Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Multisync v1.0 - Multiplayer plugin

Author
Message
3D Coding
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jan 2007
Location: My 3D Spaceship
Posted: 6th Feb 2007 00:31
Benjamin: You're the best, thanks very much!

MEGA EMPIRES III(c)Soltronics 2007 ---- A DarkBASIC Professional 3D Interstellar Conquest Project
http://me3.artofwarcentral.com/index.html <---- Come check out our BETA modules opening very soon
3D Coding
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jan 2007
Location: My 3D Spaceship
Posted: 6th Feb 2007 01:26
Benjamin: I have put a credit to you on my game website. Thanks again.

MEGA EMPIRES III(c)Soltronics 2007 ---- A DarkBASIC Professional 3D Interstellar Conquest Project
http://me3.artofwarcentral.com/index.html <---- Come check out our BETA modules opening very soon
Xenocythe
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2005
Location: You Essay.
Posted: 6th Feb 2007 01:38
OMFG YES AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH







TOu DON":T KNOW HOW MUCH I NeD eiHTSHUISTHITS!!!!!!!!


Ehm...



Awesome! I can't believe its out already! Thanks so much! YOu don't know how much I needed this! You completely rock!

-Mansoor S.

(Formerly Xenocythe)
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 6th Feb 2007 01:39
Quote: "Benjamin: I have put a credit to you on my game website. Thanks again."

I appreciate that, and you're welcome.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP)
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 6th Feb 2007 09:02
Xeno,

your sounding like newcomer in that upper part

I had run this server with 990 connections(my computer didnt want to run more client.exe's)and it still sended a message instantly!very good speed..

-Prince Of Darkness
MadrMan
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Dec 2005
Location: 0x5AB63C
Posted: 6th Feb 2007 16:19
Yeeeeaaaawww!!!!

Its a new multisync!!

*celebrates*

gj benjamin


Math89
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posted: 6th Feb 2007 21:39
Great dll Ben, as usual .
And the zombie game is the best dbpro multiplayer game I've played.
Mr Bigger
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Jan 2005
Location: was here!
Posted: 10th Feb 2007 10:30 Edited at: 10th Feb 2007 10:31
Good job.It works great.

Thanks.

AMD 2600+/1GB DDR ram/GeForce 6600oc 256MB/W2KPro/DBPro 6.2
MadrMan
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Dec 2005
Location: 0x5AB63C
Posted: 13th Feb 2007 19:43
i converted my mmorpg from v0.1 (50% packet loss, and ubar lag) to v1.0 (NO packet loss, 20 ms ping) and its GREAT!!!! *celebrates again*


Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 13th Feb 2007 20:24 Edited at: 13th Feb 2007 20:26
Again thank you for the comments guys, and I'm glad you like it.

Quote: "I had run this server with 990 connections(my computer didnt want to run more client.exe's)and it still sended a message instantly!very good speed.."

You opened up 990 instances of client.exe?

Quote: "Great dll Ben, as usual"

Bien sûr, comme d'habitude.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP)
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 13th Feb 2007 20:49
Quote: "You opened up 990 instances of client.exe?"


Yeah...took me 4 seconds



was quite cool,i just had the problem turning them off all...

-Prince Of Darkness
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 14th Feb 2007 18:32
!!! Update 1.1 - 14th January, 2007 !!!
The plugin is now compatible with DarkBASIC Classic Enhanced, and three new commands have been added. Other minor changes have been made. See the change log in first post for more details.

You can download it here.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP)
Carolina South
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Sep 2004
Location: South Carolina
Posted: 15th Feb 2007 01:55
I just tried the original test example from the 1st page.

Works great. Nice work!

"Diplomacy is the art of saying 'Nice doggie' until you can find a rock." - Will Rogers

"The secret to creativity is knowing how to hide your sources." - Albert Einstein
Peter H
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2004
Location: Witness Protection Program
Posted: 18th Feb 2007 17:16 Edited at: 18th Feb 2007 17:18
lol... i was checking out both of your multiplayer plugins to see which one would fit the game i am thinking about making best, and i was extremely worried because the demos on both only managed to push 60 fps... worried to the point where i was considering non-dbpro options for my game (because if two cubes moving on a matrix push 60 fps, no way are you going to get a full action-multiplayer game going at a decent frame rate heh)...
then i realized you had sync rate 60

i usually set it to 0 so i wasn't expecting it haha, i got 330 + fps with your UDP plugin once i set it to 0 (which is the one i think i am going to use). So yes i am very happy/relieved now.

