Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Acrogorpon

Author
Message
General Jackson
User Banned
Posted: 17th Apr 2010 18:31
Oh ok, I read the readme but since I dont use our internet (im in a wifi hotspot) I cant do the port forwarding thing

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 17th Apr 2010 19:12 Edited at: 18th Apr 2010 07:09
Ah I see, well did you at least get a chance to try it out? By the way folks, build 5 should be ready tomorrow (later today). I've fixed alot of issues but fell short 1 and I can't keep my eyes open much longer.
DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 18th Apr 2010 07:09
Build 5 is now ready, there is no patch available for this version because a full install is required. A large quantity of issues were resolved in this build along with a few new additions. A few more updates and I believe it could be ready to go gold.
roka
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Apr 2008
Location:
Posted: 18th Apr 2010 14:00
i have test it today and some others players was connected also and we have a fun with it , in first time the others players dont see me but after reconnect all is working fine , just a small lagg when many players come in game but the map its very nice and fun. nice update for this game , the sun effect is very good , grenade bounce work nice , so keep this game up , its a very nice demo

Roka The French Boy Rush Team (FPS) Click Here
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=157916&b=8
Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 18th Apr 2010 16:33 Edited at: 18th Apr 2010 16:34
So I went to go play this game an while searching for a game the console brought this up:




Although I did host my own game and join it so I could mess around and I will say it is pretty awesome.

Good job

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Michael P
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Mar 2006
Location: London (UK)
Posted: 18th Apr 2010 23:19
This looks good, what networking plugin did you use, if any?

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 18th Apr 2010 23:54
Hey thanks for the feedback guys.

@roka - How many people were in there when you tried joining and they couldn't see you?

@hockeykid - The master server should be online, if possible wait a min and try again to see if that resolves your issue.

@Micheal P - I am using your very own Darknet.
Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 19th Apr 2010 00:43
Quote: "The master server should be online, if possible wait a min and try again to see if that resolves your issue."


Sorry about that, my internet was on the fritz. Works now

Mr2Fa$t
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 19th Apr 2010 00:56 Edited at: 19th Apr 2010 01:58
Hey hockeykid, it's Mr2Fa$t. Thanks for the games, fun time.
roka
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Apr 2008
Location:
Posted: 19th Apr 2010 00:58
Quote: "@roka - How many people were in there when you tried joining and they couldn't see you?"


we was 3 people in game , and the 2 others players cannot see me and i cannot see these players also but this happening only one time ,after one reconnect all was normal, you have one glitch in the map ,when you go where is the refregirator you have one door with 2 black face and if you walk on it you go under the map

Roka The French Boy Rush Team (FPS) Click Here
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=157916&b=8
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 19th Apr 2010 14:23
Wow. This is AMAZING!

Could you possible put up a server today, so I could play this?
I can't host a game and play one, my comp's too slow.
but even without playing, just the menu looks great, everything is pretty polished, I bet with a few more finishing touches you could sell this.

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 19th Apr 2010 14:43
@thenerd - Thanks for the kind words

The master server is back up and I am hosting a server people can join. I was just doing a little work on the code. Build 6 should be available tomorrow, it should resolve alot more of the few issues that are left.
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 19th Apr 2010 15:20 Edited at: 19th Apr 2010 15:23
Cool, I played and it's way better than I expected!
The game is all-around awesome!
Nice work.

Anyone want to play a round?

General Jackson
User Banned
Posted: 19th Apr 2010 20:01
Yeah I WANT to.
But being able to is a different story

thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 19th Apr 2010 22:42
Hmm, It seems the master server is down anyway. Oh well.

@DL, just wondering, what plugin are you using for the multiplayer and networking stuff?

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 19th Apr 2010 23:04
@General Jackson - Were you experiencing any problems aside from being unable to forward those ports?

@thenerd - The master server should be up, the server I was hosting is not up at the moment as I'm doing some code updates. I am using DarkNet.
Mr2Fa$t
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 20th Apr 2010 01:52 Edited at: 20th Apr 2010 02:26
I'm going to be playing this game tonight if anyone wants to join in. Don't forget to bring your jet pack, Marty McFly high tops, and an arsenal of guns!

