Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / The TYTT Development Thread

Author
Message
Reaperman
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2003
Location: Kent, England
Posted: 9th Feb 2006 19:12
Thanks Rich, I will pass that on to my Daughter.

Cheers
Reaperman
Blue Shadow
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 9th Feb 2006 21:50 Edited at: 9th Feb 2006 21:51
Does anyone have any idea why this code doesn't work? It should print Correct to the screen when you enter the word chicken.



Cheers,

Mike



*** Formerly Code Monkey ***
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 9th Feb 2006 22:00 Edited at: 9th Feb 2006 22:02
entry$() will always have dozens, if not hundreds of characters in it. Change it to this:

temptext$ = temptext$ + right$(entry$(),1)

Also, print text$ to the screen, and you will see what it contains.

Finally, you need to include code that detects the changes in keypress. At the moment, even when you just take the rightmost character from entry$(), you will still pick up the same character many times as the program cycles.

Blue Shadow
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 9th Feb 2006 22:31 Edited at: 9th Feb 2006 22:32
Thanks BatVink. Maybe I'm just being dense but it still doesn't work.

Here is the code with the key change code added (although you can't enter the same letter twice at the moment).



Here is the code without that check included.



Both times the word is recognised and momentarily printed to the screen. The text$ always equals what was printed on the screen before in the temptext$, however this is never recognised by the check to make the word correct appear on the screen, or in this case end the program.

Thanks again for your help,

Mike

PS If you feel I am 'hijacking' the thread then just say and I will post a new topic in the appropriate board.



*** Formerly Code Monkey ***
SirFire
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2005
Location: North America
Posted: 9th Feb 2006 23:47
@reaperman:
If the author of the "main" program is willing to add an argument to the game call, your daughter could use the command line argument to set up the name of the player.

Main program calls "program.exe -n:Ted"

Just an idea.

DarkBasic Pro Guy
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jun 2004
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posted: 10th Feb 2006 01:58 Edited at: 10th Feb 2006 02:03
I was just wondering, on the amount of entries, I am for some reason more focused on the money :$ anyways

BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 10th Feb 2006 10:51
Quote: "I am for some reason more focused on the money "


I would imagine for most people it's the prospect of being published. There are quicker and easier ways to make £300, although that does sweeten the task. I suppose it's a lot of pocket money for younger members / broke students too.

Blue Shadow: Look back through the thread for Ric's code snippet.

Peter H
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2004
Location: Witness Protection Program
Posted: 10th Feb 2006 18:05
Quote: " broke students"

yeah, like almost enough to get a new drum set

"We make the worst games in the universe..."
Ric
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2004
Location: object position x
Posted: 10th Feb 2006 20:36
Quote: "There are quicker and easier ways to make £300"


There are? Legally? Please share!

3soulz
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Location: birmingham, uk
Posted: 11th Feb 2006 10:22
ok, i've thrown together a few design ideas before starting with coding, and i'd like to know how far to go with the actual code itself before it would be considered ready for assessment. plain without media? basic primitives?
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 11th Feb 2006 15:30
Quote: "Quote: "There are quicker and easier ways to make £300"

There are? Legally? Please share!
"


Washing cars, shopping for old ladies and selling your fabricated story to a women's magazine to name but three

Scraggle
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2003
Location: Yorkshire
Posted: 11th Feb 2006 16:17 Edited at: 11th Feb 2006 16:21
I have to disagree with the 'easier' part for the first two options. There isn't much that is easier than sitting at a desk and coding. I consider the concept of car washing to be something that other people (or a machine) do for you. As for shopping for old ladies ... shopping for myself is horrendous enough, even the thought of it sends shivers down my spine

If you want an easy way to earn £300 then I suggest you join the Royal Air Force. I have done 15 years in the service (my last day at work is Tuesday the 14th) and entry level technicians get around £50 per day. I fix jet engines and if they are all working fine then they are attached to aircraft that are flying ... you can't fix an engine that is in the air, so a lot of time is spent in the Tea-Bar playing cards. Now that is an easy way to earn money


Andyhhp
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2006
Location: um... here
Posted: 11th Feb 2006 18:07
Hi,

I am wondering how many people are entering this competition - mainly to see what my chances are.

