Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Just an idea.

Author
Message
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 31st Aug 2017 22:38
Quote: "Do you mean you need it to "reset" if player returns?"


Yes.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 1st Sep 2017 00:07 Edited at: 1st Sep 2017 00:09
@ seppgirty No problem, just use this script for the main ai...

Use regular appear1 & destroy script for other slots. Tested works fine

Oh yeah, adjust distance to meet your needs. Also I used rundecal=3 (loop keep angle)
also change to what you need.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 2nd Sep 2017 13:42
Got the script to sort of work. Plays the sound in a loop kind of. Steamhum loops but there is a slight pause. Not a solid sound.



Notice that i deleted the * *from the code. Was i supposed to do that?
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 2nd Sep 2017 13:46
@ seppgirty
Quote: " i deleted the * *from the code"

Yes, just use path to your file, sorry about that.
Quote: "loops but there is a slight pause"

Let me chack out the stock "steamhum" file, I bet there's
a "silent/gap" in the sound file itself when it loops?
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 3rd Sep 2017 18:40
Quote: "Let me chack out the stock "steamhum" file, I bet there's
a "silent/gap" in the sound file itself when it loops?"


From what i can tell there is no gap in the audio. Trying to figure this out.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 3rd Sep 2017 20:22
@ seppgirty Easy fix, change the .ogg to .wav in your script ( make sure you made the .wav format, which I'm sure you do )
and it's fixed

I ran into this some time ago and forgot. .ogg files seem to "reset" with each cycle ???
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 3rd Sep 2017 21:25 Edited at: 3rd Sep 2017 22:27
Quote: "@ seppgirty Easy fix, change the .ogg to .wav in your script ( make sure you made the .wav format, which I'm sure you do )
and it's fixed "


Will give it a try. Thanks.

EDIT.................... that worked.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 8th Sep 2017 00:27
@ ncmako and mriganka

How are your levels going guys? Let's all check in.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 8th Sep 2017 05:32
I haven.t made much progress on the interior level. I have completed the exterior level. And only have some minor improvements to do to it to reduce memory usage and increase performance. And I am yet to decide on how the enemy flow will me as there are multiple paths to the same areas. This I am countering with my new experimental WIP Agency.
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 8th Sep 2017 10:01
Mainly done with levels 4 & 5, I test run daily and find little things to tweak (mostly scripts) I'm also trying out different endings....
I was waiting to bug you about the "cut scenes" when your all done. I need an "end cut-scene" for level 4 (docks) in Eddie's office,
and one or two for level 5?
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 9th Sep 2017 14:09
@ mriganka
Keep on chipping away at it my friend.

@ ncmako
I am working on rough drafts for the cut scenes. Do we still want to do the scenes as a motion comic style? Xplosy seemed to be very interested in the story telling part. (making the comics) hope he is still willing to help us out with this part.

P.s
anyone else having problems getting to the forums pages from the main TGC site?
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 10th Sep 2017 00:59
Seppgirty
Quote: "still want to do the scenes as a motion comic style"

Yes, that was the whole purpose of this....
: Yes, i had some problems yesterday but seems ok today? Are you having problems?

My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 10th Sep 2017 04:22
Quote: " Yes, i had some problems yesterday but seems ok today? Are you having problems?"


Yeah, I had to go through an old bookmark to gain access to the forums. Same with game guru.

Quote: "Yes, that was the whole purpose of this...."

Just making sure. I have the dialog for two of the smaller cut scenes done. I'll e-mail them to you soon. Will have questions on how we want to do this.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Pain
FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2007
Location: Lake Orion, MI - USA
Posted: 28th Sep 2017 03:36
Yes, I think I am caught up now, took a couple of hours and some distractions and other post reads.

there is a lot of cool info in this thread here, Great work and communication.

PAIN!
Me = noob
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 28th Sep 2017 05:47 Edited at: 28th Sep 2017 05:48
How are the stuff going guys? My gameplay scripts are almost done. Just a few tweaks and some more scripts and the gameplay part will be completed. Only thing I may not attempt is the AI. I am thinking of using the darkai.fpi from the people folder (and may modify it to suit the needs).
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 28th Sep 2017 23:41
@ Mriganka

Things are going well for us. Will start work on the story cut scenes very soon. If you are having trouble with the prison level still, don't worry about it. We'll cut that level out. Thanks for checking in.

@ pain.
Glad you're all caught up. Glad to be entering "the last lap of this race"
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 29th Sep 2017 08:52
@seppgirty I have no problem with the prison level. But things mostly gameplay related are done.
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 29th Sep 2017 23:26
Quote: "seppgirty I have no problem with the prison level. But things mostly gameplay related are done."


