Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / A few quick questions.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey,

I'm just starting out and would just like someone to point me in the right direction. First of all the game that I would like to create is a simulator for a sport. What I want to be able to do is enter stats for different players which my simulator will then calculate coming out with a winner. My first question is what program should I be using to create this game? My second question is does anyone have any good tutorials which I could learn of quite easily? And finally how long would it take to create a game like this for a newbie?

Thanks in advance.
BMacZero
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Dec 2007 00:15 Edited at: 3rd Dec 2007 00:18
Welcome to the forumz

1.) I don't really know what you mean by this, because I assume you already have DBP if you are posting here.
2.) Read stickies! Nobody ever does, and they have so much good information. There's one at the top of this forum that has a bunch of good tutorials in it. This game idea sounds pretty original, so there won't be a tutorial for the exact thing, but once you learn variables, arrays, and the basic stuff like that you should be able to do this.
3.) I'd say 1 hour at the most, it sounds like a good, simple project for a newcomer (not counting however long it takes you to learn the basics). Then, after you have the basis of the game, you could add graphics and other cool stuff for as long as you want

Edit: Here is a good tutorial to start with:
Tutorial: The Basics of DBPro Tutorial by Hamish McHaggis
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=25076&b=7

"Ok, so that wasn't funny. I don' have any good Christmas jokes."
Zeus