Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Dark Noobs Pro (ject)

Author
Message
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 15th May 2009 18:49 Edited at: 15th May 2009 19:39
Wait, why are we reloading all the media every time we start a new game?

I find it difficult as adding new media means adding onto the unload or it's going to conflict when reloading.


[edit]


Updates:
1. 2 Explosion Sound added.
2. Explosion animation effect on player when ever it's hit.
3. REMed out the alpha on explosion (I think it looks better without)

4. I moved the loading of the medias to a different sub.
5. REMed out the gosub UnloadGame as we only really should need it while quiting the game.


Bugs:
1. The Terrain generator sometimes does not work.
2. The ControlEffects() function doesn't work when weapons changes to the green bullets. Says Array out of bounce.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 16th May 2009 06:58 Edited at: 16th May 2009 06:59
New Updates:

Added the Enemy AI into the game, Enemy fire are disable currently, will be working on it next.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Pillarofire
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2003
Location: Good Question, <looks around.>
Posted: 16th May 2009 12:25
Quote: "2. The ControlEffects() function doesn't work when weapons changes to the green bullets. Says Array out of bounce. "


Yep your absolutely right, it's the nested for:loop for the players. I copy-pasted it and didn't finish it, but it uses the same variable as the parent for:loop, and hence an array out of bounds error...
Rudolpho
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 16th May 2009 15:59
Well, here's a demo of the level background music. It may sound a bit distorted / airy at places; that's because I accidentally made all settings from my default 7.1 system instead of standard stereo... oh well, after all, it almost fits better with a somewhat iffy sound quality for this project.

There appears to be a problem with the loop sound command however, so it will not play the intro the first time through, as was intended. Hopefully I will find a solution to that soon enough though.
Well, tell me what you think; I could always make it a bit longer, but if the levels were supposed to be timed anyways, it may not be necessary.

Download here

Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 16th May 2009 16:35 Edited at: 16th May 2009 19:29
Alternative way of Looping a sound:


Same thing if it's Music.

WOW awsome music! I'll convert it to mp3 to use up less space >_^

[edit]


Updated:
1. Enemy AI was adjusted.
2. Made black outline on bullet so it's easier to see.
3. Enemy can Shoot now.
4. Music was converted to mp3

Working on:
1. Enemy Boss

Need Work on:
1. Powerups
2. Different shots
3. Bomb maybe

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 16th May 2009 21:53
Updates:
1. Found the Bug when shooting the green plasma, currently have it Remmed.
2. Added the Boss. See if you can kill it!


Bugs:
1. Still have the one with the Terrain generator. It happens every now and then.


Working on:
1. Power Ups
2. Different shots

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Kira Vakaan
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2008
Location: MI, United States
Posted: 16th May 2009 23:04
Hey guys, sorry it's been a while. This project looks great!

Ashingda, what is the bug with the terrain generator? I didn't notice anything wrong. If you could give some info as to when this bug occurs, I'll take a crack at it.
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 17th May 2009 04:21 Edited at: 17th May 2009 04:23
@Kira
The bug occurs randomly, I believe it has something to do with the terrain arraying using a random index thay may go out of bounce depending on the random variable used.

The bug only happens when you click on "New Game". If you want to see it then run or rerun the program a few times and you'll eventualy hit it.

[edit]
Note: The collision was a bit off on the last update causes from working on the boss Plane, but it's now adjusted to normal now.
Kira Vakaan
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2008
Location: MI, United States
Posted: 17th May 2009 05:43
@Ashingda
Ah yes, right you are. I believe I've fixed it. The bug occurred when selecting the second terrain tile in the first row. You see, when determining possible tiles for the first tile, since no other tiles had been laid, I stupidly put all of the terrain tiles in PossibleTiles. This includes two blank tiles, 12 and 18, that have no adjacency data, so when it came time to pick the second tile, the program was randomizing an index out of an array with a size of zero. So, now when laying the first tile, I've changed the terrain mask to exclude tiles 12 and 18. This should take care of the problem.