This is because I have two great ideas (one for speed and one for acuracy) that I am going to incorperate into one game. However, as well as sitting here programming my entry, I am trying to do AS level computing coursework as well as my other homework (I have just done my first set of moduals and my teachers are taking it as an excuse to give me huge ammounts of work to do).

While I am (fairly) confident that I can submit a working example by the end Feb, I would just like to know wether I am trying to work against rather high odds

Finally, exactly how can we submit our entries: I have 24k dialup (yes - that is correct ) and I am looking for a way that I can upload my entry in school which has a rather faster connection but loads of restrictions

Thanks

Andrew

It's only open source 'till money is involved
Mr Crazy
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2006 18:22
£300 is a nice prize money. For me especially, since I'm a student who's had a max of £2 in his pocket . Everyone stop slagging off the prize will ya? £300 is pretty generous and plus you get your game in Focus Multimedia's TYTT! Then you can boast to your friends 'Hey! That's my game ' Think what you can do with £300! Buy some CDS...buy some sweet game developing software...go on holiday...

Life, the Universe and Everything
Big Man
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2005
Location: BEHIND YOU!!!! (but I live in England)
Posted: 11th Feb 2006 18:58
hi

My game is well on the way, but there is one thing that has been bugging me.
Can someone just clarify something for me.
I have a great idea for a great game that should play really nicley.
But my graphics are (to put it bluntly s**t). If my game get choosen at the end of febuary will the gamecreators themselves provide some good graphics for me to use.

thanks for any help.

BM

Our aim is to keep the loo's clean, your aim can help.
Ric
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2004
Location: object position x
Posted: 11th Feb 2006 19:28 Edited at: 11th Feb 2006 19:31
Quote: "If my game get choosen at the end of febuary will the gamecreators themselves provide some good graphics for me to use.
"


That's been answered comprehensively in this thread already. You don't have to be a great artist, but you do need to be able to read!

Quote: "The art isn't going to be re-done by default. If you can draw perfectly well enough in the first place then we'd use those graphics (and you'd have a much higher chance of us picking your game for the product).

The offer of graphics are for those who come up with a stonking idea, but can't graphically pull it off. If the idea is pretty average, and we'd have to spend hundreds re-doing the graphics as well, then forget it!

Having your game as close to finished as possible (from all aspects) makes it FAR more appealing to us.

"


BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 11th Feb 2006 22:53
For the record...I'm not slagging the prize off. I'm just saying that the opportunity to be published is, in my opinion, the greater part.

Chris Franklin
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 11th Feb 2006 23:28
I was on hospital for a while even tho i had started 10 lines of this so it means i have no time to enter

Theme park simulator 15% Currently making object selection
Agent Dink
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2006 04:11
I think 300 pounds (530 dollars in my case) would be excellent! Not to mention just the thought of my project being sold! I know if you published your product you could potentially make alot more money, but then again you might not. At least you are guaranteed some cash and a published game if you win this competition. It gets your name out there, and as someone else stated above, it could be some sweet bragging rights!

www.badpicsofmatt.tk
www.silver-dawn.net
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 12th Feb 2006 05:11
Quote: "For the record...I'm not slagging the prize off. I'm just saying that the opportunity to be published is, in my opinion, the greater part."


I totally agree, you can't put a dollar amount on the ability to have your game published. Anyone looking to break into the industry would jump at this chance to have something they can claim has been published (albeit, even if it is just a typing game). In my opinion, that's the real prize, the cash is just a very nice bonus.


"Computers are useless, they can only give you answers."
Chris Franklin
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 12th Feb 2006 16:15
yea i didn't realise i still had 13 days till the prototype has GOT to be in but then i'm making a whole new game anyway hmm if i get some spare time i'll still try and enter

Theme park simulator 15% Currently making object selection
DSG
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posted: 13th Feb 2006 06:41
Question: In the 'game header' graphic, what are the two black bars and the white bar typically being used for?

Danny Gregory
BSc Computer Science - UG
University of Southampton
Scraggle
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2003
Location: Yorkshire
Posted: 13th Feb 2006 08:11
I opened the graphic in Photoshop and the layers were called:

Time Display - The smaller black bar
Date Display - The larger black bar
Sub-Head Pane - The White bar

Which brings up a question ... Is that graphic for something already in place or is it what we should be using in our game screen?


BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 13th Feb 2006 09:06
I would imagine we should be putting it there as it's a standalone game, but knowing the style and positioning would be helpful!

Richard Davey
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2002
Location: On the Jupiter Probe
Posted: 13th Feb 2006 12:17
You don't *have* to use it (the header graphic), but if you wanted somewhere to display scores or lives or the like, I thought you may find it useful. In the actual program it displays the date / time. You don't need to do this in your games (infact if that is all you use it for, I'd rather you didn't use it at all).

Bite my shiny metal ass
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 13th Feb 2006 15:53
Could some <CHARM> decent, friendly, considerate </CHARM> person post the header graphic without the black placeholders please

You can't just clone the background from the left of it, it's not the same all the way across. And I still can't separate the layers

Richard Davey
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2002
Location: On the Jupiter Probe
Posted: 13th Feb 2006 16:02
Here you go.

Bite my shiny metal ass

Attachments

Login to view attachments
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 13th Feb 2006 16:29
<CHARM level='final'> Thank you Kindly. </CHARM>

Ric
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2004
Location: object position x
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 11:40
How are people progressing with this? Just interested to know whether anyone is at prototype stage yet, and what kind of feedback they might have had if they have sent anything to Rich yet. Also, are people just concentrating on one game, or are people doing more?

Personally, I've just about got my first game to prototype stage, and hope to send it to Rich in a few days, and then if there's enough time I'll start on a second idea.

Just trying to find out what I'm up against!

BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 12:22
I'm working on the gameplay essentials, and haven't touched the aesthetics yet. Well...I've applied the header and background supplied. I have no menu, and intend to provide a prototype with all the gameplay complete and the frills still in development.

I mailed Rich with the game concept and got a "Sounds good, go for it".

Personally, I'm working on one good game, rather than 2 or more "thanks but no thanks" quality games.

Big Man
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2005
Location: BEHIND YOU!!!! (but I live in England)
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 14:02
How do you use the header supplied?

BM

Our aim is to keep the loo's clean, your aim can help.
Scraggle
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2003
Location: Yorkshire
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 14:04
Step 1) Load it
Step 2) Use it

Hope that helps


Big Man
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2005
Location: BEHIND YOU!!!! (but I live in England)
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 14:09
No i meant how do I attach it to the top of the game window or will this be done by the gamecreators or whoever is putting the program together once the games have been submited?

BM

Our aim is to keep the loo's clean, your aim can help.
Richard Davey
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2002
Location: On the Jupiter Probe
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 14:15
Quote: "No i meant how do I attach it to the top of the game window or will this be done by the gamecreators or whoever is putting the program together once the games have been submited"


Your game needs to be supplied 'as is'. We will not be touching the code to it. If your games doesn't need the header, then don't include it! Please, actually read some of my posts in this thread. You can skip everyone elses if you want, but at least read -mine- because this has been covered already.

Bite my shiny metal ass
Big Man
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2005
Location: BEHIND YOU!!!! (but I live in England)
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 14:22
Quote: " because this has been covered already"


I thought so but I couldn't find it in the thread sorry.

My game shouldn't need the header.
It is quite close to handing in quality but I will say this now the graphics need some work (I could get some friends to help maybe) but the overall idea (I think) is superb. I will just need to clean up the game play a bit and then submit my first draft of the game.

BM

Our aim is to keep the loo's clean, your aim can help.
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 14:32
First Post:
Quote: "The ZIP also contains various graphic elements. There are backgrounds, game panels and controls. Again, you don't *have* to use them, but it will save you time if you need a backdrop for an options screen / high-score screen, etc. "


Rich, you sorted the ship's horn on your posts yet?

Big Man
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2005
Location: BEHIND YOU!!!! (but I live in England)
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 15:23
I was looking around there site but Igot no answers.
Can I use a graphic from the games factory or are they not royalty free?

Thanks
BM

Our aim is to keep the loo's clean, your aim can help.
Scraggle
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2003
Location: Yorkshire
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 17:36
Quote: "5) You must own the copyright on all media used. If you don't own it, don't use it."


It would seem the horn isn't working yet ... nor are the flashing lights.


Big Man
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2005
Location: BEHIND YOU!!!! (but I live in England)
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 18:09
oh dear does that mean the media suplied with dark basic as well?

