Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Small RPG snippet?

Author
Message
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 6th Sep 2004 22:20 Edited at: 6th Sep 2004 22:43
Cool. I forgot to ask what is the command for texturing the backdrop in DBPro, I could do it in classic, but it seems the command is different now. Also I'm tryin to implement a health bar into Doug's snippet with the action battle system, how do I go about it, I'm fiddling around with what RPGamer told me but I'm not getting anywhere.

Got anime?I do.
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 7th Sep 2004 07:06
so aura hows the rpg battle engine going


www.dragonseige.gpox.com
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 7th Sep 2004 07:12
I think he stopped working on it...

Got anime?I do.
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 7th Sep 2004 07:15
Oh Doug, is that the final code? Cuz if it is I'm not mad cuz it's awesome, but some questions, where would I put an XP system out of or in the main loop, should it be a function, because what I would guess and once more how would I go about implementing a health bar into the code?

Got anime?I do.
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 7th Sep 2004 08:04
owell, hey Hiruma i got more screens up on the web (sometimes turbosquid is youre best friend)


www.dragonseige.gpox.com
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 7th Sep 2004 10:14
Who's hiruma? Do you mean me because of my sig?

Got anime?I do.
Kohaku
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd May 2004
Location: The not very United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Sep 2004 10:19
Actually, Doug pretty much did what I was going to do next. So you could link the two codes together I guess.

Infra-Dark
Bring the 20 liners back!
#coding, like coding, but with a #
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 7th Sep 2004 10:20
yes i do


www.dragonseige.gpox.com
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 7th Sep 2004 10:25
The're very good models you found Gothboy, Aura, how would I go about insertinc a red healthbar, it just confuses me.
Sometimes I feel really stupid.

Got anime?I do.
Kohaku
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd May 2004
Location: The not very United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Sep 2004 11:07
Indi made a snippet on that subject not long ago.

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=37583&b=6

Infra-Dark
Bring the 20 liners back!
#coding, like coding, but with a #
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 7th Sep 2004 20:29
How is this a health bar? According to Indi it's a loading bar, I know it's possible to make it into a healthbar, but how would I go about such a thing? And how would I get it into my game?

Got anime?I do.
OldTifu
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 02:42
Here's a very simple one... :p
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 04:34
So is the ment to go in the code? I probably could figure it out somehow if it isn't but I was just wondering.

Got anime?I do.
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 04:43
Okay, I got the health bar inserted, now what I think I want to work on is an experiance system,that increases with a range from 1-5 xp. for each monster killed and the amount required for each level increases by 50 and the level +2. So how would I go about this? Just some guidelines would be nice as I'd like to start doing more, or if anyone knows of tutorials that could relate somewhat to what I'm talking about thanks would be appreciated, and to everyone who has helped me so far, you get a name in the game's credits, although it won't be done for a long time.

Got anime?I do.
OldTifu
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 09:18 Edited at: 8th Sep 2004 09:21
The level increases by 2? That seems odd or do you mean the HP level... er... i'll assume you meant the max_hp should get higher...

XP increase is fairly simple...
every time an enemy dies, you tell the game 'xp=xp+3' or whatever the number should be. Somewhere during the main loop (or perhaps, to keep things running super fast, only when an enemy is killed would be better) check the folloing:

or exactly the same, but neatly compressed into one line

and just to be annoying, here's some code that will alternate increasing HP one level, ATK the next and DEF the one after


Of course, these variables can be given any names you feel like... and of course, my way isn't necessarly the best way...
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 10:01 Edited at: 8th Sep 2004 10:12
Actually, I meant that the amount of Experiance points you have to get to level up has 2 points added on.
Edit Sorry, but I need more help, can you give me the cooardinates so the XP meter is right above the health meter? And here are my variables:
(For the player)
playerhealth=100
max_hp = 100
xp = 0
xp_to_get = 3
level = 1
Do you think you could edit the snippet to work with these?
And could you get a fully functional meter? I was messing around with the code and it was messing up like the meter wouldn't go up and it was on top of the health meter, even when I changed the cooardinates, and how would I have it reset and require more experiance for a full bar?
Sorry to be such a pain in the ass.

Got anime?I do.
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 10:45
anime blood what did you make out of that code?


www.dragonseige.gpox.com
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 10:52
Huh?

Got anime?I do.
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 11:03
did you make a game out of it or what?


www.dragonseige.gpox.com
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 11:05
I'm working on, It won't be done for along time. I just needed something to start with and that's why I made this thread.

Got anime?I do.
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 11:07
ok


www.dragonseige.gpox.com
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 11:22
If you want some code for midtime, I'll ask for some. Also, I'm having a hard time getting the code for equilbrium, I found it just, I have to hope that I can get the required files without the comp freesing.

Got anime?I do.
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 11:57
thanks man


www.dragonseige.gpox.com
OldTifu
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 18:42
Hm, so you want the XP you need to get to increase by 2... so level 1 it's 50, level 2 it would be 102... or wait, if you're using a meter it would be easier to actually reset the XP each time... so level 1 50, level 2 52, level 3 54

so...


Though i'm at work, so can't test this at mo... should work.
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 20:11 Edited at: 8th Sep 2004 20:12
It has a box and everything, only the xp doesn't increase wheny you slay an enemy.