Thank you for releasing these plugins free that i'm sure you put lots of work into!

One man, one lawnmower, plenty of angry groundhogs.
Xenocythe
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2005
Location: You Essay.
Posted: 18th Feb 2007 22:47
Peter, always set it to 0. This enables maximum performance on every computer. Some will be 50 fps, some will be 400 fps. But them your wodnering, the charcter could move a lot faster than you want it too. Thats why youhave to used timer based movements. That way, the game at 300 fps can run smooth and fast, but then the chaacrter moves at the same rate you want it too.


Same for your game if its running at 10 fps. It may be a bit laggy, but you'll certainly have everything moving at the right speed.

-Mansoor S.

(Formerly Xenocythe)
Peter H
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2004
Location: Witness Protection Program
Posted: 18th Feb 2007 23:19
yeah... thank you but i already know all that (have been doing that for the past several games of mine)

it's just that i didn't notice at first that he had set sync rate 60 in his code, so i was worried about the low frame rate (i understand why he didn't, it would just add to the complication for an example only trying to demonstrate the networking)

One man, one lawnmower, plenty of angry groundhogs.
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 18th Feb 2007 23:33
Correct Peter H, that is exactly the reason I didn't do it.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP)
Xenocythe
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2005
Location: You Essay.
Posted: 19th Feb 2007 17:43
Theres on thing I dont understand... if you cap the sync rate to 60. Say the computer, if set to maximum performance, was 20 fps. If you then changed the sync rate to 60, would it bring it up to 60 or no?

-Mansoor S.

(Formerly Xenocythe)
Peter H
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2004
Location: Witness Protection Program
Posted: 19th Feb 2007 17:48 Edited at: 19th Feb 2007 17:48
Quote: "Theres on thing I dont understand... if you cap the sync rate to 60. Say the computer, if set to maximum performance, was 20 fps. If you then changed the sync rate to 60, would it bring it up to 60 or no?"

all sync rate can do is bring down the frame rate.

so if the fastest your computer can run a game at is 30 fps. (with no limit, I.E. sync rate 0)
you set the sync rate to 20, your game will run at 20.
you set the sync rate to 60, your game will run at 30.

One man, one lawnmower, plenty of angry groundhogs.
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 20th Feb 2007 10:55
Benjamin,

I just re-installed my PC and found out NOTHING of my new codes work anymore with multiSync...

Here is my server:


And my client,wich wont lay the connection for some reason.


It doesnt seem to work anymore,and my compiled .exe's dont work on any computer.is it my code or is my Plugin bugged?

-Prince Of Darkness
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 20th Feb 2007 12:54
Well how do you know that hosting is even working when you aren't checking?

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP)
Silvester
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 20th Feb 2007 13:10 Edited at: 20th Feb 2007 13:25
If i dont set the server up,the client tells me there is no server.if i do set the server up,it doesnt tell me so.

So i guess its connected,but illl try to let it check if it even sets it up OK.

EDIT:weird,No errors with net get error,but net connected() tells me its 0...All my Firewall's and whatever are down...So something else block's the server...

-Prince Of Darkness
SageTech
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posted: 11th Mar 2007 22:19
Hey Ben,

I'm getting back into programming my online third person shooter, which was previously programmed in tempest. Would you recommend migrating over to multi sync?

Kenjar, yet another victim of NRS (N00b Relapse Syndrome) May he code in peace...

Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 12th Mar 2007 06:03
Quote: "Would you recommend migrating over to multi sync?"

Nope, Tempest is more capable for fast paced games.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 11th Apr 2007 22:08 Edited at: 3rd May 2007 23:42
!!! Update 1.2 - 11th April, 2007 !!!

Commands have been added to deal with Windows Firewall. Note that you can only add applications to the allow list when running from an administrator account.

