Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Work In Progress / [X9] The Final Strike

Author
Message
AbdulAhad
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2010
Location: Karachi, Pakistan
Posted: 26th Feb 2011 08:14
Looks great mate!

Are you using the illumination shader? Because the lights are the only things which seem kind of place because they seem to be giving off light but aren't being illuminated themselves.

Abdul Ahad

JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 26th Feb 2011 08:21 Edited at: 26th Feb 2011 09:41
Thanks Adbul man

Umm no not all lights are using shaders yet, will get around to that

Thanks for reminding me


EDIT:
New screens!

Please comment!








C&C wanted, how can I improve?

Regards,
Jared

AbdulAhad
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2010
Location: Karachi, Pakistan
Posted: 26th Feb 2011 10:30
Astounding screens mate!

Can I contact you on msn?

Abdul Ahad

JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 26th Feb 2011 12:16
Thanks Adbul

No sorry I don't have msn - Do you have xfire?

If not, contact me via email

Regards,
Jared.

AbdulAhad
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2010
Location: Karachi, Pakistan
Posted: 27th Feb 2011 09:06
Alright I'll contact you via email

By the way the names Abdul

Abdul Ahad

JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 27th Feb 2011 10:50
Ah sorry mate

Cool, I may download MSN if it is important

JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 1st Mar 2011 09:35
Gameplay video of the first half of level 1!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ykXwR_2s8g

C&C!! please

Bugsy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 1st Mar 2011 20:56
good work, but far too dark.

imageflock.com/img/1272671763.jpg[/img]
skype = isaacpreston. I want to talk to YOU
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 3rd Mar 2011 10:43
Thanks bugs,
Ill brighten it up

JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 9th Mar 2011 06:41
*Bump*

Sorry, havent had much time to update this lately, here is another screen



C&C wanted..

Regards,
Jared

CapnBuzz
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 9th Mar 2011 10:56
JaredxD,

Nice work. The action in the first few levels looks very frenetic. Very cool.

What made you switch mods from SCENE COMMANDER (maybe I should search that mod?) for WASP?
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 9th Mar 2011 11:04
Scene Commander Mod is pretty much combined with Wasp Mod, Both by the same user(SceneCommander), but Wasp Mod is still being worked on, and has alot more features .

Thanks for the compliments mate

AJ Schaeffer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Aug 2009
Location: Jacksonville,FL
Posted: 9th Mar 2011 21:13 Edited at: 9th Mar 2011 21:14
Looks good, but I would fix this:


Making someone's day a little better because of one of my models means a lot to me.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 10th Mar 2011 07:03
Wow, youve got good eye sight

Thanks for pointing that out, I'll fix it up

Northern
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2010
Location: Brazil
Posted: 15th Mar 2011 16:23
Quote: "Anyone else downloaded the demo?"


Hello JaredxD,

I have downloaded your demo level, however unfortunately I could not test it because after a very long time to unpack the files, the loading screen appears , but a bit before completing the loading the computer goes into an infinite loop and nothing else happens just still showing the blue loading screen and playing the loop music.

That happens only on my desktop PC running on Windows Vista and video board NVidia 9600 GT with DirectX 10 installed.

I do not know if this is happening to other people with their PCs running on Windows Vista.

However, on my notebook running on Windows 7 the unpack time is lower and the loading time as well.

In my opinion based only on the screenshot and videos I think you're doing a great job and I can imagine how much effort and work you put on to make all that five levels of his video game.

Like anything else, of course your work can be improved, look that , the FPSC is being improved until nowdays and there are still much to do.

In my opinion you should keep going forward, good job and good luck!

All the best
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 15th Mar 2011 22:14
Thanks mate

Are you running it as administrator?

If not, try that, I dunno why it wont load on that system.


Thanks for the compliments again

Heywood4lyfe
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Mar 2009
Location: Crewe, Cheshire
Posted: 16th Mar 2011 09:00
IF I may maybe you could do something with the ally scripts in this game maybe nearer the end. For example you could rescue a Hostage and Give him a gun for the escape or even meet another Spy somewhere. But overall it does look great nice work.