Sounds great. Looking forward to seeing some screen shots.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 4th Oct 2017 23:51
Hey ncmako. I'm attaching the jack logan with teeth model here. Maybe you could try it in dark voices. I could never figure out how to use that program. I tried rigging in fragmotion and could not get the mouth to seperate. I'll try more later. Oh, yeah, i saved it as a .ugh file.
gamer, lover, filmmaker

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 5th Oct 2017 10:02
Seppgirty, There is no animation with this character, correct? I'll try and merge an anim
from another.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 5th Oct 2017 14:02
no, there is no animation for this.. wonder if we can use one of the talking riggs from fpsc character??
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 5th Oct 2017 21:15
Seppgirty,
Quote: " use one of the talking riggs from fpsc "

It might be doable ??? We'll have to redo the mesh a bit? ( without messing up the uv may be a little hard)
I'll play with Fragmotion tonight and see what can be done.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 5th Oct 2017 23:55
The jack model i posted is broken into groups. You can hide the teeth groups to make it easier to see the mouth. I say to select all the faces that make up the lower jaw and lip. Make it it's own group. Hide the rest of the body. You can then just select the verts of the jaw easier. It won't mess with the UV. You can then just add a bone or two to the existing rig. Then export poses. I'll try this also.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 11th Oct 2017 00:03
@ncmako

Here are some pics of how we can do the comic cut scenes. Just simple poses with audio playing over it. Basically just a photo slideshow with audio.
gamer, lover, filmmaker

Attachments

Login to view attachments
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 11th Oct 2017 00:22 Edited at: 11th Oct 2017 00:23
@ ncmako
Here is a quick video with audio. Witness my superb voice acting.
gamer, lover, filmmaker

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 11th Oct 2017 01:08
@ Seppgirty Terrific stuff, Love it! I laughed so hard when the first pic loaded up.
The way his finger is pointing at her, awesome! Once in a life time shot
Quote: "Witness my superb voice acting"

Yes!!! This is what we want, sounds crazy... but it will work. Trust me.
Ok, going to work on mine ..We'll see how it comes out
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mr Love
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 11th Oct 2017 03:19
LOL!!! You sure have fun at this forum! At least sometimes...
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 11th Oct 2017 05:21
that girly voice sounds like a teenager lol.
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 11th Oct 2017 13:54
thanks guys. i will get my wife to do the female voices though. just wanted to show how we can keep those scenes simple. we will have to figure out who will do what voices.

@ NCMAKO
did you notice that jack's mouth was open? very simple face rig for that. Keep every thing simple.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mr Love
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 13th Oct 2017 01:31
Whay dont You make the cutscenes with rendered 3D? With cameramoves and mouthmoves? Its very easy in most professional 3d software. Try a demo of Cinema 4D it has the best rendering, and its very fast and easy to work with. Or do You want this Max Payne style of storytelling???
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 13th Oct 2017 13:40
If it's the Max Payne type story telling, then we can use real characters instead lmao
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 14th Oct 2017 00:05
Quote: "Whay dont You make the cutscenes with rendered 3D? With cameramoves and mouthmoves? Its very easy in most professional 3d software."


It's still a lot of work to do using programs like iclone and daz3d. We'll keep it simple like max payne.

Quote: "If it's the Max Payne type story telling, then we can use real characters instead lmao
"


Only if i get to be Sunshine Delight.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mr Love
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 14th Oct 2017 03:36
I meant a professional software like maya, 3dmax, Cinema 4D, Lightwave, etc.. Cant You use a "Real" Character there? If You are using the Max Payne style, I think You shourld only use Black&White, and make it look handpainted with help of Photoshop or Gimp...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 21st Oct 2017 14:16
A sample using gimp's built in cartoon filter. Tell me what you think guys.
gamer, lover, filmmaker

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 21st Oct 2017 14:33
seppgirty
Quote: "Tell me what you think guys."

Sweet ! I like how the red is clearly defined with no "over-spill" into the rest of the scene.
I was going to say the black outline was to big/too much, but after thinking about it, it helps to
achieve the "cartoon" feel/look. I think it's spot-on
Will you use this for the cut-scenes then ?
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 21st Oct 2017 19:13 Edited at: 21st Oct 2017 19:14
@seppgirty Looks great! Can I make the rooms for the comic panels? I can make them look gorgeous. With window lighting and a whole lotta eye candy. And I mean the gemoetry, the post-processing and filters are up to you.
Mr Love
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 21st Oct 2017 20:08
It looks mutch better.. But for god sake remove those awful huds with photoshop or gimp that have a free plugin for remove stuff like this...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 22nd Oct 2017 03:25
@ ncmako
i think the thick black lines work too. also, check your e-mail for models.

