Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Android / [STICKY] Android Player

Author
Message
Digital Awakening
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 23rd Nov 2011 18:59
Just bougt a Samsung Galaxy S2 and downloaded the agk player from the market. But when i try to broadcast it doesnt do anything.

Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 23rd Nov 2011 19:21
What version of the compiler are you using?
Digital Awakening
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 23rd Nov 2011 21:04
Paul:
Ooops! I had totally forgotten to update to the latest version of AGK. It works perfectly now. My game looks so nice on the big screen

Mobiius
Valued Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 3rd Dec 2011 16:52 Edited at: 3rd Dec 2011 16:53
Hello, I've finally gotton round to doing some android deploying and I'm having some issues with the virtual android device.

Every time I run my game, I get the error:
"The application AppGameKit Player (process com.teamdefiant.TheMobileGame) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again"

LogCat says the following:


I suspect the line of importance is:
12-03 15:23:07.406: E/AndroidRuntime(537): Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Unable to find native library: android_player
Anyone know what to do?

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 4th Dec 2011 22:36
Are you compiling your own version of the apk? If so true setting "hasCode" to true in the AndroidManifest.xml, I've made this change internally but it has yet to be realeased in the source version.
Mobiius
Valued Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 5th Dec 2011 11:46
I just had the folder layout wrong. I deleted everything and went back to the start and got it sorted!

I now have my android games working!

Now I just gotta find out why it shows up as Unknown in the device folder, whilst the (broken) version came up with the company (or app) name. Nothing major, just my pride! lol

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
BUBBACHUNK
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posted: 5th Dec 2011 18:37
I have noticed since downloading some of the games from the android market is that none of these games have the option to move the data to the sd card. the memory adds up quick and i think that moving files to the sd card is an important feature to have and I personally would like to see that implemented in a future release.

XFIRE: gamerchunk
STEAM: gamerchunk
Teamspeak 3 server: ts30.bargainvoice.com:7260
BUBBACHUNK
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posted: 6th Dec 2011 23:46
Just ordered AppGameKit! cant wait till order is approved.

XFIRE: gamerchunk
STEAM: gamerchunk
Teamspeak 3 server: ts30.bargainvoice.com:7260
nz0
AGK Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jun 2007
Location: Cheshire,UK
Posted: 7th Dec 2011 00:22
nz0
AGK Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jun 2007
Location: Cheshire,UK
Posted: 7th Dec 2011 02:01
I'm actually really pleased I have a stand alone APK with no issues. I had some with case sensitivity, but all fixed now.
I would like to double check a couple of things for repeat compiles of the final app..

I only need to recompile the libs with cygwin if:
The AppGameKit release is updated
I want to switch between android, bada, meego etc.

How do I replace the app icon / name? It always installs as apkplayer with the apk icon.

Mobiius
Valued Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 7th Dec 2011 16:27
The icons and name are in the rel folder I believe. There are 3 icons, 1 @ 72x72 and 2 @ 57x57. Then an xml file with the app name in.

My signature is NOT a moderator plaything! Stop changing it!
BUBBACHUNK
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posted: 11th Dec 2011 19:23
I can confirm that the AppGameKit Player works on the LG Optimus Q Straight Talk Phone.

XFIRE: gamerchunk
STEAM: gamerchunk
Teamspeak 3 server: ts30.bargainvoice.com:7260
paul5147
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2006
Location: Hot & Sunny
Posted: 12th Dec 2011 19:06
I can confirm that the AppGameKit Player works really well with Asus Transformer (android 3.2),no problems with any of the demos or examples so far.
bjadams
AGK Backer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th Dec 2011 09:28
and Transformer Prime should be out any day now!!!
nz0
AGK Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jun 2007
Location: Cheshire,UK
Posted: 15th Dec 2011 00:43
Tried out on XOOM and a couple of HTC phones. All looks well (apart from *cough* backgrounds on XOOM.

Seriously, a good job all said and can't wait to see a compile on iOS shortly.

I'm not too keen on this first time orientation thing: because I'm using SetOrientationAllowed(0,0,1,1), can I just include the orientation config file (or rem out something) to stop this?

Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 15th Dec 2011 15:01
When you compile in eclipse you can remove this, check out the comments in Core.cpp for removing calibration. You can also then set the manifest.xml file to "sensorLandscape" with SetOrientationAllowed(1,0,0,0) to get true landscape support with landscape keyboard and status bar.
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 17th Dec 2011 12:34
the player works on an ZTE skate Mobile phone
it uses 2.3.5 gingerbread.