James.

The Fight is over however the war wages on!
Northern
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2010
Location: Brazil
Posted: 16th Mar 2011 14:58
Hi Jared,

Yes, I am running it as administrator. I also have tried the compatibility mode with Windows XP SP2, but unfortunately nothing changes.

It would be interesting to know whether other people on this forum has been had this problem with your demo or it is just an isolated case caused by an error with Windows Vista configuration on my PC. The Windows operating system sometimes behaves weird.

But anyway, do not worry too much about that and thank you for your attention regarding to the game level loading issue.

All the best.
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 16th Mar 2011 21:26
@ Heywood: That is a great suggestion - I will bear that in mind
Thank you.

@Northen: I can figure out what the problem would be, Im sorry that it doesn't work for you mate.
Have you let it load for, I dunno, 10 minutes? sometimes it takes a while to load on any system

Regards,
Jared

JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 17th Mar 2011 08:43
Hey guys,
Here is another screenshot



As you see, I am kinda experimenting with new colours of lighting, lemme know what ya think please

C&C appreciated.

Regards,
Jared

Northern
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2010
Location: Brazil
Posted: 17th Mar 2011 16:16
Quote: "@Northen: I can figure out what the problem would be, Im sorry that it doesn't work for you mate.
Have you let it load for, I dunno, 10 minutes? sometimes it takes a while to load on any system
"


Hi Jared,

First of all, thank you again for trying to help me with the demo issue.

Yes, I also made this check, the demo was loading for about half an hour, but again nothing has changed.

However, as nobody in this forum have reported a similar problem with them, it is likely that the problem is in my PC configuration, maybe some kind of error is occurring on Windows Vista or FPSC (118_beta9 and 10 ) or anything else, is hard to know because there are several possibilities, making it difficult know where the problem lies.


By the way, following a list with other attempts that I have done:

A- I have installed version beta 1.18.03 because I've seen in screenshots that was the version used in game scene. Unfortunately, there was no change.

B. I have changed the demo game folder location to Documents folder, and I ran the executable file from there, again no change.

C. I have installed the latest updates to Windows Vista and DirectX10, the problem continued.

D. Also, I installed the latest driver for your video card NVidia 9600 GT. The problem continued.

E. So I installed the beta 1.18.09 again, the same happened.

F. Now I have installed the FPSC beta 1.18.10, the same thing again happened.

Now it is strange that on my laptop running on Windows 7 with an simple Intel integrated video board, everything works fine. Once again this shows that the problem lies in my PC configurations running on Windows Vista and not in your demo game configurations or executable files.

Do not worry about that, I'll keep trying to find a solution if I find out I will report to you.

Regards.
Northern
Bugsy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 17th Mar 2011 21:18
nice work jared.

imageflock.com/img/1272671763.jpg[/img]
skype = isaacpreston. I want to talk to YOU
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 17th Mar 2011 22:10
@Northen: Im sorry that it is causing so many troubles. Please do not keep wasting your time to get it to work, but I am thankful that you are persistant to help out Thanks alot man

@Bugsy: Thanks

JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 3rd Apr 2011 09:42
Here is another screenshot of level 1, its like a planning area/sort of like an office.



more to come

ThoughtWire Software
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2010
Location: Inside your fridge, drinking your milk.
Posted: 3rd Apr 2011 21:21
@ JaredxD Looking very nice, HUD is nice to look at too (I like the orange around the boxes).

ThoughtWire Software -

www.thoughtwire.co.uk
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 4th Apr 2011 00:28 Edited at: 4th Apr 2011 00:40
Thanks ThoughtWire, The HUD is by RelMayer and can be found here:
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=183607&b=24


EDIT: Another screenshot



Well as of now I am off to camp for a week, Ill be back on Friday. Hope to see some C&C When I get back!

Ciao all

OutdoorGamer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2009
Location: everywhere...
Posted: 4th Apr 2011 03:00
Looks great man. I like the hud.

JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 8th Apr 2011 10:32
Only one comment in five days? I really need some suggestions please guys!

