Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Work In Progress / [X9] [VBOTB '10] Alpha Project [Dev. Thread]

Author
Message
ThoughtWire Software
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2010
Location: Inside your fridge, drinking your milk.
Posted: 18th Jul 2011 21:45
DLing now, Should be good, as always

[center]

uzi idiot
Valued Member
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2009
Location: Who Knows?
Posted: 18th Jul 2011 21:48
It was great! The hud shake effect is incredible and frightening!
Unfortunately it won't load my save file, I saved it right at the beginning of level 3 and it crashes when I load it.


Mental Stability is over-rated!
Desecrated Studios
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2011
Location: Kirtona
Posted: 18th Jul 2011 23:04
@Uzi idiot - Why do you need to save it? It's not that long..

And i just played it recently and i loved it! I swear i would buy your game like i would call of duty/bioshock you know just new games...

How many level's is this supposed to be when it's finished, and what happened to when you enter the building via chopper?

Again, Great work Lewis!

-Josh
Website is under construction
System Specs: AMD Phenom x3 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 1TB HD, HD Radeon 5770 1GB, 22in Acer Monitor
Roger Wilco
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jul 2005
Location: In the Shadow of Chernobyl
Posted: 19th Jul 2011 01:45
I played it, very nice cinematic effects and one of the scares actually got me (well, not scared but uh.. surprised. )
Very well presented, can't wait to see/buy the end result.

I dunno if something's wrong with the download or my install, though. There seemed to be rather few sounds in the demo. There were no impact sounds from hitting surfaces with the weapons, and the shotgun was missing the pumping part of its reload sound.
The sounds that were there were great though, loved the shotgun fire especially.

Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 19th Jul 2011 02:13
Thanks for feedback guys. I'll try and see whats creating the issues.

Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 19th Jul 2011 03:56
Link is updated. The new installer is located here:
http://www.gamefront.com/files/20567777/AlphaProject_DemoV2.exe

Fuzz
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2006
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posted: 19th Jul 2011 05:11 Edited at: 19th Jul 2011 05:14
Dude... That was so sweet! Awesome ending, awesome voice acting and awesome effects.

Best FPSC game I've ever played.

Impact sounds were missing, pistol fire sound was missing and some of the reload sounds were missing. Try manually copying them into the built game files and it should work.

EDIT: I downloaded the version just before the one you updated so the sounds might be fixed.


s4real
Valued Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 19th Jul 2011 06:08
Nice demo and it ran at a nice speed with no slow down at all.

pros :- Great use of custom media and great story line and good voice acting.

con's :- SAve and load messed up the game, diffrent problems everytime you load in your save like lifts are down so you can't use them.

Easy game play, the monsters where to easy to kill.



Score :-

Graphics :- 9/10

New ideas in fpsc :- 10/10

Game play :- 7/10

overall :-

This game was great and had some nice new features in fpsc and a lot of work went into the look of the game and story, i felt it was let down by the game play.

best s4real



Pack ya games with vishnu packer its free.
michael x
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2009
Location: Cybertron
Posted: 19th Jul 2011 09:42
this was awesome. i like everything about.it kept alert the whole time.

more than what meets the eye

Welcome to SciFi Summer
Wraith Staff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, OH
Posted: 19th Jul 2011 12:54
Quick question. Are you using SGLauncher?

New sig in the process of being made
Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 19th Jul 2011 13:21
@Wraith Staff,

I'm using a custom made one I made myself.

Wraith Staff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, OH
Posted: 19th Jul 2011 13:26
It's very nice

New sig in the process of being made
DarkFrost
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd May 2009
Location: ON, Canada
Posted: 19th Jul 2011 16:49
Hey Lewis do you mind posting a short gameplay video of some sort.

Can't dl the demo right now but I'd love to see what it is like now.