Download it from here.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Aaron Miller
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2006
Playing: osu!
Posted: 19th Apr 2007 06:54
Sweet! I hate the windows firewall. Do you perhaps have commands for dealing with the norton firewall?

Cheers,

-db


Albert Einstein believed that imagination is more important than knowledge.
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 19th Apr 2007 13:58
Quote: "Do you perhaps have commands for dealing with the norton firewall?"

I wish. The only reason I have commands for dealing with Windows Firewall is because there is a standard API for it.

Unfortunately at the moment the latest release isn't working due to end-users needing a particular non-standard library, which I'm trying to sort out at the moment.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)
Airslide
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2004
Location: California
Posted: 19th Apr 2007 17:22
Hey, I just tried this out. Both the zombie example and my game (which used to use DBP multiplayer commands) crash when they start. It might be my DBP version, so I'll update, since it isn't the latest at the moment.

Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 19th Apr 2007 17:27
For now use version 1.1, as there are problems with the latest version that I didn't know about due to having libraries that others don't have. I'll try to get it fixed as soon as possible.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)
Airslide
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2004
Location: California
Posted: 20th Apr 2007 00:45 Edited at: 20th Apr 2007 02:22
Thanks, I'll try that one out in a sec. Hopefully it will work

EDIT: It worked! Awsome DLL, BTW. I love the 'put' system

EDIT 2: I just got a basic server program and a basic client program, both set up to send diffrent 'types' of messages (each message has a byte header to say what to do with it) (ex: player data, talk strings). It was very easy to get started and works FAR faster than DBP's system. I'm glad I found this

Gnomes Games
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location: FRANCE
Posted: 23rd Apr 2007 11:29
Thanks a lot Benjamin !

AMD Athlon 64 3400+/1 Go DDR/Ati X600 512 Mo/260 Go HD/Windows XP SP2/DirectX 9.0c (October 2006)/Dark Basic Pro 6.0 RC10
Sorry for my so bad english...
winsrev
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Apr 2007
Location:
Posted: 25th Apr 2007 19:52
hmmm... im still slightly confused, so, how do i incorperate this into my game?
Gnomes Games
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location: FRANCE
Posted: 29th Apr 2007 15:51 Edited at: 29th Apr 2007 16:23
I have a problem with vista...
Both v0.5 and v1.2 make my game crash if I use any command of multisync...

When I remove them its run perfectly !

I use DBpro 6.1 and windows vista premium ...

Please help , maybe i need something that isn't in vista ?

AMD Athlon 64 3400+/1 Go DDR/Ati X600 512 Mo/260 Go HD/Windows XP SP2/DirectX 9.0c (October 2006)/Dark Basic Pro 6.0 RC10
Sorry for my so bad english...
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 29th Apr 2007 20:58
Quote: "hmmm... im still slightly confused, so, how do i incorperate this into my game?"

Have a look at the examples.

Quote: "There is a problem with vista...
Both v0.5 and v1.2 make my game crash if I use any command of multisync..."

Try temporarily turning off UAC and try running it again. If there is no crash, I'm pretty sure I'll know what the problem is.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)
Gnomes Games
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location: FRANCE
Posted: 29th Apr 2007 23:18 Edited at: 29th Apr 2007 23:20
Thanks for your answer Benjamin but it doesn't work

The program doesn't start and made the same error :



(sorry it is in french...)

AMD Athlon 64 3400+/1 Go DDR/Ati X600 512 Mo/260 Go HD/Windows XP SP2/DirectX 9.0c (October 2006)/Dark Basic Pro 6.0 RC10
Sorry for my so bad english...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 29th Apr 2007 23:34
Quote: "(sorry it is in french...)"

C'est bon, je le comprends.

Looks like a standard illegal operation error. I notice you say you've tried v0.5 and v1.2, but what about v1.1? Just a thought. At this point in time I have no idea what the problem could be, désolé.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)
Gnomes Games
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location: FRANCE
Posted: 29th Apr 2007 23:39
Thanks to answer so fast !
I will try the v1.1 tomorow !