@mrignanka
we'll see if we can work together on them. I'll post more of an explanation tomorrow.

@mrlove
as i said, this was just a sample. I know not to have the huds in the pics.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 25th Oct 2017 00:02
Seppgirty I sent you an email. Ran into a problem with just the "mayors" mesh when exporting.
Just that one, no others ? And the Fragmotion .ugh file exports fine, but not the .x ???
I sent you the .x file so you can see what's happening. Several vertices get pulled way up
thru the head I hunted around for unassigned vertices, but everything seems ok.
I'm missing something obvious...
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 28th Oct 2017 16:15
@ ncmako

Sent you a sample i did for Jack's voice in an e-mail.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 28th Oct 2017 18:04 Edited at: 28th Oct 2017 18:49
Seppgirty Just grabbed it, of course it will work We'll make it work, one way or another
Hey did you ever get the "mayor" mesh to export correctly ??? I tried repeatedly.

Edit: finally, got the "mayor" mesh to export properly. Simple fix, needed to run the mesh
thru "Validate Bone Weights" and it adjust everything. The vertices do not stretch now
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 28th Oct 2017 19:38
Quote: "Edit: finally, got the "mayor" mesh to export properly. Simple fix, needed to run the mesh
thru "Validate Bone Weights" and it adjust everything. The vertices do not stretch now "


Great going. sent you another e-mail.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
Mr Love
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 29th Oct 2017 01:35
Just had an idea for the storytelling. Why dont You do like Max Pain and set three pictures beside eachother, and It becomes a story itself. Max Paine has both sound and bobbles. The only thing I removed here was unintresting walls... This is how You courld do it, if You want....

Attachments

Login to view attachments
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 29th Oct 2017 13:29
Quote: " Why dont You do like Max Pain and set three pictures beside each other, and It becomes a story itself. Max Paine has both sound and bobbles. "


Will give it a thought.
gamer, lover, filmmaker
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 11th Nov 2017 14:55
@ Seppgirty I have uploaded my cutscene for the "docks" to G-Drive under level-4 folder. See what you think ?
It's a rough cut but doable
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 11th Nov 2017 15:16 Edited at: 11th Nov 2017 15:18
@everyone You should join the Discord Server if possible. It's way easier to discuss stuff there.
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 11th Nov 2017 18:40 Edited at: 11th Nov 2017 18:50
@ncmako Great cutscene! I really love it!v Is it a video or is it in real time? If so how did you do it? Plus can you think of a way to make a reeling down a rope kind of animation?

@seppgirty
Can you make a new document on how the story plays out? Like with exact details and dialogues of the cut-scenes (the mission stuff can be summarized)? And I would really love to voice Eddie. Give him more of a Loki vibe. And btw how will you deal with the mayor? Or is he the real Octopus?

And I think we should make the NPCs give radio commentary to the player on each level to flesh the story out.

One more thing is that the city level doesn't load with full textures and has some 'hiccup' spots. Was thinking of cutting out some content along with linear-izing the level a bit more and making some segments blockades for better portal culling (so that 30 fps capped is maintained).
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 11th Nov 2017 21:16
Mriganka Thanks I just used Fraps to record. I posed the characters in different positions ( according to the dialog )
I gave a couple of them animations, then put it all together in my video app. I am going to add a "border" tonight
and wrap this one up i think ?
Quote: " can you think of a way to make a reeling down a rope kind of animation?"

Not quit sure what you mean, a character coming down a rope? I did something similar
with that where the character drops out of the ceiling down a rope. Just needs a lot of timing
for the scripts. Drop-down ceiling, spawn character & animation to drop-down, destroy that character
and spawn the regular character for game play....
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mriganka
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 12th Nov 2017 04:14
Yes what you said. I forgot the exact words but like the soldiers roping down a helicopter or something similar. Also, can you upload that camera scripts?
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 12th Nov 2017 13:51
@ Mriganka
Quote: "can you upload that camera scripts?"

No camera scripts were used. I just placed my characters in a room , then used the player as a camera
position (player point of view) and moved the player around while using Fraps as the recording app.

Quote: " soldiers roping down a helicopter or something similar"

The easiest thing would be to take both the helicopter & solder, merge them together into one mesh (model)
then animate just the soldier coming down from the helicopter.

Also, have you tried with just the helicopter above ground, then spawning a character (soldier) just under
the helicopter so it looks as if he's coming down a rope? I'll try some scripts and see which is easier?
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-12-13 15:25:45
Your offset time is: 2019-12-13 15:25:45