Dr Tank
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Apr 2009
Location: Southampton, UK
Posted: 20th Apr 2010 05:26 Edited at: 20th Apr 2010 05:28
Good game! Connecting to the online game was pretty painless. I think it was Mr2Fa$t who had to point out to me that you had to press ESC to join in. It's an impressive and well made game. Nice creepy christmas music. Loads of weapons, different looks for your main guy. In that respect it beats COD, where you always have to play as the same boring dude.

My connection appeared to be pretty laggy. I imagine that's down to my PC. I don't usually play multiplayer on PC.

I think it would be cool to have WASD as well as arrow keys, but now that i say that, maybe it's in the options.

I tried picking the guy with the snow camo, but still got shot way more than i shot other people. Need practice i guess.

Haven't figured out how to use the jetpack or do the special moves yet. Jetpack is a genius idea BTW.

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 20th Apr 2010 05:43 Edited at: 22nd Apr 2010 05:53
@Dr Tank - Thanks for the feedback. I will be trying to work on performance issues for build 6.

Quote: "My connection appeared to be pretty laggy. I imagine that's down to my PC. I don't usually play multiplayer on PC."


I am hoping to have the game support pretty low hardware specs. So I will be tweaking a few things here and there. What system are you running?


Quote: "I think it would be cool to have WASD as well as arrow keys, but now that i say that, maybe it's in the options."


WASD can be set in the options>controls screen.


I will be making a form of game manual to help explain a few things soon. The master server will be down for a bit as I will be working on build 6.


Thanks
DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 24th Apr 2010 17:55 Edited at: 24th Apr 2010 17:58
Hey folks just released build 6, tons of fixes. It should run alot better with more people. Be sure to download the FULL install if you are running a build prior to 5.

Xfire now supports Acrogorpon, so if you use xfire be sure to add it to your list (Read above for more info). The master server should be up and running. If you guys run into any problems let me know.
t10dimensional
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2009
Location: Code Cave, USA
Posted: 24th Apr 2010 21:05
Hey, played the game and its great. I want to play with other people so when is any1 getting on.

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th Apr 2010 04:30
Hey folks, It seems like I am still having issues with the network code. The pings soar really high at times thus causing major delay. It seems like it may work fine with 2 people but once a third joins the pings really seem to get close to 999. I will be working on this issue as its one of the few issues remaining to fix. If you would like to check the game out, it is recommended to try it with 2 people for now. I will keep you guys posted.

@Razerx theres been a few people playing lately, usually around 6-8pm eastern. I'm sure once I fix these issues there could be more regularly playing.
General Jackson
User Banned
Posted: 25th Apr 2010 05:57 Edited at: 25th Apr 2010 06:39
{edit} I tried it and its AMAZING!!!

Great job, I was wooping everyone ther

For my sisters benefit could you state how many lines of code this is?

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 1st May 2010 12:12 Edited at: 1st May 2010 12:15
Alright folks build 7 is now available, the ping issue seems to be fixed and the game is running better than ever. You can give it a shot with more than 2 people now. Be sure to let me know how it runs and if possible what systems you folks are testing it with.

I will be working on improving the games performance and fixing other minor issues in the next build.


http://www.ARHgames.com is up and running but is still undergoing some changes. So be sure to keep an eye on it.


@General Jackson - Its roughly 30k lines of code
TechLord
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Dec 2002
Location: TheGameDevStore.com
Posted: 1st May 2010 12:45 Edited at: 4th May 2010 02:07
DL187,

I've been secretly keeping my eye on this one. From the Youtube Vids, the game play looks solid, and the super jump mechanic is very cool. What language are you developing with? Keep up the awesome job!

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 1st May 2010 12:55
Thanks for the kind words TechLord. I am developing this game in Darkbasic Pro.
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 1st May 2010 15:48
anyone want to play today, i really want to see this with more than just me playing...

Syncaidius
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 1st May 2010 17:47 Edited at: 1st May 2010 17:52
I'll be checking for servers now and then in between doing other stuff for the next few hours, if I see a server I'll join.

EDIT:
Except the master server seems to be down now: "Error communicating with the master server"

thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 1st May 2010 19:18
ya, I noticed that too. hopefully it will be back up.

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 1st May 2010 21:05 Edited at: 1st May 2010 21:06
Alright folks, it should be back up. I must of lost connection at some point of time when I was away.
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 1st May 2010 23:00
It says "connection established: please wait" but then never gets past that...

