Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / v2 Feature Requests

Author
Message
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 23rd Feb 2016 09:23
Quote: "I'd love to be able to compile a function or functions and then #include the binary in Tier 1"

+1 (again)

I've been suggesting this since AppGameKit v1!
Behdadsoft
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2009
Location: Tehran-Iran
Posted: 28th Feb 2016 06:12
Hi.

if possible please add encryption for media folder conent. mean after make APK, AppGameKit Automatically encrypt (Images,Sounds , objects , ...).

Thanks.
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 28th Feb 2016 14:43
Quote: " please add encryption for media folder conent. "
#
Make it optional, as I don't want it.
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 28th Feb 2016 15:47
Depending on how you do it I would be interestted. Decrypting a memblock then loading the image and deleting it takes time.

I personally don't care if someone wants my media because I get it from open source sites and paid.

The paid media is required to be encrypted and would love too see a speedy decryption method.

All being said I'd rather you work on other stuff first

Download My Games for Android. Made with AGK.
Jellyfish Dive- https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.CrazyProgrammerProductions.my_JellyFishSwim
Brick Destroyer - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.CrazyProgrammerProductions.my_BrickDestroyer
Ping Bong - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.CrazyProgrammerProductions.my_Pong_Ping_Bong
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 28th Feb 2016 20:49
maybe just add a password for the .zip functions

Sign up for NaGaCreMo!
Scraggle
Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2003
Location: Yorkshire
Posted: 29th Feb 2016 16:58
Encrypting media is something that we can do ourselves so I would prefer it if Paul were to concentrate on the things that we can't do ourselves.
AGK V2 user - Tier 1 (mostly)
Zuchini
FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2010
Location:
Posted: 29th Feb 2016 19:37
Support of the VS 2015 possibly also 2013 and 2010 EXPRESS versions. Yes also VS 2015 has an EXPRESS version now.
The community version is not 100% free if you want to sale the programm at the end.
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 1st Mar 2016 08:57
Quote: "Encrypting media is something that we can do ourselves so I would prefer it if Paul were to concentrate on the things that we can't do ourselves."

+1

I'd like tier 2 Java support.
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 3rd Mar 2016 08:32
Some of the functions return a spriteid. It would be good if you could store some data with the sprite. something like;
SetSpriteData(id, string)
string=GetSpriteData(id)
This way i don't need a table lookup to correlate a spriteid to it's intended use. I can get it directly from the sprite
Jack
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 10th Mar 2016 15:16 Edited at: 11th Mar 2016 12:16
I tested the sensor commands on diffrent devices and came to the point, that the frequency of the sensors are quite diffrent in AGK. In fact, there should be:
SENSOR_DELAY_FASTEST
SENSOR_DELAY_GAME
SENSOR_DELAY_UI
SENSOR_DELAY_NORMAL
as a setting to modify the frequency. I managed to find out, that the accelerometer has a really low standard frequency in AppGameKit on some platforms, is not usable
inside the rotation vector function, because of the delay and wrong measurements. I would really like to get the sensor frequency to "SENSOR_DELAY_FASTEST", or better a command to set each sensor on a certain state, to improve the acuracy of the AppGameKit accelerometer and rotation vector commands.

BTW: Is there a work-around in T1/T2?

EDIT: Magically the StartGPSTracking() command repairs the acceleration sensor acuracy but the rotation vector is still delayed and jumps on my S7 (Working on the S3)

[/url]
Behdadsoft
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2009
Location: Tehran-Iran
Posted: 19th Mar 2016 20:10
Quote: "Encrypting media is something that we can do ourselves so I would prefer it if Paul were to concentrate on the things that we can't do ourselves."


but may someones don't want encrypt Himself. in most game engines encrypting done automatically and it make work much easier.
hakimfullmetal
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Feb 2015
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2016 09:08
With AppGameKit and Vive having a fierce competition, It'll do wonder to AppGameKit if it supports Oculus in Tier 1.

Just imagine, and easy to learn programming language that makes games within minutes with one-click-deploy-all, and WITH VR support, people would be crazy not to get AGK.

Especially now that VR has just began to flourish, it's the perfect time to rope in all the people interested in it, and let them grows VR apps here.
Starts early, and let AppGameKit be the centre for VR apps development.
Had to beat Unity and it's obnoxious licencing.