[img][/img]
2 Rogues
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 21st Jul 2011 21:13
I second Dark Frost. I would love to see some more of this project.
Desecrated Studios
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2011
Location: Kirtona
Posted: 6th Aug 2011 06:13
Hey Lewis! I was wondering if it would be okay if i uploaded some gameplay videos of the demo? I discovered some bugs which you can see in the video if you want, im currently rendering it in Camtasia. If it is not okay i will cancel it. If you would like to check out my channel in which i will be uploading it, go here:

http://www.youtube.com/user/ExuCorporations?feature=mhee

Thanks! The render failed the first time for some reason, so im hoping it won't this time. I started the render at 3pm (Eastern Time) and i can back at 10pm and it failed -___-. But anyways, thanks if you let me upload it!

ASTECH
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jul 2007
Location:
Posted: 6th Aug 2011 08:09 Edited at: 6th Aug 2011 08:34
Alright, I've played the demo and here is some things I think should be addressed:

1- The automatic doors were EXTREMELY annoying. I don't know if it was just the sound or the fact it played so often it
started to annoy me.

2- The dead soldier to the right in that room where you first find them is hanging a little too much off.
In real life, gravity would have pulled him down the floor and him laying like that.

3- The vent to the left on the next immediate hallway can clearly be seen sticking away from the wall. It also
seems illogical that a "dog-thing" with no real arms could close a vent cover... let alone that quick too.

4- Level 1 would benefit if you made it a tid-bit longer. This however I wouldn't sweat over if you are already
comfortable in what you've made already.

5- The 2nd PDA, I believe, doesn't play a message.

This is all I can think of for now. If I get anymore ideas, I will post them. However, the game was very interesting and
graphically appealing. The character introduction and cool ending left wanting more. Bravo!

Your signature has been erased by a mod, because it was too small.
Desecrated Studios
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2011
Location: Kirtona
Posted: 7th Aug 2011 06:40
Hey Lewis, i went ahead and uploaded the video anyways. Since i figured im not really stealing or anything like that, it's just a gameplay video. If you would like to see it, go here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NB0-VEG9WaQ&feature=channel_video_title

If i did not add enough credit's to the description, or you would like me to remove it just message me or comment here. Thanks!

Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 7th Aug 2011 12:08
@ASTEK,
I'll tweak most of the issues you've posted.

@Exu Corporations,
I'll take a look. Theres no problem with anyone uploading videos of Alpha Project.

Desecrated Studios
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2011
Location: Kirtona
Posted: 7th Aug 2011 12:28
Awesome! Thanks a lot Lewis!

Wraith Staff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, OH
Posted: 5th Sep 2011 12:05
Just picked up a Windows 7 PC and the demo won't run. It runs other FPSC games, just not this one. Had a friend try it on his Windows 7 and the save thing happened. Any ideas on what's up?

New sig in the process of being made
biohazardNL
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2009
Location: netherlands
Posted: 5th Sep 2011 12:08
Quote: "Just picked up a Windows 7 PC and the demo won't run. It runs other FPSC games, just not this one. Had a friend try it on his Windows 7 and the save thing happened. Any ideas on what's up?"


install directX10, because windows 7 has DirectX11 as standard, so none of the direct3D10.dll's is found...

then restart and it will work

Current project: Banned
see it at: http://banned.tbhproductions.com
Wraith Staff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, OH
Posted: 5th Sep 2011 12:11
DX10!? I installed DX9.0c when got it and already had DX11. How does DX10 even factor into that? I'll give it a try though

New sig in the process of being made
biohazardNL
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2009
Location: netherlands
Posted: 5th Sep 2011 12:13
Because it worked for me too

Current project: Banned
see it at: http://banned.tbhproductions.com
Wraith Staff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, OH
Posted: 5th Sep 2011 12:14 Edited at: 5th Sep 2011 12:14
I can't even find a download for DX10

New sig in the process of being made
biohazardNL
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2009
Location: netherlands
Posted: 5th Sep 2011 12:17
haha, what errors do you get then when you start up the game?