Its only my apps that dont work

And i get some small grafix errors on the sample games.
paul5147
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2006
Location: Hot & Sunny
Posted: 27th Dec 2011 09:55
After following the compiling for tier1 guide to the letter i finally got my standalone .apk file on my device for testing.It runs just as expected exactly the same as broadcasting from the AppGameKit IDE and using the AGKplayer app.But thats the problem,the player on start up automatically switches to portrait mode although the graphics on screen are still in landscape mode the status bar runs vertically down the right hand side.Now my apps doing the same,the screen switches to portrait but my game still plays in landscape as it was designed to,its not a big problem,it just looks strange with the status bar being turned round.
Is there some setting that can be changed in the manifest file or else were to keep the player app in landscape when needed?
westalke
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2011
Location:
Posted: 28th Dec 2011 01:42
You can change the manifest orientation to Landscape in AndroidManifest.xml by changing :

android:screenOrientation="portrait"

to

android:screenOrientation="landscape"

But you then also need to change the orientation options in your code to something like:

SetOrientationAllowed ( 1, 0, 0, 0 )

Westa
paul5147
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2006
Location: Hot & Sunny
Posted: 28th Dec 2011 08:57
Thanks Westa works great
Steve khsn
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2011
Location:
Posted: 31st Dec 2011 19:14
umm i dnt no wat to do

lwatson
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Nov 2006
Location: Lincoln, RI USA
Posted: 4th Jan 2012 22:26
Just tried to run the AppGameKit Player on my shiny new Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 and get the dreaded AppGameKit PLAYER has stopped responding error. It never even gets past the black start up screen.

I have downloaded the latest player from the Market, as well as uninstalled that and installed the separate apk file from my order history (November 2011 release) No avail..

Does anyone have this thing running on a Galaxy Tab...

Lonnie Allen Watson
rmag.blogspot.com (blog)
SFSW
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2002
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2012 20:56
Yes, you simply need to update the operating system to a newer version of Honeycomb (3.X). The 3.X version of Android that comes with the Galaxy Tab is apparently not AppGameKit compatible for some reason. Samsung provides the update (here anyway) and you can check for it in the settings.

3d point in space
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 22nd Jan 2012 13:51 Edited at: 22nd Jan 2012 13:52
so the video tutorial does not get lost i posted it here. Of building it on the droid.

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=192501&b=46

Go through yourself at a wall.
Mnemonix
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Dec 2002
Location: Skaro
Posted: 7th Feb 2012 19:40
The AppGameKit player WAS working for me on android (2.3.7) but it randomly stopped being able to receive my app. It completes a little bit and then throws a random error (something like "I have app" or "Failed to flush" something or other. Sometimes it tries a few times but I can no longer get my game to run on my phone. Its pretty annoying because its been working since I got the phone and now my development is stalled. Any ideas ?

Join us at www.devhat.net and in #lobby at irc.devhat.net
DennisW
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2008
Location: Ohio
Posted: 7th Feb 2012 21:47
I would get something like that then I would reboot my wifi and it would start to work again

Dennis_w

Ham and Eggs Breakfast
The Chicken was involved the Pig was Committed
Mnemonix
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Dec 2002
Location: Skaro
Posted: 7th Feb 2012 23:20
That hasn't worked. I've tried everything. Batvink has suggested that I wait and see if the network issue solves itself, so with that, I am going to bed

Join us at www.devhat.net and in #lobby at irc.devhat.net
Mystic Oracle Slot Machine
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2012
Location:
Posted: 9th Mar 2012 09:27
Anyone else logging in points from the [url= https://play.google.com/store/search?q=mystic+oracle+slot+machine&c=apps=] Mystic Oracle Slot Machine. [/url]. I don't know how many points I need but I'm setting up an account so I can play online too (games.maars.net).
lwatson
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Nov 2006
Location: Lincoln, RI USA
Posted: 30th Mar 2012 16:48
Quote: " SFSW said...
Yes, you simply need to update the operating system to a newer version of Honeycomb (3.X). The 3.X version of Android that comes with the Galaxy Tab is apparently not AppGameKit compatible for some reason. Samsung provides the update (here anyway) and you can check for it in the settings.
"


Well Sorry I missed your response here to me back in Jan, but I have already updated the thing to the 3.2 from 3.1 as you suggested. The issue remains.. Its unfortunate but I feel I have wasted the money on this whole thing. Nothing I do makes it work on what is a significant market share device. Looking to get going with some other technology....