Soooooo

Please make AppGameKit support Oculus.

Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 30th Mar 2016 11:11
i believe a Sign(value) command is missing in Math
AGK (Steam) V2.0.17 : Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit : AMD (15.30.1025) Radeon R7 265 : Mac mini OS X 10.10 (Yosemite)
Scraggle
Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2003
Location: Yorkshire
Posted: 30th Mar 2016 22:14 Edited at: 31st Mar 2016 22:25
Until it gets included, here is the function:


It will return -1 for anything less than zero, 1 for anything above zero and 0 if it is equal to zero

[Edit]It's a force of habit to create an integer and float version of a math function but it isn't necessary with this so you can just use the one above[/Edit]

[Edit2]I take that back - You do need a float version if you are looking at a value between -1 and +1, so here it is (it's almost identical!):
AGK V2 user - Tier 1 (mostly)
DavidAGK
AGK Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 2nd Apr 2016 19:19
Command: GetSpriteFlip(SpriteID)

You can SetSpriteFlip currently but you can't test for it.
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
DavidAGK
AGK Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 2nd Apr 2016 19:24
The encryption of media would be really good - it's clearly wanted by many people. I'd like TGC to think it through encryption generally carefully before proceeding so it's an easy to use and flexible system that will cover most situations. For example including text files written out by a programme (eg player's progress files) so that can't be abused.
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
MikeHart
AGK Bronze Backer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location:
Posted: 2nd Apr 2016 19:49
I would love it if AGK2 would be able to use the Steamworks SDK and you could do things like achievements is AGK2 powered games on Steam.
-----------------------------------------------------------
Using AGK2 Tier 1
[a http://www.fantomgl.com]fantomEngine[/a] - A powerful 2D game framework
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 3rd Apr 2016 11:57 Edited at: 3rd Apr 2016 11:59
Quote: "For example including text files written out by a programme (eg player's progress files) so that can't be abused."


Add a hash, and check it still matches when reading the file back again.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur
TutCity is being rebuilt
Jack
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 7th Apr 2016 05:10
I would really like to see more virtual sensors like the gravity sensor or linear acceleration,
and a feature to set the sensor delay in AGK

[/url]
DavidAGK
AGK Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 7th Apr 2016 08:35
Thanks BatVink. I really need to look into this and your earlier tutorial about encrypting media files! It's under the hood stuff and I'm keen to keep seeing progress at the moment so....I get side-tracked!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
JohnnyMeek
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Apr 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posted: 8th Apr 2016 07:59
I'd like to be able to offers my players the option to login to their user account using facebook or google. Simple enough to do as I'm using Parse server, but we need to get the authentication token passed by facebook/google during the login.

Could we expose this to AppGameKit so that we can use it?

Thanks.
haliop_New
User Banned
Posted: 16th Apr 2016 21:51
what about adding some extra features to AppGameKit player ?
I can think of one that is really good

Load Last Played

so if I'm coding and need to go out
I can have the latest build without the need to broadcast it , so I can show off or just look at it while I'm away ..

and what if you could run about 5 latest considering you are working on different projects it will save only the latest of each kind (name)...

I would love to see this feature on it could really make my life easier if I can beta test stuff as I go finding bugs etc...

thank you for your time reading this
haliop.
Preben
AGK Studio Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 18th Apr 2016 12:59 Edited at: 18th Apr 2016 13:09
.dds image support.

Think its already in assimp so.

Would make it mush easier when using .x objects that normally use .dds textures.

edit: found a simple opengl dds loader.
http://www.mindcontrol.org/~hplus/graphics/dds-info/
best regards Preben Eriksen,
Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 18th Apr 2016 14:13
catch windows messages , example:
window close event, allow will continue to system , disallow clears event and window stay open.
so we can pop up a message dialog and prevent unwanted save game state loss in window mode if user hit x button.


AGK (Steam) V2.0.18 : Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit : AMD (15.30.1025) Radeon R7 265 : Mac mini OS X 10.10 (Yosemite)
Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 18th Apr 2016 23:01
window mode with optional min/max/close buttons.
so we can make our own behavior with own sprite buttons.
AGK (Steam) V2.0.18 : Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit : AMD (15.30.1025) Radeon R7 265 : Mac mini OS X 10.10 (Yosemite)
Scraggle
Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2003
Location: Yorkshire
Posted: 19th Apr 2016 07:16
Further to the above - Complete support for Windows only apps to have total control of resolution and screen/window size.
AGK V2 user - Tier 1 (mostly)
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 19th Apr 2016 19:12
I think it would be cool to get commands that control a phones vibration.