Current project: Banned
see it at: http://banned.tbhproductions.com
Wraith Staff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, OH
Posted: 5th Sep 2011 12:21
None. After the launcher it just does nothing. I've even tried it without the launcher on both PCs and it's still the same

New sig in the process of being made
Wraith Staff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, OH
Posted: 9th Sep 2011 17:37
Anything? One of the first things I wanted to do with my new rig was play this demo

New sig in the process of being made
Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 28th Sep 2011 05:59
@Wraith Staff,

I'm not too sure why you're getting this problem. Try and install winrar and see if the game isnt extracting properly. Everyone else seems to be having no problem with it

Everyone else,
Sorry again for the late updates and replies. Moving to a new country seems to be a lot harder than I first imagined. I'm trying to sort myself out with work and getting a visa sorted out for me and my partner, so it's been slowing my progress down with development on Alpha Project. I'll be moving into a new place this sunday, but unfortunatley it doesnt have the internet so I wont be able to post regular updates until I get the internet running.

My aim at the moment is to try and flesh out the storyline and get the script completed for the full game, so I have a target to aim for when designing the levels. The games features are pretty much complete, so my aim now is to complete the storyline and then work on the levels. All this alongside trying to get a job. Busy life!

Apologies for the constant ghost appearances. Dont lose faith. Hopefully Alpha Project wont take as long as Duke Nukem Forever to complete!

Wraith Staff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2007
Location: Hamilton, OH
Posted: 28th Sep 2011 08:21 Edited at: 28th Sep 2011 08:40
I have WinRar Also, good luck with your move

EDIT: Decided to give it one more go... and it worked finally... I just don't know. It froze after the first level though

New sig in the process of being made
Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 28th Sep 2011 10:00 Edited at: 28th Sep 2011 10:00
@Wraith Staff,

Try this:

Restart your computer and make sure there isn't any memory eating programs running when you run the launcher. Have no other programs running and then try and run it again.

Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 9th Oct 2011 12:57
Update:

I've spent the past 3 days hooked with the DBP source and I've been able to recreate the actions and commands that I was using from Project Blue into my mod, along with a few extra features.

This means that Alpha Project will be a lot more stable, along with the features from the latest source like particles, running animations and so on! This is a huge step for Alpha Project because I don't need to rely on someone else's mod to make Alpha Project!

There's a few bugs in the source at the moment, but hopefully I can sort them out and work on more features for Alpha Project! If anyone has a good knowledge of the fpsc source and is reading this, I'd be appreciative if you'd be able to help out nailing a few bugs.

OmegaWolf98
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2011
Location: Australia
Posted: 11th Oct 2011 13:36
Hi, I downloaded the V2 Demo of MODB, but everytime it launches the game it crashes.

I'm using a Windows 7 PC with DX 11 installed.

I take my tea seriously, oh and my story writing.
Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 12th Oct 2011 03:15
@OmegaWolf98,

I'll try and create another way of distributing it without the crashes. It seems that a lot of people are having problems with the launcher, so I'll try another method and see if it works with the ones who are having the problem.

OmegaWolf98
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2011
Location: Australia
Posted: 12th Oct 2011 08:06
Thanks.

I take my tea seriously, oh and my story writing.
Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 7th Nov 2011 04:56 Edited at: 7th Nov 2011 04:58
Update:

Well I've successfully ironed out my mod, meaning that I've recreated all the features I was previously using (and more). I've used some of the new features to enhance gameplay and production value!

Using Bond1's addition I've been able to make it so when you're infected, the screen shader changes (as shown in the screenshots below), as well as other effects. I've also added running animations to all weapons (see the m11 screenshot).

There is now an in game options menu where you can tweak graphics and gameplay, so for those who hate the crosshair I added, you can choose to disable it! Or if you're a person who doesn't like HUDs getting in the way, then you can switch them off from the options menu. The key binder will remain as an outside program as I cant find a decent way to recreate it in FPSC.

I've finished writing the synopsis of Alpha Project and I'm busy writing the rest of the script. When the script is complete I'll be start design work on the levels. I havent got a fixed internet connection at the moment so sorry for the delays. Rest assured, I am still working!

Screenshots:





OmegaWolf98
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2011
Location: Australia
Posted: 9th Nov 2011 01:20
The screens look AWESOME!!!

I take my tea seriously, oh and my story writing.
OmegaWolf98
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2011
Location: Australia
Posted: 9th Nov 2011 01:21
I hope you can make it run for W7, though.

I take my tea seriously, oh and my story writing.
defiler
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posted: 9th Nov 2011 02:20
Looking good, will this mod of yours stay for your own use or are you planning on putting it out?