Thanks for the comment OutDoor gamer

Gencheff
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2010
Location: UK by way of USSR
Posted: 8th Apr 2011 14:50
Not really a fan of the HUD.Something more transparent would be better.
You could do without the crosshair on the DE.
The hud numbers should have different colors (and a fix on the ammo hud position is a must)

A flickering dynamic light would give the level a good feel.

Normally for a wall,I'd suggest using a cleaner texture and add crack/destroy overlays , so you'd have more control and lose the repetitiveness.


PC Specs:Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit,Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.20GHz,NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480,12GB RAM,2x Western Digital 997GB HDD
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 8th Apr 2011 15:01
Perfect post right there^^

Thanks alot for the C&C Gencheff, thats the kind of stuff I'm looking to hear

I will try and do all of those things, starting now

Thanks Gencheff mate.

Regards,
Jared

ASTECH
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jul 2007
Location:
Posted: 8th Apr 2011 22:09
You know, this game looks pretty interesting. I don't have any criticisms or anything but I would like
to like see more screenshots of this game in the future.

AMD Phenom II X6 3.2Ghz, 8GB DDR3 Extreme RAM,
ASUS M4N98TD EVO Motherboard, Nvidia 560 Ti 1GB DDR5
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 9th Apr 2011 01:48
@ASTEK: Thanks, and of course there will be more screenshots!

JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 9th Apr 2011 10:42
In fact, heres one now, just a random shot but meh:



Still a wip, I dont like how this room is crowded, but somehow still looks empty in my opinion.

Lemme know what ya think

Omegamer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2009
Location: There
Posted: 9th Apr 2011 13:06
Cool game, I´m also young but yeah looks cool, maybe rock out a demo anytime?

Youtube Name: omegamer666
Current project: Junkys Home, a X9 project where you wakeup in a dark apertment and your goal is to get out of there.
But you´re not alone...
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 9th Apr 2011 15:00
Yeah probs expect a 2 chapter(4 levels technically)in about 2 months

How young is young? Email me, always interested to get to know other youngens around here

Bugsy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 9th Apr 2011 18:49
Quote: "Still a wip, I dont like how this room is crowded, but somehow still looks empty in my opinion."


simple, it's because the way the map is detailed, and the way there's 2 different walltextures, and the way there's a lightsource on the ground, the player's eyesight is drawn directly to the empty floor

imageflock.com/img/1272671763.jpg[/img]
skype = isaacpreston. I want to talk to YOU
RelMayer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Apr 2008
Location: France
Posted: 9th Apr 2011 19:45
Marvellous ! (Guess why.)
Just kidding, it's very cool scenes you showing here !



Keep it up !




(It seems your ammo numerics are misplaced)

PekelaarSFX
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Apr 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 10th Apr 2011 01:52
Hey Jared, Just to let you know, I've fixed my PC problems.
Need more Voice Acting, I'm your man

SCreens looks amazing and love the action video

PekelaarSFX - Storywriter & Audio Designer.
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 10th Apr 2011 02:22
@Bugsy: You are 100% right, I will see what I can do there

@RelMayer: Thanks
Yes the numeric seems to be locked where it is, when I try and change it in the Build set up it just goes back >.>

@Pekelaar: Awesome to hear buddy! I'll send you an email with a couple lines now if that's alright? Thanks alot mate

Payam
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 13th Apr 2011 21:25
It's good you're making game at this age but there are some problems with your game I tell you:

1.Never use mp9 and mp10 gun huds because they have some white places around it.As you are using RelMayer's hud just open the gun huds and recolor them to a style of RelMayer's hud.
You can use RelMayer's weapon hud as live hud and then put the new recolored hud on it.(It's kind of a cheat I used before).
2.Don't make every room in one layer,you can raise the ceiling sometimes.
3.Sometimes let the player to choose a way from 2 or 3.
For example you can make 2 holes on the ground to different ways,if the player goes to one of them he can't come back but he don't know about it,so if he goes to the wrong way a strong enemy will kill him.
4.Try not using models with different quality.
5.Use walls with different meshes.
In the screen in page 3 which shows the outdoor scene you can see the ceiling is like a plate and it's not normal.
6.Never set the ambiance between 0-5 because it's so dark and you'll see the weapon like a black thing.
7.Make 3D background for your city level.
In the demo version of level 5 you can see some buildings near you.
You can use cosmic skyscrapers in a far way.