Having something like that opens up possibilities for a fishing game with vibration feedback. Shooting weapons or taken damage... All sorts of possibilities.

Can it be done?
hakimfullmetal
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Feb 2015
Location:
Posted: 22nd Apr 2016 18:20
This is probably quite farfetched, but it would really great if we can make external plugins for AppGameKit, as community-made plugins, like in DBPro.

If someone can use Tier 2, that means they can probably make whatever they want, even if it's not in Tier 1 ability.
Someone using Tier 1 will never be able to use extra plugins outside of what already in Tier 1.

But in DBPro, people can make a plugin in C++, and share them for use in BASIC language.

Isn't this really constricting?
I mean, there is no way for Tier 1 community to improve their arsenal with external plugin.

I think AppGameKit will be able to be expanded greatly if we can make community-made plugins, like DBPro.
That way, extra features will not be burdened on Paul, and he can concentrates on core matters.
And community can accelerates AppGameKit development too with their plugins.
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 23rd Apr 2016 22:56
Quote: "This is probably quite farfetched, but it would really great if we can make external plugins for AppGameKit, as community-made plugins, like in DBPro."

It's been requested many times, even by myself about a month after AGK1 was release all those years ago. I suggested 'precompiling' tier 1 code into a non human readable format which can then be #included like any other source file. it's not true plugin support, but it will allow people to create services/functions which can be sold without giving away the precious source code.
MucMac
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2015
Location: Munich, Germany
Posted: 1st May 2016 15:46
My wish is:

Simple Webcam access using Escapi.dll. Fast image access to a webcam without the annoying capture buttons.

Can it be done?
--
Mac
Lead Programmer (Tier 1, AGK2) - MacOSX - want to go 3D with agk2!
MikeHart
AGK Bronze Backer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location:
Posted: 1st May 2016 16:36
I would love to have the ability of scaling sprites via a 9-patch/9-slice functionality.
-----------------------------------------------------------
Using AGK2 Tier 1
[a http://www.fantomgl.com]fantomEngine[/a] - A powerful 2D game framework
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 1st May 2016 16:59
Quote: "I would love to have the ability of scaling sprites via a 9-patch/9-slice functionality."


It' something I need to write for myself. It shouldn't be too difficult to implement manually.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur
TutCity is being rebuilt
MikeHart
AGK Bronze Backer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location:
Posted: 1st May 2016 19:33
Quote: "It' something I need to write for myself. It shouldn't be too difficult to implement manually."


I know, I did it for my framework for a different product too, but it would be great to have it build in.
-----------------------------------------------------------
Using AGK2 Tier 1
[a http://www.fantomgl.com]fantomEngine[/a] - A powerful 2D game framework
Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 2nd May 2016 09:22 Edited at: 2nd May 2016 09:24
missed opposite commands for SetObjectColor
int/color rgba=GetObjectColor(objID)
+ overload
SetObjectColor(objID,color)
AGK (Steam) V2.0.18 : Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit : AMD (15.30.1025) Radeon R7 265 : Mac mini OS X 10.10 (Yosemite)
ToeKnee
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2003
Location:
Posted: 3rd May 2016 00:25
When making a http request from my game, I need to be able to set 2 request headers that are required by my scoring server:

"Accept","application/xml"
"Content-Type","application/xml"

Also, the ability to set "Basic Authorization" with a user/password combination.

Divided
FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Oct 2013
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2016 07:41
MoveTextInput Need better string input support and commands currently no console commands to write line easy or the implementation is lacking.
Measuring programming progress by lines of code is like measuring aircraft building progress by weight.
CJB
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Feb 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 5th May 2016 07:55
@ToeKnee
Quote: "Also, the ability to set "Basic Authorization" with a user/password combination."
You can already set username/password for basic authentication.

integer SetHTTPHost( iHTTP, szHost, iSecure, szUser, szPass )

szUser = username
szPass = password
V2 T1 (Mostly)
Phone Tap!
Uzmadesign
Jack
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 6th May 2016 04:02 Edited at: 8th May 2016 16:59
Matrix4 Math functions
+more vector3 Math functions from DBP