Got anime?I do.
OldTifu
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 8th Sep 2004 22:27 Edited at: 8th Sep 2004 22:28
Ah where would that go... I never had much of a look at the main game code *goes looksie* ah here we are, Doug's code is the main stuff you're working from, yeah?
if so, this is from his code, modified to include the addition of XP upon a monsters deletion. The levelup code is in there too, at the same point... that should add XP

The code at the death is the only bit I changed, I just included the rest so you can see where it goes... er... i'm still at work, so can't test ¬_¬ (it's my lunch hour, i'm allowed to be here... really D: )
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 9th Sep 2004 04:14 Edited at: 9th Sep 2004 04:30
So I just replace the attack code with this, and keep the XP bar?
Should I just repalce the code that already there with this, because I did that and the whole thing screwed up, the sword stuck in mid air, and enemys didn't move. Nevermind, I had highlighted too much code, and deleted it some of it with out realisinge, it works fine now.

Got anime?I do.
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 9th Sep 2004 06:31
How do I insert NCCollision free version 2? I've got the files and I need to know how to insert them, the thing I thought I had to do was incorrect, so can anyone tell me how?

Got anime?I do.
OldTifu
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 9th Sep 2004 07:26 Edited at: 9th Sep 2004 07:26
ahah that i'd like to know also ^^

And I felt so useful for a minute there
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 9th Sep 2004 07:48
You can be useful again then if it keeps you busy, do you think you could make magic casting, cuz I'd like to hae the shift button cast a spell and a blue magic meter drain after every use, having a total of 50 magic points and the spell costing 5 points a cast, and it could have a simple red particle effect, meanwhile I'll look into imlpementing NG collision. By the way, in a loooonnnnngggg time from now when I have finished my full RPG, Aura,Doug, and Tifu will all get their name in the credits!

Got anime?I do.
OldTifu
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 9th Sep 2004 09:00
Keep me busy? hehe i'm busy meself... got a snake comp entry to finish and then I have a (turn-based) RPG to finish (engine done, without bells and whistles - like graphics... models... animations...)

But this is a lot less taxing than any of that... and I need practice with those particles :9 so... what kind of spell? Like an attack fireball(particle ball?) shooting out in a straight line from hero-dude?
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 9th Sep 2004 09:42
That's exactly what I had in mind, are you psychic, you've done everything I've asked for in such proficcency. You've been a real help,once I have these basic things, then I will work on my modeling,texturing, and animation skills and then this will get fun!

Got anime?I do.
Oneka
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2004
Location: Hampton,VA
Posted: 9th Sep 2004 14:14
lemme get Equillibruim I want It I dont really get what you ment but still email meh >_>


Making better games everday!
Oh yeah and just so you know its Oh-nek-a not One-ka!
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 9th Sep 2004 20:03
Uh,okay.

Got anime?I do.
OldTifu
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 10th Sep 2004 01:08
hm... suddenly realise I have more work to do than I thought... might be a few days before I can get to try anything with the magic doodah
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 10th Sep 2004 04:07
That's okay.

Got anime?I do.
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 07:52
Making some models, right now, they don't have animation, will probably implement them.

Got anime?I do.
OldTifu
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 08:03 Edited at: 11th Sep 2004 08:03
While playing Monopoly in IRC (and winning ), I threw this together

1) This goes just before the main game begins (the big do loop), setting up the variables that will be used in spellcasting.
Not that you asked, but I have included two spells (red and blue, or fire and ice). Red deals 75 damage and costs 5, Blue deals 25 and costs 2. I'm sure it's easy enough to remove if you wish.
The textures used were just plain red and blue, nuffin fancy


2) Casting magic. All within the main loop...

And that seems to be it... i'm sure you can work out how to do an energy bar yourself now that you've seen a couple?

Oh, one thing... I was taking the code to build this from from page 3... so it won't have XP adding in yet. You'd have to put the same code that occurse when an enemy dies by the sword, up there where it checks for death by magic... if that makes sense...

Any confusion, ask and i'll try to explain
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 08:30
Yeah, could you explaing implementing it with XP, and where whould I position the magic meter so it's above the Xp meter? (I've made my own, just not sure where to position it, not good at that.

Got anime?I do.
OldTifu
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 09:28 Edited at: 11th Sep 2004 09:30
OK... the bit in the magic code that looks like

becomes

I think...

And the meter... I think I put the HP and XP bars so that there was a 10 pixel gap. So the XP bat would be located at 0,380 and stretch down to max_mp,400

Or if that makes no sense


The X,Y co-ords of things can be confusing at first. I tend to think of it like a grid, 0,0 is the origin in the top left of the screen, by default I think 640,480 is the bottom right...
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 09:36
The code snippet for the magic part stops the code from compiling, says there's a syntax error realting to the foreground label and background label. Also, can make some comments on my 3D model, naturally it's in the 3D chat thread.

Got anime?I do.
OldTifu
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 09:59
foreground background? o_O wuhtuhfuh
oh!
The problem is in my MP bar...

I had set a foreground colour, but not a background colour
I think that's the problem anyway...if not, i'm stumped heh
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 10:10
so hows it going?

www.dragonseige.150m.com
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 10:28
Great, I'll have the snippet soon, sorry for the incredibly long delay.

Got anime?I do.
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 10:35
I need to change the particle textures, where is the command in the code that creates the spells?

Got anime?I do.
OldTifu
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 10:55
Look for the bit that says 'if shiftkey()=1' everything within that if endif bracket is creating stuff. Particles, a sphere (which is hidden, and just used for collision detection)
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 11:04
Is the one after make particles the texture?

Got anime?I do.
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 11:08
anime blood japanies or chinese (if so could you teach me?)

www.dragonseige.150m.com
Cian Rice
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 11:19
Huh? I'm not Japanese. Or Chinese.

Got anime?I do.
gothboy 101
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Watonga, ok, usa
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 11:39
oh where do you live

www.dragonseige.150m.com

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-24 03:28:26
Your offset time is: 2024-09-24 03:28:26