I've attached the fixed source code.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 17th May 2009 05:56
@Kira
Awsome! Testing the game consecutively wont crash like it use to no more YAY. I'll have the power ups ready by tomorrow.
Rudolpho
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 17th May 2009 13:51
The reason for the wave sound was the loop points; if you do it like that it will result in a short period of silence. You may think that it isn't noticeable since it is only about 0.02 seconds, but it unfortunately is. (Well, it depends I suppose; it probably is hardly noticeable at all, but the loop wouldn't be properly flowing so to speak). Also, the wave file did not have the loop positions directly in the beginning and end, so converting it to an mp3 and then just looping that (start to end) wouldn't work to well. I can split it up into two files if you want though.

But also, does the sound / music playing command work for you guys? It doesn't seem to return properly for me at least (perhaps I need to download the latest update though).

Anyhow, I've added a global volume setting for music and gfx; I'll try to make a bar for it in the options menu and then upload the code.

Oh, and
Quote: "WOW awsome music!"

Thanks

Rudolpho
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 17th May 2009 14:45
Ok, here goes then.

I noticed that the bullet collision with enemy planes is way off at close range though.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 17th May 2009 16:30 Edited at: 17th May 2009 16:49
About collision:
Quote: "Note: The collision was a bit off on the last update causes from working on the boss Plane, but it's now adjusted to normal now. "



The sounds are much better now.

Attached is the added fixed collision check.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Rudolpho
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 17th May 2009 16:58
Yeah, I read that, but thought you had edited the uploaded files. My bad then

Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 17th May 2009 20:22 Edited at: 17th May 2009 20:27
@Rudolpho
Sorry it was actually more my fault for not updating right away.



Updates:
1. Added PowerUps
2. 10 different shot methods.
3. Moved a few files around.


*Attached*

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 17th May 2009 21:51
Update:
1. Fixed various bugs on the Boss.
2. Fixed the "New Game" reset variables.


-Attached .dba-

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Rudolpho
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 17th May 2009 22:32
Cool. The powerups seems quite hardcoded though; isn't there supposed to be things like shields besides weapons?
And that was some hilariously impossible boss

Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 17th May 2009 22:41 Edited at: 17th May 2009 22:52
Well feel free to dig in and add/modify anything you want.

So far we've only been able to add weapons, other things that could be there are:

1. Shields, like you mentioned
2. Extra Life
3. Health Recovery
4. Speed Boost, maybe
5. Bombs

Should be more, I'm out of ideas.


Quote: "And that was some hilariously impossible boss"

LOL I was able to beat the boss, and with 2 life left. Then again, I playtest this like crazy so I've had more practice.
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 26th May 2009 07:53 Edited at: 26th May 2009 07:54
I'm working up the bomb weapon, I only got the image done so far.

-Image Attached-

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th Jun 2009 06:44
Where'd everyone go? Anyways I'll finnish up the bomb shortly.
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th Jun 2009 21:39 Edited at: 7th Jun 2009 21:39
Update:
Bombs are added and working now.


Needs working on:
- PowerUp images
- Credit list
- Adjust the Bomb a bit
- Playtest

This is all that's left and it's DONE.


Attached is the .dba

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Kira Vakaan
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2008
Location: MI, United States
Posted: 7th Jun 2009 22:49
Alrighty. Way to go. Sorry, it seems like no one else is quite pulling the weight you're pulling right now. For the credit list, what were people thinking? Maybe a main menu option leading to scrolling credits? I'll take a whack at it.
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 8th Jun 2009 08:45
Wow Kira, it's been a while last I saw anyone T_T WB.
Rudolpho
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 8th Jun 2009 12:57
Yeah, I've been and still am quite busy... I'll see if I can mayhap get some time tonight or tomorrow, but I can't promise anything.

Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 8th Jun 2009 18:51 Edited at: 8th Jun 2009 18:51
Heya Rudolpho ^_^

Updates:
PowerUp images
Added Health, Bomb, Life PowerUps
Adjust the Bomb


Things to do:
- Credit list
- Playtest/BugCheck


*Attached is the Project Folder with added media.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Rudolpho
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 9th Jun 2009 13:13
There, I fixed up some more proper looping of the bgm.
There seems to sometimes be issues with the music stopping after restarting the game; maybe someone could look into that?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 9th Jun 2009 17:50 Edited at: 9th Jun 2009 17:50
Ok it's playing and looping properly now. So we can delete the old music now right?