Our aim is to keep the loo's clean, your aim can help.
Agent Dink
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 18:27
My game is near prototype stage gameplay wise, it should be within a week! The graphics so far implemented (I think) will have no trouble passing the test, and my menu is almost fully working, hopefully should have this done in time...

*bloodshot eyes stare at screen working... working... working... ZZZZZzzzzz*

www.badpicsofmatt.tk
www.silver-dawn.net
Big Man
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2005
Location: BEHIND YOU!!!! (but I live in England)
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 18:52
Quote: "*bloodshot eyes stare at screen working... working... working... ZZZZZzzzzz*"


man its not even 6 o'clock unless your in the states in which case its about 12 o'clock midnight.

Any way are the dbp sounds and music ok to use.

BM

Our aim is to keep the loo's clean, your aim can help.
Agent Dink
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 22:04
Time doen't matter. I may have been up for the last 72 hours working on it. Actually it was 12 noon when I posted that, and I hadn't even worked on it today. I was just expressing the fact that I have been working hard to get it done

www.badpicsofmatt.tk
www.silver-dawn.net
Big Man
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2005
Location: BEHIND YOU!!!! (but I live in England)
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 22:34
ok

still do yuo reckon I am allowed to use dbp sounds and music?

BM

Our aim is to keep the loo's clean, your aim can help.
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 23:57
Big Man, read the rules in the first post. Then read the license of any media you have. Finally, see if there are any inconsistencies.

Reaperman
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2003
Location: Kent, England
Posted: 15th Feb 2006 04:33
Quote: "Can I use a graphic from the games factory or are they not royalty free?"


Yes you can.

Someone on their forum asked the following:

Are the graphics from game examples inlcuded in TGF, CNC, MMF, like Zeb, etc. royalty free to use in commercial projects?

The answer they got back from one of the heads of Clickteam was this:

The library graphics are free to use in commercial projects.
The example game graphics are NOT for use in commercial projects.
You can use the example game graphics for freeware projects.


So provided you stick to the above, you can use them.

Cheers
Reaperman
Big Man
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2005
Location: BEHIND YOU!!!! (but I live in England)
Posted: 15th Feb 2006 11:55
Ok I get

So things like zeb and lobotomy graphics are not free to use whilst all the other graphics are.

thats cool then I will continue my work.

P.s I am really sorry for being so persistant but I would hate it if I submitted my game and it turned out the graphics I used were not allowed and my game was disqualified

BM

Our aim is to keep the loo's clean, your aim can help.
Chris Franklin
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 15th Feb 2006 23:27
Right i've not had much of a time to do anything with this so i'm gonna not enter but you can see why have a look at my wip link in sig

Moggie100
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2002
Location: Behind You...
Posted: 16th Feb 2006 01:14
Sent my prototype to Rich and got some feedback on it, which I'm implimenting at the mo - probably by the time you read this I'll be on the train to Liverpool typing away like a mad feline...

Good luck to anyone entering as well, and if you win, you're buying the first round at the pub
cassius
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Oct 2003
Location:
Posted: 16th Feb 2006 03:15
I just had some simple questions regarding the games. It was stated that the game must run in 800x600 resolution. Do we need to take into account 640x480 as well if a family does not want to run the game in 800x600 resolution? Also, can we assume that the rest of the TYTT program will take care of the "teaching" the player about the Home Keys and letter placement? Also in the difficulty department, should we be increasing the diffuculty solely on the WPM and the increased accuracy and not the word selection? Do we need to worry about word selection, like starting off with 3 character words and increasing the difficulty of the words themselves as well as the WPM and the accuracy? One of the post states to worry about accuracy alone, but is that really enough? Are the games that are part of the TYTT package that we are making really suppose to "teach" the player how to type, or are they a extension of the TYTT program and are meant for fun?

I hope that all makes sense. I guess where I am getting confused is in the true meaning of the game.

Thank you in advance for any insight.

Cassius
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 16th Feb 2006 09:33
Quote: "or are they a extension of the TYTT program and are meant for fun?"


I would imagine that's the one Having seen other Focus self-help applications, the games tend to be varied, both in content and relationship to the product.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-16 19:50:31
Your offset time is: 2024-11-16 19:50:31