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 1st May 2010 23:43
@thenerd - Did you by any chance try to reconnect? I was hosting a server a moment ago but had to restart it which would of caused your connection established message with no further progress.
General Jackson
User Banned
Posted: 2nd May 2010 00:19
I'm hosting now

Join people!

thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 2nd May 2010 00:39
Quote: "@thenerd - Did you by any chance try to reconnect? I was hosting a server a moment ago but had to restart it which would of caused your connection established message with no further progress. "

Ya, it works now.

I'm hosting a server too...

General Jackson
User Banned
Posted: 2nd May 2010 00:54
im tired of the master server being down

thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 2nd May 2010 01:01
lol, I know, I want to play it too.

thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 2nd May 2010 03:07 Edited at: 2nd May 2010 03:10
Hey, just wondering, what map editor have you been using for this?

[edit] it seems like you made one yourself, judging from he acro_md format?

Whoops, sorry for the double post.

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 2nd May 2010 16:07 Edited at: 3rd May 2010 09:47
Hey folks, I have just released Build 8. I did not get a chance to work on improving the games performance as I mainly updated the game to remove some of the bugs that were preventing uninterrupted gameplay. I have also finished an online manual that is viewable on my website. It has a great deal of information to help you get started.

The master server is usually up unless I am working on a new patch or I lose connectivity. If anyone is interested in checking the game out that has not been able to with people we can arrange a time to meet up. Just let me know. Anyways enjoy the update.
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 4th May 2010 00:41
Hm, the master server hasn't been up yesterday or today, but if anyone wants to play I'm open.

General Jackson
User Banned
Posted: 4th May 2010 00:54
Its up and im on a server now

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 4th May 2010 01:24
@thenerd - It should be up, if you are always seeing it as offline then you may be one of the few "I know of one other" people that seem to have a problem making any sort of connection. Have you ever been able to connect to the master server? If not then I am not really sure what the cause of this is. The other person that had problems had an ADSL modem with a built in router, I am not sure if that had anything to do with it but its the only thing that I can go by at the time.
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 4th May 2010 01:52
Nevermind, for some reason I can't connect with build 8 but I can with build 7...

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 8th May 2010 11:15
Build 9 should be available tomorrow. It runs much faster than the previous build 8. I will be working on the official demo in the comming days since build 9 is getting to be pretty stable. The master server will be up and down several times throughout the comming day.

@thenerd - It should be fine, if this is still causing issues you may want to check if you have it blocked by your firewall accidently.

@Everyone - Remember folks, if the master server is down, you can still connect to a host using the console "connect IP"
DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 9th May 2010 17:10
Ok folks, build 9 is available for download. This is another Full update only. This build has improved performance and fixes a series of other issues including the map hole that was in the previous builds. This will likely be one of the final beta builds as I will begin working on the official demo soon. Keep in mind this build is by no means perfect but it is very stable and playable. Let me know if you guys run into any problems.
DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th Jun 2010 13:32
Hey folks, the official demo is almost complete. I've posted up a couple of screen shots showing off some of the new look. I will try to grab some new video footage soon. The master server will be offline until the demo is completed. You can always connect Via LAN or directly with the hosts ip in the console.
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 25th Jun 2010 15:08
Oh good, I thought this thread was going to disappear. Those new screenies look amazing, I can't wait to play it! Just one question, is that all one map, or are you creating other maps besides the xmas one.

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th Jun 2010 21:10
Hey there, yes It took me a while to provide an update but I was hard at work on it . I planned to have just this Xmas map for the demo, the full game will come with about 8 Maps with the possibility of playing user created maps.
Mr2Fa$t
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 28th Jun 2010 08:46
Looking nice, man. Can't wait to try this out!

DL187
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th Jul 2010 14:00 Edited at: 25th Jul 2010 14:11
Hey folks, new video footage has been uploaded. Progress is comming along fairly good. I wish I could say an exact time of completion but as you know unexpected things can arise so it's hard to say, things however are looking good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NR0rynxau2E
TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 26th Jul 2010 12:07
Looks great!

I have always wondered... Why can you fly at some points?

TheComet

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-12-08 06:17:49
Your offset time is: 2019-12-08 06:17:49