Attached is the .dba

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Rudolpho
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 9th Jun 2009 18:57
No, it requires both files.
First a single run through the original one (now renamed "Level_Intro.mp3") and thereafter looping of "Level_Loop.mp3".

Perhaps there should also be some music for the title screen and/or credits?

Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 9th Jun 2009 19:38
yeah I meant we can delete the one called Level.mp3 as it's not being used now.
Kira Vakaan
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2008
Location: MI, United States
Posted: 9th Jun 2009 20:55
Hey, I've come up with a start on the credits. What do you think?
Any suggestions are helpful.

I've added an item to the main menu that will bring up the credits. The credits are read out of the file Credits.dat which should be placed in the Media/Data folder.

I've just filled the file with sample entries; no actual names yet. I think we should compile a list of the people who've contributed to the project and what they've done.

Attached is the updated .dba and Credits.dat.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 10th Jun 2009 03:25 Edited at: 16th Jun 2009 17:25
WOW I like it!

Looks very nice, easy to exit with a simple click and is simple to edit.


[Edit]


Well, this project seems to be complete I think, unless lucifer comes in and start pointing out things we missed or still needs to do.

If there's no response about the matter within one week(7 days) then this project will be considered officially done.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Kira Vakaan
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2008
Location: MI, United States
Posted: 10th Jun 2009 03:59
Glad you like it.

Hm, it seems lucifer has disappeared off the face of the earth... I don't suppose anyone's heard anything for a long time?
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 10th Jun 2009 04:16 Edited at: 10th Jun 2009 04:20
Ok here's what I got for the credits so far. It's the first draft so it's far from perfect. If you see that I missed anything or made mistakes feel free to add/modify.

[edit]


One last thing that we missed. We have nothing written for when the boss is beaten. What do you guys think we should have?


*Attached is the credits.dat file

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Kira Vakaan
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2008
Location: MI, United States
Posted: 10th Jun 2009 04:39
Hm, a few things. I didn't do the terrain tileset, I believe that was Pillarofire. Another thing, lucifer did the main menu background, but he didn't do the menus. I coded them (main and in-game). I think lucifer helped with the in-game GUI though. That's all I can think of at the moment.

Quote: "We have nothing written for when the boss is beaten"

Ooh.. that might be something we don't want to leave out...
Maybe something similar to what's displayed when you lose, but more exciting...
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 10th Jun 2009 09:05
This is the current project folder updated with everything.



*Attached is the zip

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 16th Jun 2009 17:03
Update:
We now have a proper game win handler although very simple.


The deadline is up and on behalf of Lucifer I'll announce that this project is officially finished. Attached is the finished product, I'll also be putting it up on the program announcements in hopes to recruit more noobs.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Pillarofire
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2003
Location: Good Question, <looks around.>
Posted: 17th Jun 2009 02:24
Wow I really suck at this game. 830 points on my last try.

Anyway good work from everyone. The power-ups look nice. Credit Screen is perfect.

It could perhaps use some more features, and a little polish but for a first project; Not half bad I'd say. And I'm sure people are ready to move on yes?

So then what is the plan for round 2? Something simple, yet interesting I hope.
lucifer 1101
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posted: 17th Jun 2009 03:22
hello im back, sorry i havent been here ive been in big touble, im still syuck in the mud and need to relearn most of what i learnt, so i cannot manage the other project, and i will help out when i can..

Thankyou for finishing the project im trying it out now...

Come and have a look at my hobby site once your ready..
http://darkdstudio.webs.com/
Note: its still really bare..
Ed222
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2007
Location: Calgary
Posted: 19th Jun 2009 06:23 Edited at: 19th Jun 2009 06:24
I got 1410. It's a good game but the in game menus are still a bit buggy. Sometimes it requires more than one click for it to respond.

Pillarofire
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2003
Location: Good Question, <looks around.>
Posted: 19th Jun 2009 09:12
You are right Ed222, But I can't really promise you that will get fixed. The team seems to have shelved this project in favor of a new one. But feel free to play with the source and see if you can fix it.

All of it is provided free for everyone's use.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-28 08:26:23
Your offset time is: 2024-09-28 08:26:23