.


Bizar Guy
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 04:56
I'm obsessed with Aven.


Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's
tha_rami
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 08:00
Sigh. Hypocrites.

Quote: "What? I'm not obsessed with Chuck Norris either.
Superman wears Chuck Norris PJ's"



A mod has been erased by your signature because it was larger than 600x120
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 08:09
Quote: "I've never taken an IQ test. Maybe I should get a mouse and call him algernon."

I read that book too. Was surprised anyone else here has. Good book.

Quote: "obsessed with Chuck Norris either. "

You know, the reason why outerspace exists is because it's afraid to be on the same planet as Chuck Norris.

Every year, on his birthday, Chuck Norris chooses one lucky kid to be thrown into the sun.

MacGuyver may be able to make a boat out of a rubberband, toilet paper, and bubble gum, but Chuck Norris can kill him and take it.

Some people check under their bed for the boogeyman before they go to sleep, the boogeyman checks under his bed for Chuck Norris.

Chuck Norris CAN judge a book by it's cover.

In a fight between batman and darth vader, Chuck Norris would win.

When Chuck Norris gets cold, he climbs in an oven.

Chuck Norris drives an ice cream truck covered in crushed human skulls.

On the set of Walker, Texas Ranger, Chuck Norris brought a lamb back to life. As the people gathered in aww, Chuck Norris round house kicked the lamb, instantly sending it to it's death. This was to prove that the good Chuck giveth, and the good Chuck, he taketh away.

Chuck Norris once counted to infinity - twice.

Chuck Norris CAN believe it's not butter.

Guns don't kill people, Chuck Norris kills people.

The reason why no one can find the loch ness monster is because it's hiding from Chuck Norris.

The universe is expanding to get away from Chuck Norris.

God and Chuck Norris once arm wrestled.... Chuck Norris won.

Chuck Norris does not sleep, he waits.

If tapped, a round house kick from Chuck Norris could power the country of Australia for 42 minutes.

When urinating, Chuck Norris is easily capable of welding titanium.

Chuck Norris once tested positive for steroids. When the doctors asked about this Chuck Norris simply laughed and said, "Were do you think they come from?"

Chuck Norris has 12 moons, one of those moons is Earth.

Chuck Norris makes onions cry.

Chuck Norris puts the "laughter" in "manslaughter".

As president Roosevelt said, "We have nothing to fear, but fear itself. And Chuck Norris"


Cheers,

-naota

Madness never stops..... It takes a breather every once in a while, but then it grabs it's inhaler and chases you down the street with a cane.
Aex.Uni forums

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-19 15:37:33
Your offset time is: 2024-11-19 15:37:33