Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Beginner Questions

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi. Before I begin with my questions, I would like to mention that I am a total novice at building or creating a video game. I do have some experience with programming, mainly Java 2 and php. One thing I learned with writing any program was that organization is the number one priority.

In April, some friends and I came up with an idea for what we believe would be a really good video game. I thought since I could program already this would be a snap to do, just a little time consuming. I realized how wrong I was rather quickly. Although coding is an important part, that knowledge didn't prepare me at all for the 3D world. I really need to get organized here and need a little help.

This is what we have done so far:

1. Game Concept - We came up with an idea of what we want our video game to do, the theme, characters, levels, etc.

2. Model Creation - After much frustration with which programs to use and learning how to use them, we have finally created our two main characters and objects for inside the game such as weapons and vehicles. Although we are no where near finished with every item and character, we are coming along with it very well.

3. Level Creation - The first level has been completed.

We have divided the work between us. One is writing the music for the game. One is doing the level creations. I am doing model creations (I was an idiot to give myself that task). We have all worked on the story line.

So far the programs we are using are: Cartography Shop, Blender, and True Space. I am about to go purchase Dark Basic Pro.