Lonnie Allen Watson
rmag.blogspot.com (blog)
lwatson
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Nov 2006
Location: Lincoln, RI USA
Posted: 6th Apr 2012 20:44
Well Just updated my phone to 2.3.5 (An ATT LG Thrill).
I installed the Player on it like I did on Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1. I run the player on my phone and go through the calibration.
On this laptop I load up a sample and broadcast it like I tried to do on the Galaxy Tab. Even on the phone the app never broadcasts. I tried turning off VMWARE adapters. I tried connecting to a different wireless network with the laptop and the phone (Where there is no firewall). I tried Making the phone the wireless AP using the tethering option. In all cases I can point my phone at the laptops Webserver and see it come up in the browser. I turned off all that stuff in the laptop (The firewall in the laptop is always off but I checked just to be sure).

I all cases the thing wont work. I have NEVER gotten anything to broadcast to any of my android devices.. Does anyone have any ideas on this?

Lonnie Allen Watson
rmag.blogspot.com (blog)
DennisW
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2008
Location: Ohio
Posted: 7th May 2012 19:39
Is there any time line on the new Android Player for V107.1

Dennis

Ham and Eggs Breakfast
The Chicken was involved the Pig was Committed
Zdaxxy
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 15th May 2012 16:02
I am using Android 2.3.7 on Motorola Triumph with MIUI-1.11.4-110911-3
Kernel 2.6.32.9-perf

I downloaded Snake Snacker & AppGameKit Player from Google Play and when I start the snake game I get this error:

app_vercode:2
device_model:triumph
build_version:1.11.4-110911-3
condition:1
processName:com.thegamecreators.snake_snacker
pid:23665
uid:10054
tag:null
shortMsg:java.lang.IllegalArgumentException
longMsg:java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Unable to find native library: android_player
stackTrace:java.lang.RuntimeException: Unable to start activity ComponentInfo{com.thegamecreators.snake_snacker/android.app.NativeActivity}: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Unable to find native library: android_player
at android.app.ActivityThread.performLaunchActivity(ActivityThread.java:1664)
at android.app.ActivityThread.handleLaunchActivity(ActivityThread.java:1680)
at android.app.ActivityThread.access$1500(ActivityThread.java:117)
at android.app.ActivityThread$H.handleMessage(ActivityThread.java:931)
at android.os.Handler.dispatchMessage(Handler.java:99)
at android.os.Looper.loop(Looper.java:130)
at android.app.ActivityThread.main(ActivityThread.java:3703)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invokeNative(Native Method)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:507)
at com.android.internal.os.ZygoteInit$MethodAndArgsCaller.run(ZygoteInit.java:841)
at com.android.internal.os.ZygoteInit.main(ZygoteInit.java:599)
at dalvik.system.NativeStart.main(Native Method)
Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Unable to find native library: android_player
at android.app.NativeActivity.onCreate(NativeActivity.java:187)
at android.app.Instrumentation.callActivityOnCreate(Instrumentation.java:1047)
at android.app.ActivityThread.performLaunchActivity(ActivityThread.java:1628)

What is this all about?
eshober
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2012
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Sep 2012 19:05
I just downloaded the AppGameKit IDE on Windows 7 and the AppGameKit player on my LG Lucid. The example games compile and run fine on the PC but when I broadcast to the player nothing seems to happen. The IDE log says "Broadcasting app..." and then, "Complete." but the player is just sitting in standby mode. Can anyone help me? Is anyone else having this problem?
eshober
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2012
Location: United States
Posted: 6th Sep 2012 19:02
The AppGameKit player problem I was having has something to do with the network setup. I was able to get it to work on a different network.
Bored of the Rings
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location: Middle Earth
Posted: 19th Dec 2012 09:23 Edited at: 19th Dec 2012 09:25
I tried to run the 3d example on the current beta version of the AppGameKit player on my Android Phone, the Game title appears then exits the player. Runs ok on PC. The android phone is a Sony XPERIA. 2d game examples run no problem.
Any one else having same problem?
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 19th Dec 2012 15:52
What version of the Android Player are you using? And what version of the AppGameKit IDE are you using?

It is necessary to use a Player version compatible with your AppGameKit IDE.

A v1085 version has been posted by MikeMax in here.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Bored of the Rings
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location: Middle Earth
Posted: 19th Dec 2012 21:21
thanks Ancient Lady, I had forgotten to upgrade to latest AppGameKit IDE version 1085.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-05-23 02:23:21
Your offset time is: 2018-05-23 02:23:21