- Missing Vector3 commands:
- transform normals vector3
- normalize vector3
- transform coords vector3

- Missing Vector4 commands
- CreateVector4
- set vector4

- Missing Matrix4 commands (quite a lot):
- rotate matrix 4
- multiply matrix 4
- inverse matrix4
- build lookat lhmatrix4
- translate matrix4
- view matrix4
- projection matrix4
- Get Matrix4 Element

[/url]
xCept
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 22nd May 2016 21:36
We need a SetTweenDuration() function. Right now we can only specify the duration of a tween upon creation of it. So if I want a particular tween to last 2 seconds the first time it is ran, then 5 seconds the next time, I have to delete and create entirely new tweens when this should be a simple adjustment of the duration.
Behdadsoft
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2009
Location: Tehran-Iran
Posted: 27th May 2016 16:27
if you encrypt media folders like HTML 5 for other Exports (Android, iOS, ...) it make the protection of data.

Thanks.
akos127
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2016
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2016 19:23

SetVirtualButtonImageHoverDown( index, imageID )
SetVirtualButtonImageHoverUp( index, imageID )

index - The ID of the virtual button to set.
imageID - The image ID to use for this button.
akos127
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2016
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2016 21:37
Adding
SetVirtualButtonImageHoverDown( index, imageID )
SetVirtualButtonImageHoverUp( index, imageID )

Parameters
index - The ID of the virtual button to set.
imageID - The image ID to use for this button.
Ranietz
AGK Gold Backer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Posted: 9th Jun 2016 21:01
I see that media encryption and pack files get mentioned quite a bit. We can allready do a lot with memblocks but it would be great if we could load images from a memblock in .png format.
That way we could create a memblock with several .png images instead of raw image data. That would keep the filesize small.
It could work like the LoadImage command but the image loads from a memblock instead of a file.

Something like this:
integer = LoadImageFromMemblock( memID, firstByte, lastByte)
LoadImageFromMemblock( imgID, memID, firstByte, lastByte)

And maybe something similar for other file formats as well (sound, music, 3D objects etc... )
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 11th Jun 2016 02:13
A way to initialize user defined type (similar to initializing arrays) . Something like;
MadBit
VIP Member
Gold Codemaster
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jun 2009
Location: Germany
Posted: 14th Jun 2016 09:10
It would be nice to have a function to set a shader uniform array in one go.

Something like this:
For Tier1:
SetShaderConstantFromMemblock(shdID, uniformName, memID)

For Tier2:
agk::SetShaderConstantFromMemblock(shdID, uniformName, memID);

or for direct access via AGKShader
AGKShader::SetConstantByName(uniformName, memPtr, componentCount);

Share your knowledge. It\'s a way to achieve immortality. (Tenzin Gyatso)
Pixie-Particle-Engine
Jack
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 14th Jun 2016 09:30
Get Integer/Floats and Arrays from a shader, as output.

[/url]
nickele upgraded
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2013
Location: Birthplace of Democracy
Posted: 18th Jun 2016 11:13
First of all a huge "Thank You!" to Paul and all the guys at TGC, for continually supporting and improving AppGameKit.

I would like to ask The Game Creators to consider 2 things for AppGameKit in the future (if possible):

a) Multiplayer Gaming support via Game Center for iOS
b) Integrating Steam achievements & multiplayer commands

Just a thought, and again "Thank You!" to TGC.

Bigsofty
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Nov 2014
Location:
Posted: 24th Jun 2016 14:54
My request...

LUA bindings for the AppGameKit API.

The current simple basic scripting language is terrible, adding a more sophisticated scripting language would attract a much larger audience IMHO. Also various IDEs, such as Sublime support LUA out of the box.
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 27th Jun 2016 06:24
I'm sure there is probably a sticky somewhere (I just cant find it) but google is now reporting all apps as having a security vulnerability.
something to do with libpng version and there is now a deadline for repair before removal from there app store
fubar
Funnell7
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 27th Jun 2016 07:47
@fubarpk, here's the thread;

https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/217336

I don't think your apps will be removed post this date. Just any future updates will be rejected. Paul is aware and I believe he has already fixed it, we're just waiting for a new release...
Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-28 18:16:18
Your offset time is: 2024-04-28 18:16:18