Also Omega please do not double post.

Current Project: Lost Contact: Chapter 1
OmegaWolf98
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2011
Location: Australia
Posted: 11th Nov 2011 03:56
Sorry.

I take my tea seriously, oh and my story writing.
Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 12th Nov 2011 03:55
@defiler

Watch this space

defiler
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posted: 15th Nov 2011 01:51
Okay let me go grab some popcorn and something to repeatedly press f5

Also have you thought of doing some tutorials that could possibly explain how you pull off this amazing stuff?

Current Project: Lost Contact: Chapter 1
Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 16th Nov 2011 06:15
Hope I didnt keep you waiting!

Here it is:
LewMod

A dude
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2010
Location: The Solar System
Posted: 29th Dec 2011 19:27
Bump
maho76
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2011
Location: universe-hub, playing the flute
Posted: 29th Dec 2011 21:19 Edited at: 29th Dec 2011 21:20
@dude:

WHY???!?!

bump this http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=166018&b=35 , but not the wip-thread when the project is done.
A dude
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2010
Location: The Solar System
Posted: 5th Jan 2012 23:25
The project is done? I didn't know. I just wanted to keep the thread alive.
Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 6th Jan 2012 02:17
No, it's not done actually.

I've been seriously debating on whether to switch over to the Unity engine for Alpha Project.

This is because I cant continue working on the game when there's a huge confliction in the official source code to the mod I'm using for Alpha Project.

I'll have to see if it's worth picking up on FPSC, but for now, I'm working on a prototype for Unity.

Leongamerz
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Aug 2010
Location:
Posted: 6th Jan 2012 14:48 Edited at: 6th Jan 2012 14:57
Quote: "I've been seriously debating on whether to switch over to the Unity engine for Alpha Project.
"


Did you said Unity?

Well I also used Unity and I must say,Unity is really great and it has good performance and has a good effect.It also can make all game like FPS,Third Person,Racing,Simulator and many more.Although the editor is hard to understand (Some people don't like their editor) but it's was powerful if you experience and understand with it.Well there is difference between FPSC and Unity.

FPSC is really really easy tool you know that.There is no engine like FPSC in the world.FPSC is easy to use and also easy to import model for FPSC and it has a segment.Unity can't make segment but if you modelling the model like wall,floor and roof model,you need to design and make it looks like room.So I mean it will take sometime to developed game in Unity,maybe about 7 months or maybe 1 years or maybe 2 years if you want to make commercial and top notch game.Well to apply shader for model in Unity,it will be take a lot time and FPSC can apply shader fast and effectively.

You also can try engine tool like Cry Engine and UDK.So many people say that UDK is great tool,so I think UDK is a great choice (I can't used UDK in my powerful PC,that's why I dont know if UDK is good or not)Well I used Cry Engine about 1 years ago,I must say their sandbox editor is easy understand and learn it.Also have a great and stunning effect.So it's your choice brother,If I were you,I will used UDK,Cry Engine and FPSC.I actually did not like Unity.My friend Spudnick say that Unity editor is not friendly and I must say,he's right.I remember first time I used Unity I did not understand at all.After 3 years I training,I can use Unity easily and I can make more professional game(Actually I am developing Legacy Warfare 4 about 2 years).If you still want to use Unity,you need more patient and learn hard (pss patient is a great power for game developer)

Well that's all for today.I like your work in FPSC.

Poloflece,Anayar,PWP,Henry Ham,Cosmic Prophet,Wolf,Rolfy,KeithC,Nickydude,SceneCommander,Dark Goblin And Lee Bamber is my icon.

defiler
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posted: 7th Jan 2012 06:06
I like how people like to leave out the Source Engine

Anyway if you do move game engines, i would definitly like to follow your progress.

Current Project: Lost Contact: Chapter 1
Lewis
VBOTB Developer '10
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2005
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posted: 8th Jan 2012 00:06
@Leongamerz,

Quote: "FPSC is really really easy tool you know that.There is no engine like FPSC in the world.FPSC is easy to use and also easy to import model for FPSC and it has a segment.Unity can't make segment but if you modelling the model like wall,floor and roof model,you need to design and make it looks like room."