Have our guns was a mistake!!!

I am PaYaM
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 14th Apr 2011 02:45 Edited at: 14th Apr 2011 07:19
Thanks have our guns, here are some answere to your problems :

1: Ok, thanks. I will do that
2: Not every room is in the same layer, only in part 1 of level 1 its on the same layer (video below)
3: In a few spots there are two choices of ways to go. But thanks for the suggestion, and I'll be sure to put in a hole in the ground so the player gets trapped.
4: What models do you suggest I remove? I try to use models with good quality at all times.
5: I dont really have many segments with different meshes that would suit a warehouse, I'll check my segment bank and have another look.
6: The ambience is at 7, in the city it is at 19.
7: I reached the memory cap when I was working on level 5, when I get back to it I'll add more to the background as I downloaded the 4gb patch.

Thanks again

P.S.
Incase anyone above has missed the video of level 1, here it is

Payam
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 14th Apr 2011 17:52
Quote: "The ambience is at 7, in the city it is at 19."

Anyway I think it should be upper because I couldn't see the color of the weapon in most of the shots.
Quote: "I reached the memory cap when I was working on level 5, when I get back to it I'll add more to the background as I downloaded the 4gb patch."

For buildings or other entities you can decrease the size of the texture,for example when you use a skyscraper from CP as background you can decrease it's texture size to 1024*1024 or even 512*512 to store more LM memory.

I'll post some more screenshots in my WIP topic(GreeD) and in new ones you can see the new huds which my friend made them,just wait a day to see the screens.

Have our guns was a mistake!!!

I am PaYaM
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 29th Apr 2011 11:58
Ok, back from Tasmania, and have a small update

Well, part 2 of the level 1 video is almost done, should be up in a week or so

Here is another screenshot, I like this one, though I have fixed the table which is stuck in the ground



I hope to have another screeny or 2 up by tomorrow

Best,

Jared

2 Rogues
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 29th Apr 2011 17:11
You can deactivate the mem cap to make your levels more unlimited. I love the lighting color choice!

Now, you may want to raise the table a wee bit as it is intersecting with the floor, also, consider using mid or top segments for the upper section of your room.
Gencheff
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2010
Location: UK by way of USSR
Posted: 29th Apr 2011 20:30
Use dynamic lights to make the weapon visible (more visible that is).

A few lights lack light sources or have misplaced positions (mainly on the Y axis).

The table position/angle needs to be fixed.

The 2nd level wall texture does not fit in well with the lower.

If the game has iron sights,remove the crosshair.

Hope this helps


PC Specs:Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit,Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.20GHz,NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480,12GB RAM,2x Western Digital 997GB HDD
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 30th Apr 2011 04:28 Edited at: 30th Apr 2011 04:29
@2Rogues: thanks, I did mention that the table had been fixed

@gencheff: I dont see any lights that lack sources, where have you spotted them?
As I said the table has been fixed

Yes I must find a good texture to fit in with the bottom one more, thanks again for pointing that out

I have removed crosshairs on all weapons, exept the AK, which I didn't even notice, so I'll remove it now, thank you

Bugsy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2008
Location: another place in time
Posted: 30th Apr 2011 05:33
there is a light on the first floor left wall that has no source, if it's supposed to be coming from the top light, move it closer

imageflock.com/img/1303928322.png[/img]
skype = isaacpreston. I want to talk to YOU
JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 10th Jun 2011 11:39
Sorry really late reply but thanks for pointing that out Bugsy will fix it tonight

JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 18th Jul 2011 11:32
Big news!
Part 2 of level 1 is now on youtube!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9EDlH5hSGM


Please comment on what I can improve, and enjoy!

JaredxD
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 19th Jul 2011 04:01
No comments?
Nevermind then.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-12-02 16:19:10
Your offset time is: 2021-12-02 16:19:10