Happy to see that you understand french thats great

AMD Athlon 64 3400+/1 Go DDR/Ati X600 512 Mo/260 Go HD/Windows XP SP2/DirectX 9.0c (October 2006)/Dark Basic Pro 6.0 RC10
Sorry for my so bad english...
Gnomes Games
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location: FRANCE
Posted: 30th Apr 2007 14:58
Yes !!!!
The version 1.1 works fine on Vista !!! Everything is right !

Thanks a lot Benjamin

AMD Athlon 64 3400+/1 Go DDR/Ati X600 512 Mo/260 Go HD/Windows XP SP2/DirectX 9.0c (October 2006)/Dark Basic Pro 6.0 RC10
Sorry for my so bad english...
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 30th Apr 2007 23:41
No problem.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)
xCept
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 2nd May 2007 05:33 Edited at: 2nd May 2007 06:05
I just started using Multisync and so far I really like it. One question though, do end-users (clients) also have to forward/open ports 3998-3999 to get on? I tried testing a simple application with a friend, when I start a server and he tries to connect (using my public IP) he gets a "Server Unavailable" message. When he starts a server and I try to connect I get a "timed out" response. I have 3998-3999 forwarded through my router and everything works fine when testing on my LAN. Thanks.

We don't need to bundle any additional DLL file to the compiled EXE do we?

P.S., we both have Windows Firewall disabled.
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 2nd May 2007 14:48
Quote: "One question though, do end-users (clients) also have to forward/open ports 3998-3999 to get on?"

No, only the server has to set up his router.

Quote: "We don't need to bundle any additional DLL file to the compiled EXE do we?"

Nope.

As long as the port (3999) is forwarded to the correct computer, and there are no firewalls on either side, and the client enters the correct IP address, there should be no problems.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)
xCept
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 3rd May 2007 22:02
Thanks, it must've had something to do with my home-brew router, I bypassed it and we were able to connect fine. Very nice...
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 3rd May 2007 23:43
Update...

Ok I've managed to fix the problem with version 1.2 and it's working just fine now.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)
aluseus GOD
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Mar 2007
Location: I\'m here. Now I\'m there. I keep moving
Posted: 9th May 2007 05:17
GAH! Its a rar! *sobs*

I will Learn to rule 2d. Someday...
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 9th May 2007 15:34
Yes, you may need to download WinRar for it.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)
ZtEaLmAx
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2004
Location: Sweden
Posted: 9th May 2007 17:44 Edited at: 9th May 2007 17:47
Zombies
How to compile it, not sure what files to include etc...

can some one post a compiled version?

//Thanx
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 9th May 2007 17:54 Edited at: 9th May 2007 17:59
You need Sparky's collision DLL, available from here, and you also need to copy Multisync to your plugins-user folder. Open the project files and compile. Attached are the two executables in case you are still having problems.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Schildi
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jan 2007
Location: Behind Moon-first right
Posted: 9th May 2007 22:14
Hi,
thanks a lot it'S a great tool. I'm just wondering if the dll could be used in VB or C++? Or would you say it would be better using Winsock directly from VB?

greetings Marco

Youngest Pilot of Thuringia
ZtEaLmAx
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2004
Location: Sweden
Posted: 11th May 2007 19:48
thanx m8
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 11th May 2007 20:03
Quote: "I'm just wondering if the dll could be used in VB or C++? Or would you say it would be better using Winsock directly from VB?"

I'm pretty sure it can be used from VB (it can from C++), but you need to make sure the application's window message pump processes messages for all windows, as the server part of Multisync relies on window messages for notification of events.

To find the exported names of all the functions, have a look in MultisyncCommands.dba.

As to whether it would be better to use this or Winsock directly, I would say that Multisync might be simpler as you don't have to create functions to process data for sending/receiving and such, but it depends what you want to do. VB might have some easy to use classes (if that's what you call them in VB) for this kind of thing, so maybe it's best to look at some examples of using Winsock in VB and decide for yourself what you think would be easier.

Quote: "thanx m8 "

No problem.

Tempest (DBP/DBCe)
Multisync V1 (DBP/DBCe)

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-02-27 04:42:57
Your offset time is: 2024-02-27 04:42:57