I believe that because FPSC is easy and that it is programmed for us, we cant release the true potential of our games. You don't have to make your level in the Unity editor. You can model your level in 3d software or level design software like 3D World Studio and then import it into Unity. It's not that hard really if you get the technique down. As for shaders, I find them easierthan FPSC's. You get a lot more flexibility with them. The weapons imported into Unity look way better than in FPSC with a shader I'm using.

Quote: "You also can try engine tool like Cry Engine and UDK.So many people say that UDK is great tool,so I think UDK is a great choice (I can't used UDK in my powerful PC,that's why I dont know if UDK is good or not)Well I used Cry Engine about 1 years ago,I must say their sandbox editor is easy understand and learn it.Also have a great and stunning effect.So it's your choice brother,If I were you,I will used UDK,Cry Engine and FPSC."


The reason why I didn't choose to use UDK or Cryengine is due to the licensing and royalty issues that come alone with it. UDK may be a good engine, but if you release a game commercially, you'll get hammered by royalty fee's once you get past a certain number of sales. With Unity, it's only a certain amount.

All in all, FPSC is good to use to make FPS's, but with the new engine updates, It's kind of forcing me to change engines. It's a waste of time to keep updating the source code and having to replace all my commands with the new ones. I'd rather start on a fresh engine and be able to make all the commands and features I want. FPSC has a lot of commands and actions that I don't want to use, it ends up with an executable file that is way over 15mb in just code. Creating scripts in JS or C# is more powerful and optimised than having a sluggish engine that fails to work on some computers.

I'm not saying FPSC is bad, I've been using it for donkeys years. I just think that if I'm serious about this game, then it's gotta be done properly, with my own code, and in an engine that can cater my needs.

So I think for now, I'll carry on with Unity and I'll update this thread with a link for other people to follow my progress. I don't think I'm allowed to post non TGC content you see.

Leongamerz
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Aug 2010
Location:
Posted: 8th Jan 2012 03:35 Edited at: 8th Jan 2012 03:46
Quote: "I believe that because FPSC is easy and that it is programmed for us, we cant release the true potential of our games. You don't have to make your level in the Unity editor. You can model your level in 3d software or level design software like 3D World Studio and then import it into Unity. It's not that hard really if you get the technique down. As for shaders, I find them easierthan FPSC's. You get a lot more flexibility with them. The weapons imported into Unity look way better than in FPSC with a shader I'm using.
"


As I know,there are user who made weapon import tool for Unity as I remember.

Quote: "The reason why I didn't choose to use UDK or Cryengine is due to the licensing and royalty issues that come alone with it. UDK may be a good engine, but if you release a game commercially, you'll get hammered by royalty fee's once you get past a certain number of sales. With Unity, it's only a certain amount.

All in all, FPSC is good to use to make FPS's, but with the new engine updates, It's kind of forcing me to change engines. It's a waste of time to keep updating the source code and having to replace all my commands with the new ones. I'd rather start on a fresh engine and be able to make all the commands and features I want. FPSC has a lot of commands and actions that I don't want to use, it ends up with an executable file that is way over 15mb in just code. Creating scripts in JS or C# is more powerful and optimised than having a sluggish engine that fails to work on some computers.

I'm not saying FPSC is bad, I've been using it for donkeys years. I just think that if I'm serious about this game, then it's gotta be done properly, with my own code, and in an engine that can cater my needs.

So I think for now, I'll carry on with Unity and I'll update this thread with a link for other people to follow my progress. I don't think I'm allowed to post non TGC content you see."


Well it proved that you are so serious with this game.Well we not forced you mate.Anyway you right,Unity license is affordable then Cry Engine and UDK.I buy Unity license 2 years ago because Legacy Warfare.Well I can see you your game in Unity Forum someday or maybe someday Project Alpha will also be played at Play Station 3 or maybe Android.So are you new with Unity?

Poloflece,Anayar,PWP,Henry Ham,Cosmic Prophet,Wolf,Rolfy,KeithC,Nickydude,SceneCommander,Dark Goblin And Lee Bamber is my icon.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-12-02 22:51:44
Your offset time is: 2021-12-02 22:51:44